Is Venice awkward to play?

• Yes, I think so

Votes: 2 66.7%
  • Yes, I am pretty sure

Votes: 1 33.3%

• Total voters

Floats your boat

Chieftain
So, I have never actually played Venice, heard many things about it, notably that it's:
a) awful to play,
b) worse than a blank civ, one with no abilities but no drawbacks either, would be,
c) it's amazing warmonger (this was proven by Milae in his YouTube series),
d) amazing tall peaceful civ because of some of its early game strengths,
and after being in just one game with them I'm inclined to agree with all those points :crazyeye:.

I wasn't thinking of photojournal when I started playing it, but I usually took some screenshots in my game to compare with among them yields/policies/wonder finishing turns. I do have a lot of autosaves so I will get some more screenshots from early game. I'll try to be more careful and take screenshots of my capital yields at more useful points next time.

I am playing it right now and I observed some really interesting things that I would like to share and discuss. I will keep them in next post I guess, I need to think about them.

First of all, Venice is brutally awful in early mid-game when it's production and gold are scare, but it's really, really potent in early game up to medieval.
At the same time I have a feeling that I get early religion and similar number of wonders in most of my tradition games anyway.

Immortal to even stand a chance at this. On Alternative Difficulty Mod, it's more tough than normal diety and I am pretty sure Venice peaceful win on Milae's deity is just not possible, at least not if there are any tradition/progress - artistry civs in the game.

I actually would say OCC, one city challenge, would be preferable with it, especially for this start. Just take a look:

Spoiler :