1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Transport Ships

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Modpacks' started by delay, Oct 8, 2010.

  1. delay

    delay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Transport Ships

    v1:
    Adds Triere, Galleon and Transport Ship.
    Load Units with paradrop icon from friendly terrain or enter with embarked unit.
    Triere: Optics - Move 2 - Comb 3 - Cost 60 - Cargo 2
    Galleone: Navig - Move 5 - Comb 12 - Cost 140 - Cargo 3
    Transport: Steam - Move 6 - Comb 25 - Cost 340 - Cargo 4
    All Units defend only.

    v2:
    Just add to Graphics-Units group in ModBrowser. No additional changes.

    v3
    Multilanguage support.

    Download: Available from the Mod Browser in Civilization V
     
  2. TheCaptn

    TheCaptn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Is there any way to remove embarking altogether, so this becomes the only way to transport land units across the water?
     
  3. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,046
    Location:
    In orbit
    Nice addition! :goodjob:

    But could you add the number of units each vessel can hold? Also, what advances are they linked to?
     
  4. delay

    delay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Yes it is possible. I didtn include because of AI. If anyone see AI using transports please let me know.
    Thx, the informations (cargohold and unit upgrade) are included in v1 already. Have a look at Civilopedia, Techtree and Unitpanel(Promotions). If im wrong please describe a bit more precise.
     
  5. poncratias

    poncratias Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    awesome!

    This could be build out further:

    Embarked units are like small transport units, like the landing boats in WW2, slow and without any strength.

    They can be loaded into bigger ships, which then cross the ocean, to release them on the other side for landing operations/invasions.


    Yeah this sounds like it should be!!
     
  6. delay

    delay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    This is possible already :). I change the size of Embarked Units that they differ from Transports next. I thought about removing cross ocean ability for embarked units too but didnt because of AI at this moment.
     
  7. MasterDinadan

    MasterDinadan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    Sounds great. One of my biggest gripes with trying to attack overseas was the enemy caravels sniping my embarked units.
    I was trying to grab an enemy capital on the coast, and I brought over two galleons with which to bombard, and some embarked knights to come in for the final kill. My enemy was way out-teched, probably just having got astronomy and doing even worse on his land unit tech. He had no hope of taking down my galleons.

    However, he brought in a single caravel and started just taking down my embarked knights. There was no way to cover a knight short of bringing 6(!) galleons to completely surround it. Even after taking my first knight, my galleons couldn't kill the caravel fast enough to stop it from taking down another group of knights. My huge naval superiority didn't do me any good because after reducing his coastal city's defenses to nothing, it still wasn't possible for me to actually get a land unit over to capture it... A caravel would swoop in and snipe it every time.
     
  8. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,046
    Location:
    In orbit
    Hm, you should install Kaels´s Legions mod )it allows stacked units). That way you can cover your embarked units with a single vessel on top. Works too with Transports I reckon. ;)

    The AI is terrible at crossing Ocean with embarkment...

    Okay. But I meant in post #1. ;)
     
  9. TheCaptn

    TheCaptn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    This. For now... I understand that it's frustrating and unbalanced to have a mechanism in the game that the AI is incapable of using, but as it stands they're already horrible at managing embarked units.

    In one game I tried to bring Washington with me to the new world by planting a city and gifting it to him (he was a friend and I wanted help in occupying it before Wu Zetian got there), but instead of marching his units through my open borders, on roads that linked to his cities and along a peninsula to take the shortest route to his new domain, he'd embark them from his own coastal cities and send an endless stream past a one-tile barbarian island with its nest of Triremes... Even after I cleared the way for him he'd still lose a bunch to Barbs on the new world's coast.

    And do the AI use carriers at all? Maybe there's some way to recycle that mechanism?
     
  10. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,046
    Location:
    In orbit
    I must say I see no need to build Carriers myself; they´re weak (can´t spot subs) and expensive, so you run the risk of loosing your precious Carrier (plus planes) to an unseen sub if you don´t accompany it with at least 2 Destroyers. (Which, ofcourse, in themselves are weak. So basically you need to build a battlegroup to keep your carrier afloat. Realistic, but why bother?)
     
  11. TheCaptn

    TheCaptn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    I've never built a carrier either, so I'm not sure how they work. That's why I was wondering if the mechanics of it could be turned toward transports (I just assume there's some way to stack multiple aircraft on a single carrier).
     
  12. MasterDinadan

    MasterDinadan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    I'm not interested in stacks of units or any of the other changes presented in Legions mod... I just want some way to defend embarked units. I think transports will be just fine for this purpose.

    On land, there is usually not such a blatant problem with civilian units being "sniped" because you can put military units on top of them, hide them in cities, and enemy units don't generally just come out of nowhere. In the sea, it's another story.
     
  13. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,046
    Location:
    In orbit
    Yes, ofcourse, Gallies can´t be sunk. :mischief:
     
  14. MasterDinadan

    MasterDinadan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    Can you upload a file here for those of us who can't use the mod browser?
     
  15. siopao1989

    siopao1989 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    maybe you can make an amphibious assault ship by changing the scales of the carriers to make it look like amphibs? then change its loadout to carry helo's and land based units instead of aircrafts. in reality, that's what we use to transport troops across the ocean anyway.
     
  16. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,046
    Location:
    In orbit
    I´ve activated the mod, but can´t seem to build Galleys - and I already have Caravels.... :confused:
     
  17. clearbeard

    clearbeard Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    687
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    As I understood it, this is something of a recognized bug. Embarked units were supposed to act as non-combat (regardless of what which type it was on land) for purposes of stacking with escorts. A fix/mod which implemented this behavior correctly would solve the current escort problem rather nicely.
     
  18. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,046
    Location:
    In orbit
    Nevermind... although boarding a Triere by paradropping from an airplane´s a tad bit odd when you haven´t even entered the Classical Age... :eek:
     
  19. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,046
    Location:
    In orbit
    Noticed something else: I board a transport and start transporting, then halfway across the ocean my passengers seem to have dropped overboard. Also, while embarked, passengers may still use disembark and sail 4/5 tiles on beyond the transport (possible, but still...).

    Ideally, ofcourse, passengers should just embark at one point and disembark on solid soil.
     
  20. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,046
    Location:
    In orbit
    Hm, the previous issue may be the result of incorrect embarkment. But I also noticed if I forget to disembark, units may "sail" across the land. The problem is that they then have "embark" defense (I lost a Riflemen to a Spearman that way), while they can attack normally. :crazyeye:
     

Share This Page