Very Very Blind 1st Civ IV playthough with Caveman2Cosmos

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Stories & Tales' started by mcshame, Sep 18, 2016.

  1. mcshame

    mcshame Warlord

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    114
    With 400 hours of CIV V under my belt this year and the 1st and only CIV game I played (except for trying some SMAC), I was really really drawn to the Caveman to Cosmos mod for CIV IV.

    So, I will start what will likely be a challenging, long playthough of C2C on CIV IV. Since I have never played CIV IV, you will experience:

    - Poor play and blind decisions as I am not familiar with the Tech Tree
    - watching paint dry as I learn the user interface and CIV IV mechanics
    - a test if C2C can be picked up by someone unfamiliar with CIV IV

    I welcome those to guide me on this voyage and look forward to the experience.

    My Live Stream Channel

    Will start with the settings now. I hear that is a very important part.
     
  2. Niccolo Edwards

    Niccolo Edwards Looking busy

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    331
    Location:
    In my office
    Nah... not really. :)
    Subbing.
     
  3. mcshame

    mcshame Warlord

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    114
    ok, ready to go. Random civ, got got Khan! Interesting choice for a Caveman beginning!

    My Live Stream Channel
     
  4. mcshame

    mcshame Warlord

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Tried a couple of hours of it, looks amazing, graphics are really good as well. The choices are quite overwhelming and I ended up underestimating the risks of fighting animals and lost nearly all of my few units.

    To be slightly less blind, I did the tutorial in Civ IV, didn't learn that much new. Then played a bit of BTS and it seems straightforward (mechanics wise). I can now see how significantly more detailed and complex C2C is.

    Going to start again but this time on a standard size map, recommended to increase the stability to get into the later eras without crashing, if I can even make it that far...

    Same bat channel....
     
  5. Harrier

    Harrier Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    UK
    mcshame - you should also post this in the C2C forum. "Multiplayer and LPs".

    There is a You Tube thread there.

    EDIT Added a link for you. :)

    Listening to new players comments and thoughts are always useful to the modding team.
     
  6. mcshame

    mcshame Warlord

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Setup and 1st session completed yesterday. Slowly figuring things out. I think I said I would wrap up at least 3 times at the end and kept playing. Will start up another session now.

     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2016
  7. mcshame

    mcshame Warlord

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Jaguars and Eagles and Horses, oh my!!

    My city limits were held hostage by a bloody horse and I didn't have units there to kill it. I couldn't build gathers to improve my food and I couldn't get units there because Jaguars killed off a units and held another hostage hunkering down in the safety of a forest. This is way different than CIV V! Feels the way it should be, afraid to head out because of the dangers and even fear in my own city. Working slowly to get more food so I can grow and I HAVE MADE FIRE!! :woohoo:

    By the end, I got rid of the horse. Curious about this message of a volcano going off, not sure where it is...There is one other civ on the other side of our continent, the Incas. He will need to be taken care of...who am I kidding, I can't even kill a Jaguar!

     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2016
  8. mcshame

    mcshame Warlord

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Firstly, I upgraded the build to 9309 and it worked really well, just need to figure out how to do it as an incremental. I lost all my units to animals, somehow managed to get a gatherer to improve a horse tile. Still don't have the tech to use any of the horses. Also got my food to exceed my unhealth (if that's a word), so the city is finally growing sloooooowly. Still only working 1 tile plus the city tile. My culture seems very low and it will be an eternity until I can expand. I also seem to be lagging most civs in the game.

    Reported a couple of glitches in the bug section, all around a fun hour or so tonight.

    Hopefully more tomorrow.


     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2016
  9. mcshame

    mcshame Warlord

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    114

Share This Page