Ultimate Civ3 reveal map Bug?

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by McFlyen, Feb 11, 2002.

  1. Loopy

    Loopy Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    202
    So you think Firaxis should add code to check whether any files are named with "multi" (whether saved that way or renamed in the Windows Explorer) and loaded? I mean if I copy the game and rename it, it's using the cheat. Of course since you can rename files in Word, Firaxis should monitor what you open in Word too. And the same for IE. Hey, they could track down any one badmouthing them on these boards that way too.

    I'm not serious of course, but realistically, there's no way to check for this particular cheat. The easiest thing to do would be for them to remove it. The better thing (as mentioned) would be to have a save format that disables it. What's very unlikely is them actually checking for its use.
     
  2. Sparrowhawk

    Sparrowhawk The Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Messages:
    1,676
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Weimar, Germany
    Loopy: as I just posted, there is a way around this problem:

     
  3. Faray357

    Faray357 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ok a question to the finder of this code, is it alright if we sumbit this code to gamefaqs. Mostly becasue 10,000 people post there everyday asking about cheats and this will cut down on that. I'd figure since you found the code I'd ask you. Thank you.
     
  4. McFlyen

    McFlyen Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hi,

    Well, it seems the bug/Feature/Easter Egg/whatever is pretty much out in the open anyways, so I guess theres no reason why you shouldnt post it.

    24 hours ago I wasnt even sure it was a bug, anyways, just some twisted up Danish Windows/Civ3 thing :)

    Anyway cheers, all..and remember it basically sucks to cheat...

    McFlyen
     
  5. Beam

    Beam Beat 'm up Scotty! Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,571
    Location:
    At 51º35'N 4º46'E
    What will 1.17f do with this undocumented feature? It might be the driver for the patch!
     
  6. Beam

    Beam Beat 'm up Scotty! Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,571
    Location:
    At 51º35'N 4º46'E
    Just did some playtesting: renamed an existing save to ..............multi...........sav and loaded. Then went end of turn and loaded the new autosav both without and with exiting the Civ program. In both cases the saved game contains information that the feature was used, i.e. you can still go into AI cities.

    Provisional conclusion: if an attempt is made to change production by using multi.sav that info is kept in the .sav files, no matter the filename given later. It is still possible however that a player renames a .sav game, looks what is going on, and uses an original file to continue play.

    Anyone to confirm / challenge the above?
     
  7. Phorever Phalanx

    Phorever Phalanx Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    IL, USA
    The multi-save cheat is a great chance to see the AI in action. Hre are some notes:

    1. Seeing all those troops with the Settler at Deity is a little depressing and explains how you sometimes lose quick if placed too close.

    2. It looks like AI settlers favored placing cities on resources that weren't revealed yet - like saltpeter and aluminum - if they know these locations this is a major AI advantage.

    3. It looks like it's impossible for AI cities to disband. I had a little fun changing cities building the Pyramids to settlers :lol: , but they stayed at size one the next turn.
     
  8. hwinkels

    hwinkels Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Messages:
    21
    This looks like it's an option that the developers use for testing. It's done with only 2 bits! I updated my TCG Editor to let you do this without having to rename the game to multi-something. As soon as I investigate a little more, I'll make it so that you can turn it off as well.

    People should be honorable enough to not cheat if they are competing in a GOTM or other contest. I agree that this option should show up in the game options when you start a new game. Now I'm going to test what the other bits in that area do...
     
  9. Bob101101

    Bob101101 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Canada
    This is the sweetest thing and it works so easily
     
  10. bcw

    bcw Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    NYC, NY, USA
    i just beat deity with this bug/cheat/whatever :)

    all i needed to do was just keep changing AI's cities to produce palace(s)/wonders and wealth

    and don't call me a cheater ;) i only wanted to see if it works...

    it's boring and tedious, having a completely growth-stunted AI
     
  11. Beamup

    Beamup Higgs boson

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    Boston
    FYI, this works for the Mac version, too. Not surprising, but I thought I'd specifically confirm it.
     
  12. Supercilious

    Supercilious Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    44
    Good!

    Cheat codes are fine, but I'd rather have a Cheat Mode as we did in Civ II. Maybe this way we can fairly take on that cheating AI. :goodjob:

    More codes!

    BTW, we can even change an enemy civ's cities' production and even contact their governors with this code! :lol: It's a lot better than that useless expensive Espionage.
     
  13. Blackadder

    Blackadder Rooted to the spot

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Beckenham, Kent, England
    Your exploration and explotation of civ is a blessing to us all!:goodjob:

    Now perhaps I can input this into my Holy Roman Empire scenario...
     
  14. Lt. 'Killer' M.

    Lt. 'Killer' M. Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    7,475
    YESSSSS! It still works with 1.17f!!!!!!!


    YEEEEEEEEEEEHA!
     
  15. Talar

    Talar Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Sweden
    I find it hard to believe that this was intentionally done. If it was and they didn't want it discovered they should have picked something more unusual than "multi" (like xF8FF for example... :rolleyes: )

    On the other hand, I'm no expert but I suppose things like this just don't happen unintentionally. Anyway, now when it has been discovered it would be interesting to read a comment from Firaxis.
     
  16. Chieftess

    Chieftess Moderator Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    24,160
    Location:
    Baltimore
    The first thing I thought of when I saw that was "multiplayer". Maybe it's something they're testing? As the one person above said, it could just be a driver. Hopefully that means they're testing out and developing multiplayer capabilities. :)

    (I guess the game save will be called multi*.sav).
     
  17. MummyMan

    MummyMan Emperor

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,094
    I guess this will never be changed in a future patch, mainly because there will be no future patches! Maybe in PTW
     
  18. Lt. 'Killer' M.

    Lt. 'Killer' M. Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    7,475
    They could have given it back in 1.29 and didn't - sucky!
     
  19. Zouave

    Zouave Crusader

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,603
    Only Firaxis would be so petty and vicious as to remove the "multi.sav" cheat.

    The Civ 2 Cheat Mode was one of the best parts of the game as you could switch sides, control accelerated startups, or quickly run a dragging game.

    And if I want to just outright CHEAT (like the AI does) WHY NOT?? I paid my fifty bucks, let us have FUN. Remember what FUN is, Firaxis?

    I'll never buy PTW if I can't control that crazy Culture Flipping at least in historical scenarios, and if I can't get something like the Cheat Mode back. Never.
     
  20. Juize

    Juize Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,099
    Zouave - CFC's own really great guy

    Moderator Action: Watch the flaming. Gonzo :santa:
    Please read the forum rules: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=422889
     

Share This Page