1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Unable To Upgrade Ships

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by laurin1, Sep 1, 2014.

  1. laurin1

    laurin1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    And I've tried the U shortcut key as well.
     
  2. Sherlock

    Sherlock Just one more turn...

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,227
    Location:
    Eagle, Idaho
    371 gold per turn?

    Wow.
     
  3. bazziboy

    bazziboy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    One thing i could imagine from the screenshot is, that there is no direct sea-connection from one coastal city to the tile where your ship is. Try sailing it to the coast of Argos and see if its possible to upgrade it there.
     
  4. laurin1

    laurin1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    17

    Already tried that, no difference.
     
  5. johnny_rudeboy

    johnny_rudeboy Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Messages:
    288
    On that pic you have a frigate, they upgrade to battleships and you have to have researched electronics for them.
     
  6. laurin1

    laurin1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    17

    Yes, I took a pic of the wrong ship, I'll get one of the Caravel and show that if doesn't work for that one, which is should, because I already have the Ironclad.
     
  7. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,854
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    Seems there's no point in further speculation until you are able to post a pic with a caravel that can't be upgraded.
     
  8. laurin1

    laurin1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    17
  9. enzomes

    enzomes Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Did a city state gift you that ironclad? Because if to upgrade a caravel you need to have the right tech (steam power?)
     
  10. laurin1

    laurin1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    17

    No, I m built it - I have 2.
     
  11. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    Note that in your screenshot, the Caravel has a ranged attack. In Vanilla Civ5, Caravels were ranged and upgraded to Destroyers (which require Combustion). In later versions, Caravels were melee and upgrade to Ironclads. That probably is the source of your problem.
     
  12. laurin1

    laurin1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    17

    Later versions?
     
  13. Petek

    Petek Alpha Centaurian Administrator Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,647
    Location:
    Berkeley, Calif., USA
    Gods and Kings, and Brave New World are upgrades, or add-ons, to the original game.
     
  14. laurin1

    laurin1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    17

    Ok, thought that was what you meant.
     
  15. George Abitbol

    George Abitbol Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    503
    Location:
    Wish Lorraine
    You have the Vanilla version (no faith symbol, and the big triangle for the advisors)
     

Share This Page