Units needing "Medievalization" or correction

Drtad

It Stinks!!!
Joined
Mar 16, 2006
Messages
838
Units needing Medievalization (that I know of):

Swordsman
Axeman
Militia
Warrior
Archer

Units needing correction (that I know of):

Spearmen (when they attack, they hold the spear backwords and it the target with the blunt wooden edge.

Chevallier (it is a red dot, something wrong with artdefines)

About the Warrior and Militia, I was thinking that they could just be changed to early militia, and late militia, since I doubt that at any time during the Medieval period any nation had any units called simply warriors. Here are a couple of screenshots from Medieval II Total War which could give some inspiration for some of the units:

Early Militia


Late Militia


Axeman (look to the left side of the screenie)


I'll try to find more later.
 

Drtad

It Stinks!!!
Joined
Mar 16, 2006
Messages
838
Have you seen the new swordsmen graphics? They've been medievalized.
Unfortunately I don't think they have been changed, they seemed the same as the vanilla graphics. Probably just an oversight, no big deal.
 

Head Serf

Emperor
Joined
Aug 6, 2005
Messages
1,566
Location
Michigan, USA
Ok, so I went in and took a picture. The graphics are very different from the vanilla game. Here's the picture.
 

Attachments

  • Swordsman.JPG
    Swordsman.JPG
    152.2 KB · Views: 299

Drtad

It Stinks!!!
Joined
Mar 16, 2006
Messages
838
That is strange. I'll go in game later and see if mine is different.
 

Ajidica

High Quality Person
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
21,738
ffh has a good archer graphic (bannor, i think, demagoge would be good late militia) the swordman looks like the vannila one on my comp, cog graphic still unchanged.
 

Drtad

It Stinks!!!
Joined
Mar 16, 2006
Messages
838
Hmm... Here are some screenshots of my version. And the fact that Ajidica is experiencing the same leads me to the conclusion that something maybe wrong. Perhaps you accidentally uploaded the wrong version? Or maybe you made the changes after you uploaded it?

And also Berber Cavalry has a spear sticking out of its shoulder, at least in the civilopedia, as you can see in the last screenshot.



 
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
2,267
Hmmm... That is very strange. Did you change any of the files or overwrite them when installing the new mod?
 

Ajidica

High Quality Person
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
21,738
look, FfH has a bunch of good skins use those, and i belive i reported the problem with berber cavalry back on the old thread.
 

sepamu92

Prince
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
417
Location
Minnesota, USA
And also Berber Cavalry has a spear sticking out of its shoulder, at least in the civilopedia, as you can see in the last screenshot.

The reason it's doing that is because it's using the wrong animations. It's apparently using Immortal animations, but it should be using Keshik.
 

Drtad

It Stinks!!!
Joined
Mar 16, 2006
Messages
838
Nope, I am using Windows XP. I just looked into the art-defines file, and it seems as though you have done it correctly. I found the error in the Chevallier XML and corrected it, and I'll see what I can do about the other stuff.

P.S. Kreuzugg Ritter (German UU) is using wrong animations, and thus its sword is floating away from its hand and it is swinging it like a mace.
 

Ajidica

High Quality Person
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
21,738
i use xp also, i am of no help is the files because i only just figured out mods go into the program files and not my games folder. and for the unit animations i belive some one said that "the cavalrys spear is just close to its body and Kreuzug ritter has correct animations" and to sepamu92, it is using knight animation, it generaly slashes with spear, not stab.
 
Top Bottom