Version 2.7 discussion

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rise of Mankind' started by zappara, Mar 20, 2009.

  1. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,423
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Didn't Jabarto already make a Perfectworld 2 RoM version?
     
  2. AAranda

    AAranda Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Malaga , Spain
    This thread is made to receive your comments , feedback , critizism , requests , what should be in or out , or wathever you want to say about my mods to RoM ( including i should better waste my time in football ). So , everything woul be welcome and answer

    I would like to ear from dancing hoskuld and jhonny smith specially , both of you guys have been very helpfull in previous versions and i really appreciate that

    Here you have links to my modcomps made and converted by now :

    RoM 2.7 : New handicap and speed levels
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12662

    RoM 2.7 : Tornado and volcano events
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12663

    RoM 2.7 : Traits
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12664

    RoM 2.7 : Buildings
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12665

    RoM 2.7 : Units
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12674

    RoM 2.7 : Corporations
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12709

    RoM 2.7 : Religions
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12715

    RoM 2.7 : Modular Aztec/Mexican civilization
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12723

    RoM 2.7 : Modular Guarani/Brazilian civilization
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12737

    RoM 2.7 : Modular Canadian civilization
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12736

    RoM 2.7 : Modular Taino/Cuban civilization
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12731

    RoM 2.7 : Modular cherokee civilization
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12735

    RoM 2.7 : Modular Dinnehi civilization
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12734

    RoM 2.7 : Modular Fuegian civilization
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12733

    RoM 2.7 : Modular Incan/Chilean civilization
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12732

    RoM 2.7 : Modular Inuit civilization
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12738

    RoM 2.7 : Modular Iroquois civilization
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12739

    RoM 2.7 : Modular Mayan civilization
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12740

    RoM 2.7 : Modular Olmec civilization
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12741

    RoM 2.7 : Modular Toltec civilization
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12744

    RoM 2.7 : Modular Pirate civilization
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12742

    RoM 2.7 : Modular Sioux civilization
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12743

    RoM 2.7 : Modular Tupi civilization
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12745

    RoM 2.7 : Modular United states civilization
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12746

    RoM 2.7 : Modular Yanomami/Venezuela civilization
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12747

    RoM 2.7 : Modular Mapuche/Argentinian civilization
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=12728

    RoM 2.7 : North & South mod
    Coming soon , must be converted to 2.7 version


    :D I HOPE YOU ENJOY :D
     
  3. Jabarto

    Jabarto Emperor

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,025
    Location:
    Colorado, U.S.
    PerfectWorld 2 works with ROM with no modification needed. The only thing that doesn't work is the generation of marshes and storms. I tried changing on that once, bit it didn't work.
     
  4. os79

    os79 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,095
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    You mean I can grab PerfecWorld 2.01 from RevDCM PublicMaps and maove it ot RoM but with awareness that marshes and storms won't be there? Or just plain PerfectWorld 2 from its modder somewhere in mapscripts forum?
     
  5. NBAfan

    NBAfan boss

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,351
    Perfectworld2 works fine except it does not generate marsh, storms, and peet bogs. It does generate all the resources.
     
  6. os79

    os79 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,095
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    Hello,

    To let you all know, I tested 2.7 RoM with Perfect2.01 from RevDCM and it created just fine. The game so far is going well at Huge and Marathon speed. No sweat so far.

    So like Jabarto and NBAwhatever said above, don't expect marshes, storms, bogs but otherwise PerfectWorld2.01 seems OK so far.
     
  7. Acerbus

    Acerbus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Yeah, well the problem for me is that it is not generating all of the resources :S . I have yet to see a single stone resource on the gigantic map I'm playing. There is, however, an unproportional amount of the salt resoure present.
     
  8. os79

    os79 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,095
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    Yeah, and I also noticed that it is way too laggy so I switched plain perfectworld2. It still didn't exactly satisfy me.. So I'm now just using Smartmaps. That reminds me.

    Here is a question:
    Which map-generating scripts in custom options have everything RoM has to offer?
    Yeah, I know I can always use scenarios but I want my map-generating scripts sometimes as well so i need ot know that.

    Thanks!
     
  9. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    My personal favorite is Archipelago, BUT with Low Sealevel, Rocky terrain and Snaky Continents.

    This will produce some interesting continents and some small islands. Very unpredictable, but always very playable. plus it will be with storms, marsh and peatbogs, and other resources.

    Examples is made on huge map.

    Edit : Uh, almost forgot. Its a very quick map generator. Not like the perfectworld. zzzzz ;)
     
  10. os79

    os79 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,095
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    *LOL*

    Yeah, you are right! Ok I will try that out. Thanks.
     
  11. sburger

    sburger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Kyoto, Japan
    I'm totally enjoying the 2.7 version at the moment, but notice glitches in unit movements. Units lag slightly when moving now versus 2.62. I'm not sure if it's the 2.7 or the addons I installed of AAranda's (RoM2.7 Units, buildings). Also, wonder movies run twice now when built. Still, awesome version just a little annoying with the slight lags.
     
  12. danomite

    danomite Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    I've been playing 2 multiplayer games with 2.7test2 (3.17)
    and its been rock stable (aside from the AI locking up and refusing to end its turn (fixxed by having a player join as that ai end its turn and leave))

    Makes me think its a problem with rev2.5 (note for 2.7test2 it was with the multiplayer compatibility flag set in the files (the one mentioned in the readme)
     
  13. AAranda

    AAranda Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Malaga , Spain
    Hello. My mods have nothing to do with your slag , but are responsable of wondermovies showing twice .
    It was a python mistake a fixed long ago with dancing hoskuld's great help , but seems i've mixed the fixed file in the 2.7 conversion
    I'll try to fix it today and upload again , but you'll have to download again and replace the mod . Sorry
    I'll post it when done , and give you a shot to make you know
    Thanks for the feedback
     
  14. sburger

    sburger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Kyoto, Japan
    Thanks for getting back on that AAranda. Your right. I reloaded the 2.7 mod without the addons and still noticed the lag. Cheers for fixing the modules. :) I really like the national wonder ideas you put into them.
    Going back to the 2.7 mod. Is there a place I can post bugs? I've looked around for other post on the small bugs I've noticed, but nobody has mentioned them. Again, I'm just listing little bugs that I'm sure the developer would like to fix, not bashing by any means.
    1. Civopedia doesn't respond during game play
    2. Non original tech quotes don't work
    3. Great person bar and clock no longer visible on main screen (mabye by design, but did love having them)

    Also looking forward to the Canadian civ mod. I got some ideas for it if interested.
    cheers
     
  15. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,555
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    2. text has been entered but recordings have not been done - we probably need a Lenard Nimoy(sp?) impersonator to make the mp3 files :)

    3. Both are there on my main screen - have you changed the display options (default or BUG)?

    Edit: there is also a version 2.7 bug thread Version 2.7 bug reports and feedback
     
  16. CMKMStephens

    CMKMStephens Serious.

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    372
    Location:
    New Zealand
    In what ways exactly does the AI get to cheat at Monarch level?

    Basically, they have the ability to produce huge armies, huge numbers of cities, and keep par in the tech race. This is extremely aggrivating at the start of the game, it isn't until Democracy that I can usually expand affordabilly beyond 5 cities. By then the AI will have around 15 and a massive army.
     
  17. sburger

    sburger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Kyoto, Japan
    Everything worked fine with 2.62, but now civilopedia tab doesn't work and the clock is gone.
    I'm not sure why, but the onlye changes made were the 2.7 and a couple addons were installed and now the little bugs show up. hmm... not sure what to do except reinstall everything 'cause i appear to be the only one with these problems.:rolleyes:
     
  18. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    try ctrl+alt+o

    You'll find it there ;)
     
  19. aender

    aender Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    usa..changes with employment
    i think it was in the bugs forum i mentioned the python error but seeing as its 2.7test2 here's what i "forgot" b4

    file cvgameinterface, line 180 in ai_chooseproduction
    file cvgameutils, line 513 in ai_chooseproduction
    file cvgameutils, line 966 in getinquisitionrevoltcity

    unboundlocalerror: local variable 'revoltindex' referenced before assignment


    anyways thats what the popup says...i get a dozen or so popups saying that each turn.....can play tho just gets aggrovating closing em each turn....not sure but at least this game started when i learned navigation
     
  20. aender

    aender Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    usa..changes with employment
    hmmm tried disabling inquisitions in revdcm options to no avail....and altho i am playin with bbarb civs on i have revolts off
     

Share This Page