1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

v1.61.0004a (Third Release)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Community Enchancement Project' started by SpoiledFruit, Jul 1, 2006.

  1. SpoiledFruit

    SpoiledFruit Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Boise, Idaho
    Same as the last one, continue to discuss about additions and bugs in the next dev cycle.

    One note, can we please keep it a little more civil. To much pointing fingers going on.
     
  2. Olleus

    Olleus Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    6,131
    Location:
    England
    shouldn't it be v1.61.0003a?
     
  3. SpoiledFruit

    SpoiledFruit Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Boise, Idaho
    duing development we went through 2 rebuilds so the released version was actually 0003a. This happens often in development where you get big version jumps between releases.
     
  4. The Great Apple

    The Great Apple Big Cheese

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    Got a crash when loading a game - no error message at all.

    EDIT: Clarification - this was a game saved under the default game.
     
  5. Impaler[WrG]

    Impaler[WrG] Civ4:Col UI programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Location:
    Vallejo, California
    I've begun developing my own branch now, in order to get things stabalized I had to take out all the Python files and all the Python interaction code by both SimCutie and 12Monkeys. The build contains only my own XML mod and a few simple outside mods such as RB's FlyingMod and Lopez's Improvments outside Borders. I'll be adding more mods in the near future and trying to re-integrate the Python stuff when its stable. My build is also NOT so far as I can tell suffering from the memory leak but additional testing is required. Its not currently on SF yet but I plan to be commiting it soon probly early this weekend. Seeing as of how its the only stable code we have it might be a candidate for release though it realy contains one or two more mods then our first release and has lost all of 12Monkeys mods.
     
  6. Impaler[WrG]

    Impaler[WrG] Civ4:Col UI programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Location:
    Vallejo, California
    Now that the memory leak is fixed we should go with the dev branch as the third release. TGA will you be posting the release thread this time? (I recomend it)

    Also we need to drop the Game Font changes (which are giving that pink smiley face) and Demo buttons, these are materials that should be put in seperate downloads not the core pakage.
     
  7. The Great Apple

    The Great Apple Big Cheese

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    I shall post it later this evening. I want to have a quick test through first.
     
  8. The Great Apple

    The Great Apple Big Cheese

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    Just had a brief test run of the latest version, and as I have already said lots and lots of times, the user should be able to install this and play without seeing any differences from the original Civ 4. This isn't the case at the moment. We have pink smily faces, new buttons, and a whole load of demo mods which are active by default. There are also some text changes which really should have options. All these things should be disabled, with the option to be enabled. Please incorperate options for your mods using SimCutie's options screen, which seems to be working wonderfully.

    I'm relucant to release the mod as it is, so I'm going to spend a few hours ensuring that the demo mods are disabled (I'll put them in a seperate download), and making sure nothing is forced upon the user.

    SimCutie (and others) - do you mind if I correct any language issues (spelling, grammer and stuff) that I happen to come across? I realise that not all of us are native Engish speakers, and even those of us who are make errors such as these.
     
  9. SimCutie

    SimCutie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    Two assertion failed.
    Assert Failed

    File: .\CvGameTextMgr.cpp
    Line: 7990
    Expression: city.getBaseCommerceRate(eCommerceType) == iBaseCommerceRate
    Message: Base Commerce rate does not agree with actual value

    ----------------------------------------------------------

    Assert Failed

    File: .\CvGameTextMgr.cpp
    Line: 8070
    Expression: iModYield == city.getCommerceRate(eCommerceType)
    Message: Commerce yield does not match actual value

    ----------------------------------------------------------

    I does not matter that our XML files are installed or not.
     
  10. The Great Apple

    The Great Apple Big Cheese

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    I'm guessing that's something to do with Impaler's changes?

    A request for the custom event manger - can you make it so that it doesn't give a python exception if you alter any file with events in during runtime? At the moment I get all sorts of nasty errors, and I have to restart the game to get it working properly.
     
  11. SimCutie

    SimCutie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    Demo items and optional components should go to separate ZIP.
    Don't blindly download whole source tree and make it as single release ZIP file.
    I documented required files and optional components.

    May I compose the package ZIP files for this release when we are ready for release?

    I am very grateful if TGA will help my poor English but wait some till I finsh the documentaion myself. It is still half-done and behind current implementation. When it is near to completion, I will ask TGA for help.
     
  12. The Great Apple

    The Great Apple Big Cheese

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    Hmm - I think this might drop into the old arguement. I thought we were going to include everything, and just have lots of options, rather then having many different downloadable components.

    I think that demo mods should be seperate, but things like the centre unit button, and the enhanced game text should be in the normal mod as options.
     
  13. SimCutie

    SimCutie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    197
    OK. It is easy cake. I will do this in next upload. Thanks for good suggestion.
     
  14. The Great Apple

    The Great Apple Big Cheese

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    Another thing - what is the point of the changes to the options screen containing the alarm clock and suchlike? Are not changes here made redundant by our own options screen?
     
  15. The Great Apple

    The Great Apple Big Cheese

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    Right - I've pretty much got everything sorted for release. I couldn't get a working enable/disable option for all of the city screen enhancements, and I'm running out of time, so I've commented them out for now. Hopefully this can be fixed at a later date.

    I've commited the files to the CVS. I will probably make the new thread in 2-3 hours. If anybody has any last minute stuff to fix, or anything else that needs doing (relating to what I did) please do it soon!

    EDIT: I've also had to remove the changes score strings. I want to stick it under the "better game text" checkbox, but can't seem to figure out how to access this from python.
     
  16. Impaler[WrG]

    Impaler[WrG] Civ4:Col UI programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Location:
    Vallejo, California
    I will start investingating that Assert error, it dose seem to involve my Specialist Commerce Changes as that mod changed the working of getBaseCommerceRate(). I haven't experience any problems with it and that mods been untouched for weeks now. Can I get some more details on what game state triggered it? Were their any specialist or a change of specialists at the time?

    It dosen't sound like this is a common or crippling error (else it would have been detected earlier), It dosn't seem their will be time to fix it this release but I will investigate it and try to have it on the next.
     
  17. SpoiledFruit

    SpoiledFruit Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Boise, Idaho
    just a question, why were the release threads closed?
     
  18. The Great Apple

    The Great Apple Big Cheese

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    Because we don't really need separate threads for different versions - it's best to keep all the discussion in one place.
     
  19. Impaler[WrG]

    Impaler[WrG] Civ4:Col UI programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Location:
    Vallejo, California
    I think I have the Assert fixed, it came from changes in getBaseCommerceRate that I had made for Localized Specialist Commerce. SimCutie by any chance had you settled a Great Person in the City that failed the Assert. I think that would be the likliest senario for what you had. I never noticed this bug before because I never settle my GP's in Cities (I always GoldenAge, Tech slingshot or Build with them). I'm commiting the new code and DLL now see if you still get any failures.
     
  20. The Great Apple

    The Great Apple Big Cheese

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,361
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    Could everybody who submitted changes for this version please check through the change log, and make sure I've got everything right?
     

Share This Page