1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Two new terrain graphic looks

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Graphics Modpacks' started by Incubus0223, Aug 6, 2002.

  1. Incubus0223

    Incubus0223 UMM nothing

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    Minnesota
  2. Incubus0223

    Incubus0223 UMM nothing

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Here is a desert dune look, a challenge brought by Civ Commando

    here is the preview click it to see it
    Dunes Preview

    gotta make the file really quick though
     
  3. Incubus0223

    Incubus0223 UMM nothing

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    Minnesota
    k lets see if i can do an attachment
     

    Attached Files:

  4. GIDustin

    GIDustin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Spearfish, SD
    Can you attempt to make swamp? That would be awesome if you could. I would replace jungle with it personally, and that is how it would best fit into my mod.

    GIDustin
     
  5. kring

    kring Asst Cook & Bottle Washer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,199
    Location:
    Wichita,KS,USA
    Both look good. They will be added to my evergrowing terrain mods.
     
  6. Incubus0223

    Incubus0223 UMM nothing

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    Minnesota
    To: GIDustin hey yea i'll try to make them but it can take a really long time cuz for somethings like the desert you have to modifiy three terrain files and so it'll be a while.

    PS i was on your website d/l a bunch of wonder splashes and i want to say you have a very well planed and organized website my congrats to you
     
  7. Incubus0223

    Incubus0223 UMM nothing

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    Minnesota
    oh GIDusting btw

    do you have snoopy's terrain or the default or what??? and also i was wondering would you want the swamp from civ II cuz that would be really easy if not then i can attempt to do one from scratch. another question do you also want modified hill jungles, and mountain jungles or not?

    k here is the new thread i made for your swamp stuff
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=29097
     
  8. GIDustin

    GIDustin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Spearfish, SD
    Thanks for your comment on my site. I try to keep it well organized and up to date, but sometimes it gets rather hard to keep up with all the dedicated modders out there.

    If you could do the swamp terrain, that is great. Then, all I need to finish my MTG Mod is 300+ unit animations and 20 leaderheads. I can probably do the leaderheads, but the units. . .

    May have to "hire" someone for that one.

    GIDustin

    BTW I posted in your new swamp thread as well.
     
  9. Civ Commando

    Civ Commando Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    My Evil Lair...........
    Thanks for the sand dunes Incubus0223, you rock man :D
     
  10. Ossric

    Ossric Hedonistic Ruler

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    745
    Location:
    Europe's capitol of hedonism
    Those dunes look nice, but i feel they should be made bigger...
     
  11. Incubus0223

    Incubus0223 UMM nothing

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    Minnesota
    hey Ossric yea i can try that, if you want there was another post that i made earlier that had a for the desert 'hill', i dunno if that is better since its a hill not a dune but go check it out, also it acts as desert not as a hill.

    And if i can get around to it i'll try to make them bigger for you, i'm currently busy with stuff around the house and GIDustins swamp stuff
     
  12. Incubus0223

    Incubus0223 UMM nothing

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    Minnesota
  13. Desert Fox

    Desert Fox Fleet Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Las Vegas USA
    Hey no offense but that looks terrible. That brown color doesn't represent any place on earth I have ever seen. I think you went way too dark. I like what you are trying to do but that color is way off. Looking forward to future attempts with a better color constrast, not that aweful ugly color you picked this time though. Sand dunes is a great concept though. This flat boring desert terrain needs some improvement. Trying to help not cut you down for your efforts. :) Just my two cents for what it is worth. Try a lighter, much lighter color.
     
  14. robehans

    robehans Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    A space between heaven and hell.
    DF is totally right, when i first opened this thread i looked at the preview and said "Whats that?, ****plains?"
    Still... keep up the (most of the time) good work, im sure it'll get us some good graphics!
    ;)
     
  15. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,576
    Don't you think the steppe looks a little bit too contrasty? I mean, it's more like a swamp... Also the texture looks very... boring? Looks like a standard photoshop-grain texture.

    As for the dunes, I feel they're too round. I'll check if I can make a screenshot from one of the "Dune" games. :)
     
  16. CCJ39

    CCJ39 M-o-d-d-i-n-g Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    686
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
  17. Desert Fox

    Desert Fox Fleet Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Las Vegas USA
    Excellent work I must say. I really like the improvements you have made. The mines are a nice touch, but they sort of look like oil rigs. Mines do not have tall towers next to them, just curious what the tower represents for mining? :) :p
     
  18. CCJ39

    CCJ39 M-o-d-d-i-n-g Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    686
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    thx :cool:
    Maybe I create another mine later but if you like to change it yourself, so download it and open the file with the minegraphic. The right row includes 4 pictures (first is barbarian and the 2nd-4th are 3 different mine pictures, but only the picture and the second one will be used by the game).

    Now my new homepage-version is online. The first 2 new mods are included (forest, pines for tundra and a new tundragraphic).
     
  19. maubp

    maubp Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Reading, UK
    I haven't found the screenshot - the snoopy thread is LONG, but...

    It could be for the lift equipment if mining a seam accessed by a vertical shaft. Certainly seen that for some coal mines on the news here in the UK.

    Given that mining is a technology that is available at the start of the game, I would avoid this sort of image (its a bit too high tech).

    Just my two cents.

    Peter
     
  20. Aldaron

    Aldaron Silvan elf´s watchin´ u!!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Bilbao (Spain)
    Steppe doesn´t work...
     

Share This Page