1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Vibe's large G+K Europe

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Custom maps' started by vibe96, May 31, 2012.

  1. vibe96

    vibe96 Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    264
    Because Gods and Kings expansion pack is coming soon, I decided to make a TSL europe map featuring the all-new civs. 3 of 9 are european, after all (+ huns and carthage witch are on the map). Map sze is 74x69

    I wanted to make a map where all the civs could expand before going to war with their neighbors. I'm having some problems with the netherlands. They start so close to france and germany (2 warmongers:sad:). I already moved denmark to norway and france south. BTW Ottomans will be replaced by Byzantines.

    The map currently has all features, terrain and rivers. Starting locations and city-states might change. The map isn't 100% realistic. I will do resources before G+K comes out. Screenshot of the map:

    Spoiler :


    About the map: Carthage is a full civ. The mt. fuji is under geneva's name and old faithful under reykjavik's name.

    I will give more screenshots and information when G+K is released.

    The map is downloadable here: http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=19579
     

    Attached Files:

  2. vibe96

    vibe96 Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    264
    (Reserved)
     
  3. The Peacekeeper

    The Peacekeeper Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    USA
    This looks nice! I want to make a TSL story with Austria once the XP comes out, so this should do nicely. I just hope my computer can handle this map!
     
  4. gunnergoz

    gunnergoz Cat Herder

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southern California
    Nice, but wish it went a bit farther East, say to the Urals. Russia doesn't have much breathing room in this version.
     
  5. PawelS

    PawelS Ancient Druid

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,803
    Location:
    Poland
    I think it's OK, Russia has as much breathing room as other civs.
     
  6. vibe96

    vibe96 Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    264
    I wanted russia does't have too much space. They can expand easily to estonia and finland, or towards the western city-states. Their only neighbor is Attila who also has room to expand.¨

    What do you think about other civs? Ottomas or byzantines? More room for Holland? Austria few tiles south? Add venice or florence?

    I will do the resources when the XP comes out (because there will be new luxuries and bonuses). I will try to upload the map in this month.
     
  7. OmegaKabob

    OmegaKabob Le Just Derpin' Around ~

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Los Angeles!
    It looks great! I wish my computer could run large ones though! x) It's hard to tell between Byzantines and Ottomans, because it would be cool to have ALL the European G&K civs in it, yet the Ottomans are fun to play on Europe maps. I would have to say Byzantium though. :) I think Austria maybe a tile or two south would be good. Maybe if Paris was moved a tiny bit Netherlands would have more room? And out of pure personal preference, I would say Venice. :)

    Edit: And btw, I think Russia has enough room.
     
  8. Barak

    Barak Emperor

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,513
    Location:
    Chicago
    Is this map ready for G+K? if so where can I get it?
     
  9. vibe96

    vibe96 Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    264
    well, I don't yet have [GandK] but I will buy it soon (to get it at 21€ :mischief: ) When I get the game, I post here.
     
  10. Omega124

    Omega124 Challenging Fate

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    7,046
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Albany, New York
    Denmark just looks wrong being in Norway. I really think you should put Copenhagen down into Zealand where it actually is.
     
  11. Revoran

    Revoran Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    493
  12. iloveciv5

    iloveciv5 bluesolid100

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    East of the Mississippi
    The historical state used to be a part of Venice. I think the world heritage site Ragusa, Sicily. Also, if you want Denmark in Norway, consider renaming Denmark to Norway and all of it's cities to Norwegian cities.
     
  13. Dr.NEO

    Dr.NEO Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Macedonia
    Where can i download this map?
     
  14. vibe96

    vibe96 Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    264
    The map is now ready. I will run some tests and take screenshots, and I will upload it today.
     
  15. veBear

    veBear Slumerican Citizen

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,612
    Location:
    Norway
    Rename the Danish capital Christiania, then it will be by the old Danish name that the Danes rebuilt Oslo under ;)

    Looks like a good map BTW.
     

Share This Page