1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Triremes

Discussion in 'Civ1 - General Discussions' started by Tenochtitlan, Dec 14, 2005.

  1. Tenochtitlan

    Tenochtitlan Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,647
    Dont you hate how other civ's triremes reach your island, and when you try to reach them, you find out that theyre more than 6 or 7 squares away but somehow they have the ability to not lose their triremes :mad:
     
  2. trada

    trada civ1 mod Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Some say the AI cheats but I say we lie in a universe where the AI has got lucky every single time.
     
  3. GoldBerg

    GoldBerg CivDosPlayer of '91

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    564
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Palace Improvement
    No, i don't hate it.
    it's the game.
    the game 'decides' that 'it is time' they'll reach you this way
    (you can see those 10-field-movements (or even more)
    in trireme 3-move-steps-per-turn
    at civ.exe version 474.01 shift-56 OPEN MAP cheat ;) )

    the AI / the game

    - creates trade routes for the AI civ's cities randomly

    - uses diplomacy with no diplomats, just units (sometimes)
    if you see an AI's diplomat UNiT somewhere
    in front of your cities there is danger at the door:
    that unit is there to bribe or steal your cities technology
    (like you would do, too... :) )

    - gets it's WONDERS randomly without building them

    - gives the Barbarians newest technologies that are just invented
    by any other AI tribe.

    .
    .

    well - that's o.k.
    'the GAME' does it to make things more interesting:
    like FLOOD STRiKES, EARTHQUAKES and so on... :)
     
  4. trada

    trada civ1 mod Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    New Zealand
  5. GoldBerg

    GoldBerg CivDosPlayer of '91

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    564
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Palace Improvement
    i did edit as usual while you were writing this. ;)

    AI contacts if a unit is connected with another tribes unit, everybody have seen this already
    and the AI tribes 'talk' with each other
    when there is a unit beside another AI tribe it's city.

    just facts -
    i did see how that works at least in hundreds of '474.01 shift-56' *OPEN MAP* games... ;)
     
  6. Tenochtitlan

    Tenochtitlan Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,647
    Humans have an advantage over computer civs:
    A computer civ railroad movement costs 1/3 of a square movement compared to 0 of human
     
  7. trada

    trada civ1 mod Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Whoa. I'm going to test that out this evening. I believe you but it never really occured to me..
     
  8. Zwelgje

    Zwelgje Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    3,953
    The AI cheating is a good thing. Otherwise the game would be way too easy.
     
  9. Alex Johnson

    Alex Johnson Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Texas
    I was never cetain the AI cheated. I know for a fact it cheats in the later versions, like Civ3, and I hate it. But I've never encountered anything that seemed like it had to be cheating except the triremes coming to my continent across ocean. I just figured they found a long route....

    Anyone want to compile a list of ways the AI is known to cheat (not just suspected of cheating)?
     
  10. Tenochtitlan

    Tenochtitlan Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,647
    This is offtopic, but its also an observation:
    If you laugh at another civs feeble threats and then accept a treaty and then demand a tribute, their patience will be exhausted and they will declare war on you.

    Also why sometimes is it not possible to demand a tribute?

    Another observation, advances require alot more bulbs when you hit 1 AD. /obvious
     
  11. BlueBMW

    BlueBMW Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    I always liked how on Earth you could safely send a trireme to the new world from Africa to S America. There was that one spot exactly 4 spaces wide.
     
  12. Tenochtitlan

    Tenochtitlan Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,647
    Its 3 spaces wide if you go diagonal ;)
     
  13. simonnomis

    simonnomis Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    195
    I agree that without these little cheats, the AI would be pretty useless. The caravan cheat is the most annoying IMO, because they automatically get the pick of the best cities, while we have to decide which has the highest trade value and then actually navigate a puny caravan unit there through hordes of angry enemy units. And the other most annoying 'cheat' is that the enemy civs ALWAYS know exactly where your cities or units are, without having ever scouted the territory out in the first place... not so much a cheat as a device that saved the original programers writing a ton of extra coding I suspect.
     
  14. Colonel_here

    Colonel_here Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    AI cheating is used in a lot of games to provide difficulty. As much as we like to have AI that doesn't cheat and difficult this rarely happens. Problem lies in the fact that human intellect is innovative while AI is just programed with certian responses. Everytime the game creators add more and more of those responses, however they can not cover every single case and so AI given ability to cheat to provide needed difficulty and therefore interest in the game.
     
  15. trada

    trada civ1 mod Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    New Zealand
    That's right. With 640k of memory to work with.. it's a wonder they got the AI where it is.
     
  16. Ifrit9

    Ifrit9 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    A mod has to be written in which all AI-cheats will be removed. But we have to get Civ1 sources...
     
  17. trada

    trada civ1 mod Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I doubt we will ever get the civ1 source :( The only chance we have is if it's bundled when the civ2 source comes out (if it ever does).
     
  18. Ifrit9

    Ifrit9 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Offtopic: And who actually currently owns license rights on Civ1? MicroProse no longer exists, Firaxis seem to completely forget about Civ1. Maybe politely ASKING the rights-owner to make the sources public will take effect ? (everything may happen in this world ;) ).
     

Share This Page