Tutorial Mode Gone AWOL!

KimTwemlow

Chieftain
**I posted this in another section and was advised to try here - hope someone can help!**

Hi there,

I'm brand new at this, so forgive me if this is a dumb question! I've recently purchased a second-hand Apple Mac that has a few games on it, including Civilization III (Complete). It looks intriguing but frankly overwhelming. I found a PDF manual in there and I'm trying to make sense of it - but it seems to assume a lot of knowledge that I don't have (I get that a lot ...).

I joined this forum in the hope of getting some clues and was delighted to learn that there's a tutorial mode option in the game. Unfortunately, when I click the relevant box, it won't stay clicked! It highlights OK but the tutorial doesn't appear when I start a game and when I go back to Preferences, the box has magically unticked itself. Every other preference in there seems to work OK - except the one I want (need).

Have I done something silly?

Thanks in advance.

I do not know the answer to your magical check-box problem but I have something to say about the tutorial mode.

The tutorial mode is basically a normal game in the lowest difficulty level, with a few extra dialog boxes popping up. They are cute, but not actually helpful at all.

Learning the game comes in 2 parts.
1: What does this button do when I click on it?
2: How do I beat the AI in the most overwhelming way?

I understand you are having trouble with part 1.
The manual explains this quite well actually, chapter 4. (page 35)
The only additional tidbit that is still missing is that you should make sure the check-box "always wait at the end of the turn" is ON. (though I hope this box doesn't suffer from the magical uncheck problem either...)

Are you sure you click on the OK button when you close the preference window, and not the cancel button? (these two buttons can be a bit confusing, I remember I always have to double check if I'm clicking the right one...)