1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[NFP] "Unhandled Exception" Error

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Technical Support' started by Knightfall, Apr 30, 2021.

  1. Knightfall

    Knightfall Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    United States
    My friends and I couldn't play mp the other day because we kept having crashes and desyncs. Every few minutes one of us would get an error that looks like this:

    "Unhandled Exception
    Code: EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION
    Error reading address 0x30

    Call Stack
    -----------------------------------------------------
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0
    ??? ! ??? ???, line 0"

    Does anyone know what is causing this and how I might fix/avoid it? I tried looking for help on the Steam forums, but those aren't much help as most of threads just derail into profanity-laden tirades against Firaxis and 2K after about 3 posts.
     
  2. Tychusfindlay919

    Tychusfindlay919 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Same bullfeathers happening to me right now, and this started exclusively after I bought NFP and played on this last patch.

    Bypassing the launcher makes the game run smoother, but I'm still running into this error constantly, and the game is just becoming unplayable.

    The reading address has a tendency to change, but the call stack always looks the same, albeit sometimes with a few more lines of ??? ! ??? ???, line 0 and sometimes with a few less lines.
     
    Knightfall likes this.
  3. Knightfall

    Knightfall Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    United States
    Yeah, apparently this is one of those issues where no one knows exactly what causes it and how to fix it. Some people say it was the April update, some people say it's the new launcher, some people say it's broken mods, some people say it's graphics settings, etc. Basically there's not much we can do except cross our fingers and hope it doesn't happen again, or if it's a recent bug that the devs eventually find out what's causing it and fix it.
     
  4. PhoenixRisen

    PhoenixRisen Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Same thing here. I haven't played for a few months and couldn't get through the next turn in my game from back then. I haven't tried disabling mods, but that doesn't seem to fix it according to the internet.
     
  5. Knightfall

    Knightfall Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    United States
    Same here; this is an MP game we started before the April or March updates. Maybe the latest updates broke a lot of older saves?
     
  6. Knightfall

    Knightfall Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Messages:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    United States
    OK, I think my second theory was right. Started up another save, no issues at all. Same with a new game. Pretty sure that the messed-up game was because the save got corrupted by the last update. Case closed.
     

Share This Page