1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

v1.52 - Cannot scroll map with mouse anymore

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Bug Reports' started by Shevek, Jan 1, 2006.

  1. Shevek

    Shevek Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    463
    Location:
    Berlin
    After installing the latest patch I find that I cannot scroll the map with the mouse any longer.
    That means when my mouse pointer reaches the edge of the map nothing happens, the map does not move to the next map section.
    I can still move the map with the arrow keys on the keyboard or by clicking on the mini map.
    But that is rather arkward.

    Has anyone else encountered this? Is there a known fix for this?
    Help would be appreciated as this spoils my games a bit.
     
  2. Renata

    Renata homicidal jungle cat GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    7,690
    Location:
    NY
    Windowed mode or full-screen? Or both? I'm seeing the same thing in windowed mode (haven't played full-screen). It takes a while to get used to using the arrow keys instead, I guess. I moved several units the wrong way hitting the wrong key at the wrong time.
     
  3. Shevek

    Shevek Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    463
    Location:
    Berlin
    It's in window mode. That seems to be the default now.
    How can I get to full-screen mode? Or would that just mean that I click on the 'Maximise' button in the right upper corner? If yes, than the problem persists.

    And yes, it does need getting used to. I definitely prefer to use the mouse. Its quicker and more accurate.
     
  4. warpstorm

    warpstorm Yumbo? Yumbo!

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    7,688
    Location:
    Snack Food Capital of the World
    Turn on the option (it used to only be in the ini file).
     
  5. Shevek

    Shevek Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    463
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ah yes, I see. I will try that and see if it helps.
     
  6. Shevek

    Shevek Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    463
    Location:
    Berlin
    It works now. Window mode IS the culprit.
    Thanks a lot Renata and warpstrorm for the quick advice :thumbsup:

    BTW is there any dis-advantage of playing full-screen?
     
  7. Denniz

    Denniz Where's my breakfast? Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    11,092
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Dallas
    There used to be a Civilization.ini file option to turn on mouse scrolling in windowed mode. It disappear after 1.52.

    Code:
    ; Allow Mouse Scrolling in Windowed mode
    MouseScrolling = 1
    You might try putting it in your ini file to see if it still works.
     
  8. Briareos

    Briareos Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Let me rephrase that question - is there any advantage to playing in a window?

    For me, I get tearing when scrolling the map since VSync doesn't seem to be used when playing in a window, so I tried it once and never used it again.

    np: Dirk Leyers - Come To Where I Go (Pop Ambient 2006)
     
  9. warpstorm

    warpstorm Yumbo? Yumbo!

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    7,688
    Location:
    Snack Food Capital of the World
    I find it easier to task swap in windowed mode.
     
  10. Renata

    Renata homicidal jungle cat GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    7,690
    Location:
    NY
    Windowed mode is the only way I can alt-tab without taking forever and risking a game freeze.

    Thanks for the clarification on the ini line (and new in-game option), warpstorm; I'd completely forgotten about it.
     

Share This Page