1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[UXP] World of Legends: Heroes, Guilds, and More!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by cybrxkhan, Dec 31, 2009.

  1. St. Patrick

    St. Patrick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    You can't add some stipulation that only one can ever be built?
     
  2. cybrxkhan

    cybrxkhan Asian Xwedodah

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,687
    Location:
    The Universe
    ^I'm pretty sure that is possible through Python. Probably what I'll do is after I ask for help from The J about a little python issue I'm having, I'll ask him how hard it'd be to do this (I don't think it's going to be too complicated, however).

    Unfortunately one side-effect of making the heroes more like normal units is that they don't show up in the heroes section of the civilopedia, but, of course, better that than having them not work at all.
     
  3. St. Patrick

    St. Patrick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    I'm just going to throw this out there: is there some reason that Swahililand starts with like 8000 (literally!) units?

    I'm serious, I loaded up Swahiliand and this is what I got:
     
  4. cybrxkhan

    cybrxkhan Asian Xwedodah

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,687
    Location:
    The Universe
    Thank you SO MUCH for catching this one!

    I've been suspecting for quite a long time now that the Swahili have been causing the CTDs in some of my playtests (oftentimes while the game was loading, before it even started). I am not sure why, but hopefully, as this screenshot may suggest, "Shehe Mvita" may be causing all those problems...
     
  5. dreadknought

    dreadknought timelord

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,111
    Location:
    DOCTOR WHO 2005

    LOL, Well I picked random civs in my currrent game, I guess we need to not use that civ until a fix is in. Im glad they werent in my game. The ai stacks some of the guide created guys also.
     
  6. St. Patrick

    St. Patrick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Yeah, that would probably explain a lot.

    Couple of other minor points:
    -> Chandgraupta II's greeting text should probably mention something about what country he leads.
    -> In order to be built, all of the guilds should probably require...Guilds (at present, only two of them do). It just makes sense.
     
  7. St. Patrick

    St. Patrick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    [Accidentally posted the same thing twice. Please disregard this]
     
  8. jspanglet

    jspanglet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    I recently started my first game and the mod looks ok so far. A couple of issues though (I apologize if I am repeating things that have already been said).

    1-Sobieski has no greeting text

    2-The labor laws civic doesn't look useable due to the penalty of not having emancipation late in the game.

    3-My computer froze after doing a slave rush and then ending the turn. When I restarted my computer and loaded the game, the game immediately crashed. I'll try a new game later.
     
  9. cybrxkhan

    cybrxkhan Asian Xwedodah

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,687
    Location:
    The Universe
    I think someone may have mentioned the ai stacking those units before (maybe it was you?), I'll definitely look into that.


    I don't think all of the leaders actually mention what country they're from. Of course then again it may make more sense for some leaders to mention the country depending on the context; anyhow, I made these diplomacy text a long time ago, so I may not have been in the right mindset back then. :lol:

    And, yes, about Guilds requiring Guilds. That was a little issue I was playing around with earlier. Basically, I wanted the Guilds to be obsolete around the time Corporation the tech and the Corporations themselves start to roll around; however, I also wanted to give them enough time to be used. Historically, there did exist Guild, proto-Guild, or Guild-like organizations in various parts of the world long before the Medieval European guilds that everybody thinks about, so I don't have any qualms about making some of the guilds require techs before Guilds. I do agree it is a bit odd, but my justification are the reasons above. :dunno:


    Happens to me all the time.

    1. That has been mentioned before, but thank you anyways.

    2. I don't get exactly what you mean by this. If you don't mind, can you please elaborate?

    3. CTDs for no apparent reasons have been reported quite often (I've experienced a number myself). So far I can't point any reason for most of the CTDs (unless if you're playing against the Swahili, but I have already fixed that problem for the next version), so my best advice (and I think I mentioned this in the FAQ section of the thread) is for you to lower graphics settings and also to maybe delete the dll.

    ---

    Thank you everybody for making suggestions and reporting any issues and problems - I really need your input, and I appreciate it a lot!

    If I do manage to fix the hero issue this weekend, I'll re-release the uxp/mod as version 0.55, instead of having a small patch. I'll also try to use the fpk (or whatever it is) to make loading time and gameplay faster.
     
  10. St. Patrick

    St. Patrick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Ok, I see things your way WRT to the things in my last post.

    However, the Caravan's model is a red half sphere. Here, look:


    Also, the caravan can't do anything.

    And in spanglet's second point, he's saying that because of the unhappiness penalty for civs not running emancipation, the Labor Laws civic becomes available too late to be of much use.
     
  11. cfkane

    cfkane Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,196
    I just had a CTD when I was just looking through the civlopedia. I clicked the Civilizations entry and I had to restart my computer.
     
  12. cybrxkhan

    cybrxkhan Asian Xwedodah

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,687
    Location:
    The Universe
    I noticed that too, while I was playtesting (I don't know why I missed it before); anyhow, I'll probably use the Charlemagne supply train as the unit art, and I'll figure out why the thing isn't functioning properly.


    I am assuming that it is an isolated event. Random CTDs have been happening to a number of people, myself included, without any clear pattern or suspect - but most if not all of them came during gameplay, not while loading the civilopedia screen. However, if you do keep getting CTDs, then that would be something strange indeed.
     
  13. St. Patrick

    St. Patrick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Cool. It does the same thing for the Bakery, too:



    I also will go on record as saying I think having a free tech for both Humanism and Liberalism (since one is a requirement for the other) is a bit much.

    Also:

    -> I believe that Charlemagne would be a better leader of Austria or Italy.

    -> The description for the News Press when you hover over it in the build menu is the description for the Bakery.

    -> Guilds should probably provide Great People points, seeing as how they're National Wonders and all (Smith's and Architect's Guild would provide Great Engineer points, etc.)

    -> I've got Buildings and Wonder ideas, if you're taking them:

    Buildings:
    Casino
    Requirements: Electricity, Mass Media, (Bank?)
    Effects: Additional trade routes, increasing the city's gold (like markets and banks), free gold per turn, or some combination thereof. (+1 unhappiness, maybe?)

    Wonders:
    The Strip
    Description: The Vegas strip, in all its neon lit glory.
    Requirements: Electricity, Mass Media, Casino
    Effects: Removes unhappiness penalty from Casinos; an additional bazillion trade routes in the city where it's built; +50% trade route yield in the city where it's built.
    Hammer Cost: High
    Double Production Speed with: Nothing
    Notes: It would be neat if the construction video played Eddie Money's "Two Tickets to Paradise," but something tells me you're not allowed to do that.
     
  14. cybrxkhan

    cybrxkhan Asian Xwedodah

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,687
    Location:
    The Universe
    Alright, I think the way I'm going to handle the hero problem is to make the heroes require a Civ-specific tech. The way it works is like this - for example, technically, Thomas Jefferson could be built by any civilization; however, Thomas Jefferson will require the technology "Being America" (besides the other prereq techs, of course), which is a technology the Americans start with that no other civilization can research.

    If this does work, I'm also thinking of introducing one final last "main feature" for WoL - Unique Techs, where each civilization has a unique technology it can research (like Mummification for the Egyptians or Blitzkrieg for the Germans) that gives it special beneifs. That's assuming I can fix the heroes, first of all.

    Unfortunately doing this will mean that I will have to put in a non-removable dll/SDK, which I am extremely reluctant to do, but I suppose I have no other choice.



    Oh yes, I keep forgetting that. It's been fixed. Apparently somehow I didn't put in the building art for version 0.50.


    I looked up the xml for it, and it seems like you're right, although I don't know why exactly I did that, much less remember doing it anyways.


    I disagree. The Holy Roman Empire only controlled parts of Italy, and Charlemagne is not really considered Italians by Italians, anyways. As for Austria, that could be a possibility, but Austria was more or less inexistent during Charlemagne's time (actually, technically, some would say that the HRE didn't exist during Charlemagne's time, or only in a proto-version).


    Alright, thanks for notifying me.


    That's not a bad idea.


    I am not in favor of adding more wonders, to be honest; I want to keep to a reasonably low number (well, ~13 isn't that reasonably low, but you get the idea). As for the Casino being a city improvement, however, that is not out of the question - I am thinking of adding a couple more city improvements by the final version, and I want to add a modern building. I was thinking of Skyscraper, or something along those lines, although that could be a bit too generic. Casino isn't a bad idea, but I'll have to check out my other options first. :goodjob:

    Thanks for all the suggestions and bug/issue reports! They really do help!
     
  15. zagaz

    zagaz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    Hull, Quebec, Canada
    I am playing a game as Carthage, I have researched Horseback Riding and Army Organization, I have horses but I am unable to build the Numidian Cavalry, I am only able to build horsemen.
     
  16. St. Patrick

    St. Patrick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    I see. I just figured that since Vienna was one of Holy Rome's cities (I think), Austria might be a better choice.

    I kinda figured, but still - with thirteen (approx.) wonders, what's one more? (The Strip was the only additional wonder i had in mind, BTW).
     
  17. joelwest

    joelwest Noble

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    339
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    just finished my first game of WoL and had the same problem. my hero(s) for Austria never was a pick to build. I played Austria with unrestricted leaders and chose William the Conqueror for his civ traits (in the absence of a leader with the most desirable traits, industrious and enlightened).

    the most interesting addition to vanilla BtS in WoL is the guilds. however I could not get the caravans to work and the explorer has only a very small window of use. architects and artisans on the other hand were useful up to the end, and trebuchets could be upgraded to the latest seige engine if you have enough money. workers are of course always useful

    an interesting idea would be a wonder that makes the artisans and architects appear faster than the other guild creations (every five turns on quick speed). the artisan in particular is a war monger's dream since as a mini Great Artist he ends the period of waiting for a captured town to settle down and start producing. the architect enable marginal cities without resources to become viable

    would it possible to integrate the BUG mod into yours? the thing I miss most is the larger adjustable field of view

    minor point, the bakery in a city build menu appears as a red blotch, not a mini-bakery

    joelwest
     
  18. cybrxkhan

    cybrxkhan Asian Xwedodah

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,687
    Location:
    The Universe
    Thanks for reporting that - it seems that I forgot to indicate in the XML that the Numidian Cavalry should replace the horseman, as opposed to the horse archer, and this is why it isn't buildable yet.


    Right now I'm trying to cap the limit on most things, since one of the important parts of this mod is the fact that there will not be an overload of new stuff like in other mods. I've already gone way over my new civilization limit, for example (at first it was only 11, then it was 15, then 19, and now it's 23 if I remember correctly). I'm not above a new wonder, but right now I'm pretty happy with the cap limit at 13; if I do add a new wonder, however, I'll consider the Strip, or something similar to it.


    The caravan, bakery, and especially the hero bugs/issues have already been reported, but thanks for reporting them again anyways; they will be fixed in the next version. As for having a wonder that makes the civilian units appear faster, that is a very interesting idea! I'm not sure if it's doable with my python ability, but it is possible that I could manipulate the event system to make it work (the event system is one of the most underestimated tools modders have, in my opinion).

    As for the BUG mod, as I have said previously, I will consider - and try to, with my limited ability - to merge it into my mod for future versions, arguably when I finally get to version 1.0. The main reason behind this, as you can guess, is that merging BUG is no fun task, and frankly I don't have the time and (more importantly) programming skill to make it work. Secondly, though I can understand why a lot of people like BUG, in my opinion, sometimes it just has too many features that I wouldn't really use anyways, and frankly I don't really like the overload of interface features. Although, there are some features on there that I think could be useful and easy enough to merge, perhaps. Don't get it wrong - it's a great mod, and some people can really use it well, but until I can improve my programming skills... well, we'll have to wait.

    Also, there is a leader with the Philosophical/Industrious combination, Kangxi (I assume you mean 'Philosophical' when you said 'Enlightened').


    Anyhow, t hank you very much for everybody's feedback. As soon as I have time later this week I'll continue fixing up the issue with the heroes!

    cybrxkhan
     
  19. Thaitanium

    Thaitanium Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Laksi, Bangkok
    ummm I suggest you should change the name of Thai Empire to Siamese Empire instead because the name Thailand has just been changed from Siam in 1939. So I suggest Siamese should sounds better.
     
  20. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,053
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    Siam was indeed the name of the country/region until 1939 but the people themselves have always been called the Thai (or some derivative thereof), even before they entered the area from Yunnan in southern China. I agree that 'Siam' is a better choice than 'Thailand' for the short name, but in my opinion 'Thai Empire' works better than 'Siamese Empire' for the long name as it covers much more of their history.
     

Share This Page