1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We have selected the winners of the Old World random draw and competition. For the winning entries, please check this thread.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Old World has finally been released on GOG and Steam, besides also being available in the Epic store . Come to our Old World forum and discuss with us!
    Dismiss Notice

Transcontinental Railroad (Wonder Idea)

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by MerchantCo, Aug 16, 2013.

  1. MerchantCo

    MerchantCo Merchant

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    394
    Location:
    Venice
    Automatically builds a railroad from your western-most city to your eastern-most city. +2 pop in every city that it crosses through. Suggestions?
     
  2. mdl5000

    mdl5000 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    415
    But you're relying on the computer to map it. Might turn out looking pretty ugly.
     
  3. otaman1

    otaman1 Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,697
    Why not build railroads yourself? It ain't that hard
     
  4. MerchantCo

    MerchantCo Merchant

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    394
    Location:
    Venice
    That's exactly why there would be other bonuses.
     
  5. Rusty Edge

    Rusty Edge Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,895
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cheeseland
    A great railroad deserves a Great Engineer.
     
  6. True_Candyman

    True_Candyman Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,713
    Location:
    Leicester
    Because if there's one thing we're lacking it's more world wonders from a country that's not even 300 years old in a game that represents the course of history from 4000bc. :mischief:
     
  7. MerchantCo

    MerchantCo Merchant

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    394
    Location:
    Venice
    How many world wonders belong to America? Only two: Broadway and Statue of Liberty. TBH, they didn't go overboard with them.
     
  8. LostKnight

    LostKnight A wandering knight

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    493
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Also, transcontinental railroads are hardly an american thing anyway. Canada and (especially) Russia both have longer railroads.

    Still like the idea tough, maybe a wonder that need two cities to build, wich conect the two in the straitest line possible.
     
  9. MerchantCo

    MerchantCo Merchant

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    394
    Location:
    Venice
    @LostKnight: That's what I mean! I love world wonders which provide unique bonuses.
     
  10. True_Candyman

    True_Candyman Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,713
    Location:
    Leicester
    3, you forgot the Pentagon.

    4 if you count the UN.

    You could stretch it to 5 if you count the Hubble Space Telescope
     
  11. MattZed

    MattZed Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    150
    ... and Pentagon. (There's also a fair case for saying that the Hubble Telescope belongs to America.)

    ...and if you're counting projects, the Apollo Program and Manhattan Project

    ... and three natural wonders. (Grand Mesa, Old Faithful, Barringer Crater)

    If you're only counting World Wonders, America is a well represented civ. If you count everything, however, America is the best-represented civ in the game, so perhaps a new wonder should be balanced toward another region/timeperiod.
     
  12. Kiwi Tyrant

    Kiwi Tyrant Evil Jollification

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    344
    Location:
    Auckland, N.Z
    What happens if I have a civ that is north-south orientated? :nope:

    But seriously, I'd like a railroad National Wonder that allows me to get railroad connection bonuses from my capital to my other cities on another land mass. Not so much single cities on small islands, but more like a minimum of 3 cities connected by rail on another landmass. Maybe an expensive 'Port Terminal' upgrade or something, built in a coastal city connected by rail to 'x' amount of cities....
     
  13. Peng Qi

    Peng Qi Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,431
    Location:
    Irrelevant.
    How about "replaces all roads in your territory with railroads and railroads only cost 1:c5gold: in maintenance" instead? Could also make it "The Orient Express" if we want to make it a non-America wonder.
     
  14. Arachnofiend

    Arachnofiend Perturbed Pugilist

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,950
    You could also say that roughly half of the game is about only the last 500 years. :p
     
  15. otaman1

    otaman1 Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,697
    The Statue of Liberty, could arguably be France. You also forgot the Pentagon and the Hubble Space Telescope.
     
  16. Alzadar

    Alzadar Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Uhh... this exists, it's called a Harbour... ;) As soon as you unlock Railroads, all cities with a Harbour connection get the bonus, or Harbour+Rail for inland cities.
     
  17. Rusty Edge

    Rusty Edge Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,895
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cheeseland
    Yes. It's a greater achievement to build across the land that has been more recently glaciated. The obstacles that remain are granite that has to be blasted to bits, and soggy sinkholes which are difficult to fill or bridge. It's one delay and expense after another. That's to say nothing of snow sheds and operating in winter weather in those places when metal contracts and becomes brittle.

    And my hat is off to the Aussies for finding enough water to build a railroad & operate steam trains across their continent, too.
     

Share This Page