1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[Unit] Marine

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Unit Graphics' started by LoneGamer, Oct 27, 2010.

  1. LoneGamer

    LoneGamer Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    I'm currently trying to get civ5 animations to work with civ4 converts so I decided to use the marine as my test subject. Here is the marine converted with most animations.
    (idle,fortify, hurt, shoot, run, die fortidle, diefade)
    Edited the fsxml so he doesn't charge in like a warrior, he now acts like an infantry unit. im using enterupload until i dont have the moderation queue thing.

    Get it in Mod Browser.

    Screenshots:
    Spoiler :


    I've been slacking on my other projects so I added the icons and prereqs. Edited the strength and so on. All Civs can use this unit.
    Seems the animation is slow sometimes and a bit buggy, trying to figure it out.
    I'll update when i get the civ5 animations to work with it.

    Feel free to use for your own mods and what not.

    Cheers
     
  2. GeoModder

    GeoModder Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,512
    Nice work. :goodjob:

    Are you planning on converting more of Firaxis' Civ4 unit graphics to Civ5?
    I for one would be interested in such units because I have this urge to have era-specific unit graphics, or at least as much in different era's as the game code allows (which is 3 era's I believe).
     
  3. LoneGamer

    LoneGamer Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Yes and from mods as well.
    Not quite sure I understand this last part. Are you talking about how workers change their look when you enter a more advanced era?
     
  4. Edgecrusher

    Edgecrusher King

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Great work,
    not sure why this unit was left out to begin with. With the whole embarkment system, I would think a Marine Unitclass would be a natural shoe-in. i.e. can attack/defend when embarked, etc...
     
  5. jenks

    jenks Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    very nice :)
     
  6. GeoModder

    GeoModder Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,512
    Yes, that's what I meant.
     
  7. LoneGamer

    LoneGamer Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    I didn't even think about that when i started doing this. I wonder how to go about say changing the infantry to the marine when you hit modern era. Very interesting as I didn't really know what traits to give him. Although the infantry can get upgraded to mech inf but still I'm intrigued.
     
  8. GeoModder

    GeoModder Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,512
    I haven't tested it yet in CiV, but in CIV you could let the game think the third unit changing era (industrial era) moved up to the modern era by adding a fake era after the future era. If the same trick works in CiV, then it should be possible switching infantry graphics from the industrial to the modern era.
    Of course, that would also mean that in industrial times you still have early era worker graphics and cities bombarding hostile units with rocks instead of missiles. ;)
     
  9. Jinzor

    Jinzor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    London, UK
    Downloaded the thing in the mod browser and installed it, but whenever I look at it ingame it looks like a Spearman. It even does the same melee attack animations.

    What's going on here?
     
  10. LoneGamer

    LoneGamer Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Yeah this happens when you have more then 1 graphic mod enabled. Say if you have the Housecarl and the Marine enabled you will get this problem. I might write up a tutorial on how to merge them because this isn't the first post about this.

    Edit: Well tutorial is made see here
     
  11. ProudAmerican

    ProudAmerican Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Pretty good but why in the hell our they holding AK47s thats a Russian weapon it should be the M4
     
  12. Draskar

    Draskar Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    An example of this cool method was in "total realism" mod for civ4, when musket infantry becomes napoleonic style infantry at the beginning of industrial era :)
     
  13. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    wow, after looking at that, the civ4 units honestly seem more detailed than the civ5 ones. Thanks
     
  14. Xaviarlol

    Xaviarlol Warlord

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    214
    Would love if you could port over the Navy Seal model from civ4 to civ5.
     
  15. Mr. Sulu

    Mr. Sulu Liberal Democrat

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    193
    That convert looks great! This would be a great unit to have, but how does it fit in with Infantry and Paratroopers? Maybe it could start with the amphibious promotion and have +1 Movement when embarked and pays only 1 movement point to move from sea to land?
     
  16. Bergerperson

    Bergerperson An actual Canadian

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    528
    Location:
    Canada
    Because that’s what they had in Civilization IV. The Navy SEAL unit was the US’s replacement for that.
     

Share This Page