1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

very very bad lag after installing new patch

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Technical Support' started by aceflamingo23, Jun 14, 2012.

  1. aceflamingo23

    aceflamingo23 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    missippi
    i was being playing civilization v earlier this morning and it be running fine then i installed the patch and it is all laggy now, it doesn't matter if its in an old save or a new game, everything is just really laggy with everything, especially unit animations.
     
  2. dshirk

    dshirk Firaxian

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    736
    Can I ask if you have any mods enabled? Also, could you post the first couple pages of your dxdiag (down through audio is fine).

    Thanks!
     
  3. jcrombez

    jcrombez Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    I have exactly the same issue since the patch. Even when starting on a new tiny map, everything is really laggy.
    I also have the impression the level of detail has increased a lot, even with everything set on Low or Minimum.


    Below my dxdiag report:
    Spoiler :
    ------------------
    System Information
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 6/15/2012, 12:00:39
    Machine name: JOACHIM-CROM
    Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.120503-2030)
    Language: Dutch (Regional Setting: Dutch)
    System Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
    System Model: Dell System Vostro 3450
    BIOS: Default System BIOS
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2620M CPU @ 2.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
    Memory: 6144MB RAM
    Available OS Memory: 6038MB RAM
    Page File: 3222MB used, 8851MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
    System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
    DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
    DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 32bit Unicode

    ------------
    DxDiag Notes
    ------------
    Display Tab 1: No problems found.
    Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
    Input Tab: No problems found.

    --------------------
    DirectX Debug Levels
    --------------------
    Direct3D: 0/4 (retail)
    DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
    DirectInput: 0/5 (retail)
    DirectMusic: 0/5 (retail)
    DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
    DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
    DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

    ---------------
    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: AMD Radeon HD 6630M
    Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
    Chip type: ATI display adapter (0x6741)
    DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6741&SUBSYS_04C51028&REV_00
    Display Memory: 3773 MB
    Dedicated Memory: 1010 MB
    Shared Memory: 2763 MB
    Current Mode: 1680 x 1050 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor Name: Algemeen PnP-beeldscherm
    Monitor Model: DELL P2210
    Monitor Id: DEL404E
    Native Mode: 1680 x 1050(p) (59.883Hz)
    Output Type: HD15
    Driver Name: aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx32,aticfx32,aticfx32,atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a.cap,atitmm64.dll
    Driver File Version: 8.17.0010.1072 (English)
    Driver Version: 8.840.7.3000
    DDI Version: 11
    Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 5/12/2011 08:56:46, 788480 bytes
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    WHQL Date Stamp:
    Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-2401-11CF-CBF8-C424A9C2C535}
    Vendor ID: 0x1002
    Device ID: 0x6741
    SubSys ID: 0x04C51028
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Driver Strong Name: oem147.inf:ATI.Mfg.NTamd64.6.1:ati2mtag_VancouverA_PXAI:8.840.7.3000:pci\ven_1002&dev_6741&subsys_04c51028
    Rank Of Driver: 00E60001
    Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C
    Deinterlace Caps: {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
    {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x32315659) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {3C5323C1-6FB7-44F5-9081-056BF2EE449D}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {552C0DAD-CCBC-420B-83C8-74943CF9F1A6}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC1,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC2,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC3,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC4,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(S340,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(S342,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    D3D9 Overlay: Not Supported
    DXVA-HD: Not Supported
    DDraw Status: Enabled
    D3D Status: Enabled
    AGP Status: Enabled

    -------------
    Sound Devices
    -------------
    Description: Luidsprekers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
    Default Sound Playback: Yes
    Default Voice Playback: Yes
    Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0269&SUBSYS_102804C5&REV_1001
    Manufacturer ID: 1
    Product ID: 100
    Type: WDM
    Driver Name: RTKVHD64.sys
    Driver Version: 6.00.0001.6312 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    Date and Size: 2/19/2011 03:59:46, 2748520 bytes
    Other Files:
    Driver Provider: Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
    HW Accel Level: Basic
    Cap Flags: 0xF1F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
    Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
    Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
    HW Memory: 0
    Voice Management: No
    EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
    I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
    Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No

    ---------------------
    Sound Capture Devices
    ---------------------
    Description: Microfoon (Realtek High Definition Audio)
    Default Sound Capture: Yes
    Default Voice Capture: Yes
    Driver Name: RTKVHD64.sys
    Driver Version: 6.00.0001.6312 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Date and Size: 2/19/2011 03:59:46, 2748520 bytes
    Cap Flags: 0x1
    Format Flags: 0xFFFFF

    -------------------
    DirectInput Devices
    -------------------
    Device Name: Muis
    Attached: 1
    Controller ID: n/a
    Vendor/Product ID: n/a
    FF Driver: n/a

    Device Name: Toetsenbord
    Attached: 1
    Controller ID: n/a
    Vendor/Product ID: n/a
    FF Driver: n/a

    Device Name: KTG Office Dock
    Attached: 1
    Controller ID: 0x0
    Vendor/Product ID: 0x17E9, 0x4032
    FF Driver: n/a

    Poll w/ Interrupt: No
     
  4. jcrombez

    jcrombez Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Note: this us for both DX9 & DX11 under the lowest resolution
     
  5. dshirk

    dshirk Firaxian

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    736
    Could you please start by updating your drivers? They are a bit out of date. This is most likely not your problem, but I want to eliminate it as a possibility. Thanks!
     
  6. jcrombez

    jcrombez Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    - The Dell support tool says these are the lastest version
    - I can't install newer generic AMD Radeon drivers, it won't let me
     
  7. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    30,616
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    What happens if you try to install a generic driver?
    There's also a tool available which will tell you if generic drivers should be compatible (click).
     
  8. jcrombez

    jcrombez Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
  9. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    30,616
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    Okay, then I guess someone else will have to help with debugging the problem :/ (there are some more people here with the same problem, so it should be easy to find someone else).
     
  10. jcrombez

    jcrombez Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    ok, thanks for the help!
    In the meantime I found some generic drivers from AMD, but they didn't change anything to the problem.
     
  11. ecki2k

    ecki2k Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Good old Westerwald,Germany
    Issue here, too. It's not exactly the grafics lagging but the game itself. I. E. Iclick on Next Round and there's 1-2 seconds with nothing happening, then the game either tells me some unit needs orders or doesn't react at all until I click again.
    That's new with the patch and very annoying since it breaks the gameflow quite massively :-[

    Otoh, the new Cottages look very nice ;-)

    Gesendet von meinem Optimus 2X mit Tapatalk 2
     
  12. Barak

    Barak Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,511
    Location:
    Chicago
    Running the newest patch on an i7 quadcore with 12GB of RAM, i am noticing a lag between turns that did not exist prepatch. I am also noticing a lag when I try to specialize workers in the city screen, or when i add buildings to by queue.

    In addition when I a viewing a city and move to the next city using the arrow keys, I do not actually move to that city, but view it while still seeing the build queue of the previous one.

    I have checked to see if my nvidia drivers are up to date, and I am told that I am running the newest drivers. I am also running NO mods.
     
  13. Specialforces

    Specialforces Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    P.E.I., Canada
    I find the game still sluggish and just off. When I click to move a unit to a cs the infor screen comes up before the unit even reaches the cs border. Seems to be sluggish between optimizing the turns and keeping the game flow even.
     
  14. Barak

    Barak Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,511
    Location:
    Chicago
    Please remind me how to post the dxdiag (can't recall where to find it) and I will later this afternoon.
     
  15. Piruparka

    Piruparka Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    564
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    Just open the Windows menu and type "dxdiag" into the search bar.
     
  16. Specialforces

    Specialforces Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    P.E.I., Canada
    Are the system requirements for G&K suppose to be more demanding? Is the expectation that everytime a new game comes out that one has to update their computer systems?
     
  17. dshirk

    dshirk Firaxian

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    736
    One of the changes we made is moving the gamecore to it's own thread, which allowed us to do things like allowing the player to interact with UI in between turns, toggle animations mid-game, etc.

    There appears to be some UI areas (like the city state pop-up you mentioned) where the display is not quite in sync with the unit that triggers it.
     
  18. Specialforces

    Specialforces Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    P.E.I., Canada
    That is great to know... so how do I get it to sync better? What changes do I have to make to allow the units and city management screens to sync. This current system with the patch just makes the game almost unplayable for the delay and missed clicks to set screen settings. Plus not knowing how well a unit is damaged with the HP bar not being as accurate or just to slow to react.
     
  19. Specialforces

    Specialforces Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    P.E.I., Canada
    By doing this have you asked computers to operate faster? If so this goes against optimizing a system for performance. The key with any game programming is to make the system sync and operate faster even with lower system requirements.

    A developer can always make a program function differently with more RAM and better systems but that is not the challenge. The Challenge for any gamer is to make it better with less. Take some hints from military and aviation programmers.
     
  20. The_J

    The_J Say No 2 Net Validations Retired Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    30,616
    Location:
    Germany / Netherlands
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=379992#5
     

Share This Page