1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Update incoming

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Ozymandias9891, Mar 5, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Eagle Pursuit

    Eagle Pursuit Scir-Gerefa

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    12,136
    What happens for me now is that the game will close, but a "submit crash report" window opens immediately after as if the game CTDed instead of closing properly.
     
    WorldWarIV, Eramas, Pietato and 10 others like this.
  2. SammyKhalifa

    SammyKhalifa Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,893
    Do you happen to be running a browser window when you're getting the crash? It might of been incidental but I seemed to get it more often when I had a website open on my second screen
     
  3. Katakanja

    Katakanja Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,258
    Yep, I get that now too, and this is after a phase where I didn't have any exit crashes that started around the summer patch and ended with R&F :cry:

    I take great joy in clicking "submit" every time and imagining Firaxis HQ being submerged beneath dozens upon dozens of (probably identical) automated printouts of my crash report.

    Please don't ruin my fantasy by telling me that the chances of them having an automated printout system for crash reports is improbable :p
     
    sonicmyst, Krajzen, MrRadar and 6 others like this.
  4. Eagle Pursuit

    Eagle Pursuit Scir-Gerefa

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    12,136
    Not I. Although it wouldn't surprise me if some other operation is running in the background.
     
  5. Katakanja

    Katakanja Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,258
    See, I have this theory that the exit crash is related to memory usage, which is based solely on the fact that the period that I stopped having it happen might have coincided with me upgrading my laptop RAM and the summer patch being around the same time was just a coincidence. Then they happened to change something in R&F and put me back to square one.

    Having other programs like your browser open increasing the odds of the bug happening would seem to support that theory. :think:
     
    SammyKhalifa likes this.
  6. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9,494
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I'm fairly certain the audio cutting out is related to memory usage. I only have 8 gigs of ram, and a 9 year old processor.
     
  7. RealHuhn

    RealHuhn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,022
    Location:
    Germany
    I doubt it. I have 16 GB RAM and 4GB on my GPU and get the issues . It's probably just a bug or it takes a little longer until it happens with 16 GB.
    Playing a few turns in strategic view helps a little at least.
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  8. theadder

    theadder Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Addoria
    I doubt that this is the case for either. I have 32GB RAM and both happen to me.
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  9. pietro1990

    pietro1990 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Messages:
    548
    Gender:
    Male
    I hope they fix the joint war issue
     
  10. Duuk

    Duuk Doom-Sayer Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,661
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan, USA
    Funny you say that, because I'm almost certain that Civ6 has a memory leak. Don't believe me? Play a long game, exit to the menu. Start a new game, or even "restart" about 50 turns to another game and see how the game drags. And my machine was top-end less than a year ago, so still fairly high end. I suspect the crash-on-exit is related to memory allocation issues and I bet that when the exit crash is fixed suddenly the game will run MUCH smoother at the same time.
     
    Jackanape likes this.
  11. DonPato

    DonPato Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    I also get crash at exit each time that I exit the game.
     
  12. Sherlock

    Sherlock Just one more turn...

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Eagle, Idaho
    Have they said if this will kill save games?
     
  13. WillowBrook

    WillowBrook Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,333
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    I don't think they ever make statements one way or other on this point. I'd give about 80% chance saves will be fine with no mods, less with mods.
     
  14. Leathaface

    Leathaface Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,181
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    The Entertainment District will be getting a buff so it'll be altered fundamentally, I think that will mean you'd need to start a new game.
     
  15. RealHuhn

    RealHuhn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,022
    Location:
    Germany
    I wish the patch was live already. I'm tired of missing boosts like political philosophy and a bunch of other early game bonuses because all CS are conquered by 5 warriors on turn 20 -_-
     
    Jackanape likes this.
  16. leandrombraz

    leandrombraz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    565
    I really, really hope they removed that frustrating fun killer that is the "you're winning" hidden modifier or whatever cause me to lose all my alliances. I'm losing all my friendships/alliances again while doing really well in diplomacy, which basically means diplomacy is pointless, I get nothing from it. Agendas, being peaceful, being careful with denounces and friendships, all pointless, all for nothing. I'll go into full rant mode if this still a thing after this patch.

    I didn't get it anymore but I finally got an SSD right before R&F release, so I'm not sure if it's actually fixed or if the SSD is the reason I didn't get this anymore.

    That happened to me when I was closing the game directly, without going back to the main menu. I started going to the main menu first and didn't get it anymore.
     
    Craig_Sutter likes this.
  17. Leyrann

    Leyrann Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    3,922
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    In my culture victory game I had no problem at all maintaining 5 alliances and a DoF all game long...
     
  18. bonafide11

    bonafide11 Worker

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,111
    Location:
    STL
    Curious how you find the SSD affects the performance of Civ? Does it load much faster? Any noticeable improvements? I've been thinking about getting one.
     
  19. Katakanja

    Katakanja Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,258
    There is definitely something odd going on behind the scenes involving the AI's desire to renew alliances though. I don't know if its actually a "you're winning" modifier that turns them against you, but there does seem to be some kind of trigger that makes them go through a sudden personality shift. It almost feels like they move into a sort of neutral holding position while they search for someone to bribe into a joint war, and if there are no willing candidates they get stuck perpetually with what looks like only positive diplo modifiers, but yet they still refuse to ally with you or even declare friendship.
     
  20. liv

    liv Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,377
    Is the update coming today likely?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page