1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Old World has finally been released on GOG and Steam, besides also being available in the Epic store . Come to our Old World forum and discuss with us!
    Dismiss Notice

Vanilla Civ

Discussion in 'Civ2 - Stories & Tales' started by jonburke, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. jonburke

    jonburke Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Hi, I am running Civ2 MGE on Windows 7. I am interested in the following:

    1) Can I also downgrade Civ2 MGE to Vanilla Civ?

    2) Are there some standard rules for increasing above the diety level? What is Diety + 4, for example.

    3) Is there some challenge where, at a high enough level beyond diety, it become a notable achievement to win at all. Diety + 10?
     
  2. Jokemaster

    Jokemaster Insert something here

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    1. If you are running a 64-bit version of Windows, it won't work, it won't run. If you're running 32-bit, it should work fine.

    2. Under Classic, you can get deity plus levels (up to deity plus five) by editing the game.txt file.

    Go under the Computer folder, then click on the MPS or MicroProse Software folder. Then, click on the Civ2 folder, then click on the game.txt file. It should open up in Notepad (otherwise, tell Windows to open it up with Notepad) Scroll down to @DIFFICULTY and add levels below Deity. You can't get more (functioning) levels than five above Deity.

    3. The highest level that I remember seeing beat is D+4, during a succession game. See here.
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=321194
     
  3. jonburke

    jonburke Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks for your information. I'm surprised that my 64-bit version of Windows cannot simulate a 32-bit system. It's too bad.
     
  4. Jokemaster

    Jokemaster Insert something here

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    64-bit can actually run a 16-bit program (Civ2) but you'll need virtualization software like DOSBox. Or getting a spare 32-bit Windows license to run Civ2, in order to get a dual boot mode (where you can boot under 64-bit or 32-bit) 32-bit can replicate a 16-bit environment, but not 64-bit.
     
  5. Harry Tuttle

    Harry Tuttle Scenario League Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    306
    The second highest Windows 7, Professional, offers virtualization, if you were wondering.
     
  6. darbyjack

    darbyjack Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    DosBox will run original Civ2?? :confused:
     

Share This Page