1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Vanilla RFC vs. BTS RFC AI colonization

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by Lone Wolf, Nov 21, 2009.

  1. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,876
    I've played a game of Vanilla RFC latest patch and I was surprised at how active colonizers the English were. The screenshots are in the "look what happened!" thread.

    It had been a regular Vanilla experience for me. But in BTS, the English are rather inept at colonization and there's a bit less colonization in general.

    Question mostly to Rhye: can you do anything in the code to make the AI less afraid of colonizing?
     
  2. corovanrobber

    corovanrobber King

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Germany
    Considering I just played a BTS game with Willem founding thirteen cities in Australia and six in south Africa.
     
  3. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,876
    Such occurrences are pretty rare.

    I mean, England in my vanilla game had

    Kimberley
    Windham
    Vizagapatam
    Madras
    Road Town
    Cambridge (in India)
    Cannanore
    Wellington
    Sydney
    Bourke
    Melbourne
    Toronto
    Popham
    Christchurch

    In 1852 AD. Later they founded Calcutta, Prince Albert, Port Elizabeth, Gaborone, Perth, Hastings in New Guinea, Walfish Bay, Adelaide, Darwin, 2 more cities in Australia, and Port-Stanely. 14 colonial cites midway, 26 colonial cities founded by the end. I've never seen such a spree in BTS.
     
  4. Ready_set_go

    Ready_set_go Too Late

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Could it be because in BTS they spend some money on the espionage, so expansion costs more, or they research less?
     
  5. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,876
    Maybe, although the coders say that the code doesn't really contain lines that tell the AI not to settle, and in classic BTS AI sometimes settles the dumbest waste-of-money spots.

    Warlords AI is worse at colonization then Vanilla AI, actually. It has an unhealthy preference for 1-tile islands.
     
  6. Ready_set_go

    Ready_set_go Too Late

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Then maybe Rhye could code the AI to settle or act like the Vanilla AI.
     
  7. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,876
    Settling like it would be what I'm asking. Acting like it in general - no. Vanilla AI is mostly dumb.
     
  8. Ready_set_go

    Ready_set_go Too Late

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    That's true. Rhye should merge this with a mod that upgrades the AI's intelligence. (I know how AI means Artificial intelligence)
     
  9. BakingTheArt

    BakingTheArt His Evening Coat

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    A two-story box
    But you modded out the giga-empire stability hit, right? So with these modifications, we could see England collapse midway through the age of colonization.
     
  10. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,876
    Most of these cities England settled were in green and yellow territory. I softened the penalty for orange and red, which England had very little of.
     
  11. corovanrobber

    corovanrobber King

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Germany
    Could play some role.
     
  12. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,876
    No, it couldn't. Especially since I softened the penalty start for the "bad" tiles in BTS also, yet I never seen such colonization from England in BTS.

    Especially since the RFC AI isn't aware of tile stability - else it'd never collapse because of overexpansion. It is just told to avoid settling in bad tiles, but there's no "if I settle that tile, in increases the 32 limit, therefore I shouldn't settle it". But the British empire in my game didn't actually exceed the limit of 32 bad tiles anyway.
     
  13. Ready_set_go

    Ready_set_go Too Late

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Did you play another game after that? Maybe it was just one of those rare colonizing things, like corovanrobber said with his Dutch.
     
  14. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,876
    I remember I always had more colonization in Vanilla. But I'll plan to play a Japanese UHV game (new Japanese UHV lasts almost 'till the end, and is one of my favourite UHV's).
     
  15. star15389

    star15389 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    476
    BtS has higher colonial maintenance than Vanilla. That alone could explain it.
     
  16. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,876
    Does RFC BTS have colonial maitenance? I don't remember. If it has, then it shouldn't.
     
  17. Ready_set_go

    Ready_set_go Too Late

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Yea it does. If you build the Summer Palace, it gets rid of it, atleast in the cities near it.
     
  18. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,876
    Colonial maitenance or just city-faraway-from-capital maitenance?

    Since colonial maitenance was introduced by Firaxis to encourage releasing of colonies, it should have no place in RFC. It's already antiexpansionist enough between stability and tech penalty.
     
  19. Ready_set_go

    Ready_set_go Too Late

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Actual colonies expenses.
    "-3.14 from Colonial Expenses"
     
  20. deanej

    deanej Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    Isn't the tech penalty just so that large empires won't out-tech smaller civs?
     

Share This Page