1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Troop transports for ST MOD

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Star Trek Mod' started by Cmcastl, Dec 1, 2010.

1. Cmcastl

Cmcastl Chieftain

K..... Troop transports.

In other threads, I have argued for the addition of troop transports. I am no programmer but have been informed, as far as I understand, that there are difficulties in having ships carrying troops in this Civ IV Mod.

So, don't have actual troop units as such. Consider them virtual all-arms units but their actual strength will depend upon small arms development.

Have colony ships as troop transports, coloured grey perhaps, which are weighted with a given strength, depending upon the small arms development of the attacker, against one or more "bunker networks" a la Birth of the Federation, which have a factor based upon the small arms development of the defender. No troop units as such but combat factored in by the strength of the quasi-colony ships against the number of bunker networks.

I am open to better suggestions - I am just trying to show I have thought about the matter!

Live long and prosper.

2. Marla McGivers

Marla McGivers Chieftain

I agree with the idea of troop transports, as I've mentioned before, primarily because it seems odd to take a world merely with starships and then use the crews of said ships to garrison the planet.

I suppose troops can be carried by the starships, but actual transports would be a nice touch.

What I would further suggest (if at all possible / practical) would be to have ground units, be it space marines, AV's etc which would actually be on the transports and then disembark to garrison the system, in much the same way as amphibious assaults work in the original version.