1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We have selected the winners of the Old World random draw and competition. For the winning entries, please check this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Troops too close - ignore or break promise worse?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by mercury_1967, Oct 24, 2016.

Tags:
  1. mercury_1967

    mercury_1967 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    When I'm being told that my troops are too close (it seems this is broken anyway, by some of the posts I've seen here), diplomatically-fallout-speaking, is it worse to ignore the request or say I'm just passing by and not move my troops?

    By the way, it took me a few times of other civs getting angry at me before I realized that "Merely passing by" actually means that I'll move them...
     
  2. cephalo

    cephalo Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    It's a good question, because very often these troops they are complaining about are on your own territory, right where they need to be.
     
  3. bite

    bite Unofficial Civilization Cartographer Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Ignore, because if you say just passing through and don't move them, the Civilizations get angry with you
     
  4. SammyKhalifa

    SammyKhalifa Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6,067
    Move them from where though?
     
  5. mercury_1967

    mercury_1967 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Exactly. My borders are next to a civ who already declare war on me once before (why they did, I don't understand). So I'm protecting my borders by having troops in my borders next to his...

    So if I ignore them and don't move my troops, they won't get angry?
     
  6. Nathair

    Nathair Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Seems like any units "visible" from their border that are not garrisoned need to be pulled back out of "sight".
     
  7. bite

    bite Unofficial Civilization Cartographer Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    maybe less angry
     
  8. SammyKhalifa

    SammyKhalifa Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6,067

    Ah. Suppose that could use some tweaking in the upcoming weeks.
     
  9. kingchris20

    kingchris20 Wisdom Seeker

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,343
    Location:
    Resident of Heaven; Currently in the Waiting Room
    What peeves me is (Germany in this case) the Civ can have an entire army lined up on your border, and they pop up on your screen telling YOU that your troops are on their border.

    But yes I believe the system is worse than before or even broken. Last night I had open borders with India, escorting my apostles in their lands. When I had popped the apostle, I started sending my unit back home, and Ghandi told me to move my troops from his border....in like "We have open borders Ghandi!!"

    Then he had units stacked to the ceiling and I couldn't get him out of there in time, and I ended up breaking the promise....so yes, should always ignore the request unless you fully intend on backing way up from their borders.
     
  10. criZp

    criZp Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,944
    Location:
    Nidaros, Norway
    Its a stupid system, just ignore.

    What should have been is a system where you get negative modifier with an AI if you have forces along his border, the more forces the bigger the penalty. And then they should remove the "contesting borders" modifier, while leaving the "they want our lands" modifier. Perfect.
     
  11. LoneDragon

    LoneDragon Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    I wish I could tell the AI "If you would manage your barbarians properly, I wouldn't NEED so many troops there!"
     
  12. dexters

    dexters Gods & Emperors Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,182
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    The diplo text needs a change or tooltips need to be added here.

    You can both be telling the truth and accidentally break the promise.
    AI should point out the units they are complaining about, or the diplotext should say 'units near X city' needs to be moved back

    'moving on' 'declare war' options are inadequate as it's not always obvious how far or which city you need to deal with.

    Until that changes, I guess ignore is the best option. Unless of course your units are really just passing through and you don't intended to fortify them
     

Share This Page