Unable to Start the Mod

Basihelm

Chieftain
Hello All

I'm very new to the world of modding, and decided I'd try this fantastic-looking one to start. The issue is that whenever I click load the mod in Civ4, it exits to desktop and never comes back up again. I've tried downloading v28 and v27, neither of which worked. As a test, I also tried the mods that came with the game (Rhye's) and it worked fine, exiting to desktop and restarting immediately.

Reading other people's posts, I've found that most people have the file path C:\ProgramFiles\Firaxis\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword, but mine says C:\ProgramFiles(x86)\2K Games\Firaxis\Sid Meier's Civilization 4 Complete\Beyond the Sword. I'll admit I don't know enough about modding to know if this would actually affect anything, but I figured I'd put it out there.

My system specs are as follows

System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 3/4/2013, 16:57:52
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600 (7600.win7_gdr.130104-1435)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: TOSHIBA
System Model: Satellite A665
BIOS: Phoenix SecureCore Version 2.20
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 350 @ 2.27GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.3GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 3890MB RAM
Page File: 4217MB used, 3561MB available
Windows Dir: C:\windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7600.16385 64bit Unicode

If anyone has any idea why this might be happening, I'd really appreciate your help. I was so looking forward to trying this mod.

Thanks

First loading of the mod can take up to 15mins and it may take some time before it shows that it is actually loading (showing the splash screen).