1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Vikings in Space

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by bite, May 30, 2017.

  1. bite

    bite Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,942
    A new video series from Firaxis -


     
    king of nowhere and nzcamel like this.
  2. Uberfrog

    Uberfrog Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,137
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    This is a cute video series, a bit more entertaining than the victory videos that they've been "releasing" for the last couple of weeks. I wonder how many parts there will be? I hope not too many, but only because I want a new First Look!
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  3. sa1vy

    sa1vy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    102
    Gender:
    Male
    recap:
    >Vikings can into space
    >Still need cities centers to make canals
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  4. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    2,183
    Location:
    Lucerne
    they can't into space at the time of the founding of these cities.
     
  5. sa1vy

    sa1vy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    102
    Gender:
    Male
    ^Well, extrapolating from the title and things they said, the possibility exists that the Vikings can, at some point, get into space. So my poorly worded meme can be taken at face-value.
     
    Siptah likes this.
  6. Abraxis

    Abraxis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,128
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Has anyone ever had an inland sea that big?
     
  7. Eagle Pursuit

    Eagle Pursuit Scir-Gerefa

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8,512
    My most recent game had one 3 times that big (huge map). Unfortunately there were no canal points, but I had mountainous choke points that allowed me to isolate my section of the ring (it really was a ring-like continent) from the other civs and expand at my leisure until they could cross oceans.
     
  8. MaximusPlatypus

    MaximusPlatypus O.O

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Chicago
    Pete Murray claims on reddit that the map was randomly rolled.
     
  9. pietro1990

    pietro1990 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Messages:
    324
    Gender:
    Male
    Well you have to give firaxis compliments for creating such a big marketing for this product
     
  10. Morningcalm

    Morningcalm Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,128
    Location:
    Abroad
    Cute, though I wish each video was a bit longer and/or had more detail. I did like the canal cities, and the narrator pleasantly reminded me of the hilarious Zeus: Master of Olympus narrator.
     
    nzcamel and Siptah like this.
  11. sa1vy

    sa1vy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    102
    Gender:
    Male
    One or two patches ago most continent games that I did had oceans that didn't connect. Wasn't really inland sea, but had land surrounding it on all sides.
     
  12. UWHabs

    UWHabs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,333
    Location:
    Waterloo
    Can you start that close to a natural wonder? Pretty insane to get that kind of science boost that early.
     
  13. MaximusPlatypus

    MaximusPlatypus O.O

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Chicago
    I seem to recall starting close to a natural wonder before, I think it's possible on the "legendary start" option or something.
     
  14. WillowBrook

    WillowBrook Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,159
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    I recently got a start where I could see an extra yield tile without moving any units.

    It just occurred to me that the conclusion of this series would be the perfect vehicle for showing off the addition of a hall of fame in the next patch.:goodjob:

    Right? :mischief: You hear me Firaxis? :please:No, I'm just imagining things? :sad:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 31, 2017
  15. Abraxis

    Abraxis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,128
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    I've noticed France often does, like probably ~70% of my games with Catherine I start near a natural wonder, very often Pantanal. I'm not sure if it's just coincidence or if she has a start bias for a natural wonder to make up for her... modest bonuses.
     
  16. stinkubus

    stinkubus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Messages:
    87
    I've had several games since the last patch where I started with a natural wonder visible from where I spawned. Kilimanjaro and Yosemite are the best I've gotten so far; I haven't had Torres del Pine yet. Yosemite is pretty sick for fast science, and you don't get the amenity and housing issues that the extra food from Kilimanjaro can cause. I also got Pipothai (sic) which had gems on a plain hill next to it once. 1 food, 2 cogs, 5 gold, and 2 culture from turn one.
     
  17. Magma_Dragoon

    Magma_Dragoon Reploid

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,281
    Which game seed creates the alternate history that has a unified Japanese-American automobile market? That's where I want to be. It's not fair that the Japanese keep the good cars to themselves.
    Spoiler :


    >greentexting off chans
    I-is that really ok to do?
     
    sa1vy likes this.
  18. nzcamel

    nzcamel Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    I have (huge maps again) but not two right beside each other both of which could be "canaled"!
     
  19. SxSnts9

    SxSnts9 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    I played a MP game over the weekend and my capital was 3 tiles from Mt. Kilimanjaro. Between my cap and my 2nd city I had all the tiles within their borders by mid-game. It was AWESOME.

    Though I will admit that is the first time I've started so close to such an awesome wonder. I have started close to a crappy one like Crater Lake a few times.
     
  20. UWHabs

    UWHabs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,333
    Location:
    Waterloo
    I guess my last game I actually did start pretty close to Crater Lake, it was I think 4 tiles away from my cap, so maybe I should have realized that. And I guess the start before I was probably 6 or 7 tiles away from one as well (Yosemite, maybe?). So I guess I should have realized it was possible. I guess they're also not quite as game-changing as they were in civ 5, especially the Spain start. Was always cool to basically get a free settler that early on, never mind having a crazy awesome tile potentially for that new city.
     

Share This Page