1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Varietas Delectat for Rhye's and Fall

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall Modmods' started by Lone Wolf, Jun 21, 2008.

  1. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,859
    This is an add-on for Rhye's and Fall for BTS which adds Ethnically Diverse Units from the mangificient Varietas Delectat mod.

    It's packed as a separate mod called "RFC VD", to avoid semi-modular installation hassle. No gameplay changes.

    Link:

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=9825

    Screenshots:

    Spoiler :


    Spoiler :


    Spoiler :


    Spoiler :


    Spoiler :


    Spoiler :


    Spoiler :



    And a last warning, since many people have problems with the annoying mannner of zip utilities to automatically create an extra folder when unzipping - the files go to Beyond the Sword\Mods\Rhye's and Fall of Civilization\Assets, NOT to Beyond the Sword\Mods\Rhye's and Fall of Civilization\Assets\RFC VD.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    does it leave unit stats changed in RFC unaltered?
     
  3. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,859
  4. Barak

    Barak Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,513
    Location:
    Chicago
    Can you confirm that it works with 3.17? Love the idea.
     
  5. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,859
    From my limited understanding, it should work. Don't know for sure.

    Thanks.
     
  6. Metal Alloy Man

    Metal Alloy Man Back in Black

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    761
    Downloading now, looks awesome Lone Wolf!
     
  7. Jasmo

    Jasmo Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks for this.

    Installed and played over 200 turns as China and England with no problems in 3.17
     
  8. xmen510

    xmen510 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,456
    Location:
    London Ontario, Canada
    Rhye has to add this to his next update for those who might miss this.
     
  9. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,859
    Why? The add-on has a very large size, which may be unpleasant for people with slow Internet connections. And maybe somebody likes standard graphics better. There's nothing wrong with this being an addon. Althrough perhaps it deserves to be stickied, 'cause it adds a very nice touch. :)
     
  10. zbelg

    zbelg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    I love this mod, thanks for this.

    One little thing though, in both games I've played since I downloaded this the Expansion civic was set to Despotism by default. It might not have anything to do with the mod, but I've never had the problem before. I doubt it's a big deal, my government civic still works properly and I can still switch to another Expansion civic, but I thought I'd point it out.
     
  11. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,859
    Do you mean Subjugation? That's how things should be. Or do you mean that Despotism appears in the Expansion column?
     
  12. zbelg

    zbelg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    No, that's just it, instead of subjugation it's set to Despotism, even though that's a government civic.
     
  13. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,859
    Ah, I understand the issue now. Here's a fix, added to the OP.

    Returned the default graphics for Samurai
    Fixed the absence of Child in the Dutch Settler graphics
    Fixed random city lists
    Subjugation civic should display correctly on civic screen

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=180892&stc=1&d=1214150946

    Unzip it to Your Civ4 directory\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Rhye's and Fall of Civilization\Assets. If promted, select okay to overwrite.
     
  14. Edungeon

    Edungeon Flying~

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    Brazil
    I can't download from Filefront :( don't know why...
     
  15. Barak

    Barak Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,513
    Location:
    Chicago
    Can this be used with existing saves? Or only with new games. (Sounds like a silly question)
     
  16. felix86

    felix86 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    It's all graphics, it should be okay with existing saves (then again, it did affect the civics screen :lol: ).

    By the way, I found another problem: the button for the German heavy footman is using the archer icon. It could be the same with other civilizations, I haven't checked.

    I'm really loving this add-on, keep up the good work. :)
     
  17. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,859
    That's Varietas Delectat issue. I'll fix it.

    BTW, what shall I do with Ethnically Diverse Cannons? Some of then, like the German one, are obviously meant to come in one timeframe with Riflemen, not Musketmen. And some Ethnically Diverse Musketmen are from a bit later timeframe then default Musketman.
     
  18. Lone Wolf

    Lone Wolf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,859

    Attached Files:

  19. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    added to the wiki
     
  20. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    great work LW :goodjob:
     

Share This Page