1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

VQ03 - Resource Collectors

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Succession Games' started by Maquis, Feb 25, 2006.

  1. Maquis

    Maquis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    VQ03 - Resource Collectors - We love those resources, varied resources. We want to get our hands on as many different ones as we can. In fact, this is our sole purpose for expansion.

    Rules:

    1) We cannot found a new city unless it gives us access to new resource (in the fat cross of course)

    2) We do not trade away our resources. They are OURS!

    3) If we see an AI has a resource we don't... will take it! We don't trade them gold for it, because they may want it back. Identify the source, and TAKE it. This means WAR. Along the same thought, we do not declare war indescriminately... we have to be provoked.

    Game settings:
    Prince level
    Standard size Terra map
    All victory conditions enabled

    Roster:


    player 1: Maquis ---
    player 2: Greyfox ---
    player 3: ---
    player 4: ---
    player 5: ---

    Alternates - (will join in when needed):

    oldbustedjorn
    eektor


    I'll be rolling a couple options to start within the next day. Post here if you would like to join.
     
  2. GreyFox

    GreyFox Make it so ...

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,553
    Location:
    Where No One Has Gone Before
    Fox reporting for collection duty! :salute:

    Couple of thoughts on our variant:

    - by requiring our new city to gain new resources, we might be pretty limited in the number of expansion sites we can have. Suggest getting an agressive leader.

    - by the same thought, conversely, we don't need expansive. Orgamized might be useful if we have distance upkeep in mind. Finianical might be useful since we won't have that many cities. Not too sure about being Philosophical, spiritual, or cultural.

    Question abt variant:

    - do we attack immediately once we see a new reource in AI's cities, or the variant is actually to curb my warmonger's nature: we cannot declare war on A if A don't control a resource we don't already have?

    -
     
  3. Maquis

    Maquis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    Yes, we are most likely going to be limited in the number of new cities we will settle. There should be plenty of discussion about where to settle to maximze the number of cities we can get. We may be sacrificing a really nice city spot to get an extra city built nearby.

    One thing to clairify, we only have to have a resource within the fat cross of a city to "have" it. It does not need to be hooked up.
     
  4. oldbustedjorn

    oldbustedjorn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    353
    Not all at once :blush:


    I guess eektor and I will end up playing. Seriously Maquis, what is it with you and variant that restrict city placement? ;)
     
  5. eektor

    eektor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    462
    Yeah, I'll play. This month GOTM is going to be quick because of normal speed and emperor level, so I'll have time.
     
  6. Maquis

    Maquis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    Ok, well no one else has posted (yet) that they want to join up, so it may just be our same group again. (although bobrath has not checked in) Hopfully no one has a problem with that?

    @OBJ: You don't like my variants? Go find anther SG then! :rofl:


    Seriously though, if you guys would rather play something different, we can... I was thinking of making one of the next SG's a Culture win, but it looks like we're going down that path in VQ02.

    Unless someone really wants somthing different, I can fire this game up tonight...
     
  7. bobrath

    bobrath Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,238
    Well, I wasn't going to join in. but the SG I had joined... is going SO SLOW (ussg). So I'll drop my name in here with you punks.
     
  8. oldbustedjorn

    oldbustedjorn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    353
    Well, I have no problem playing with you guys again... It would be nice if we could get one "veteran" in here to help us out, maybe as an alternate.

    Its not that I don't like the variant, just that we will be :wallbash: with the same things as VQ02 - city placement. If you don't play on a huge map, we'll be fighting bits and pieces of different civs to claim Just One More City Site (TM).

    I personally would like to play something on monarch, as I have not tried that level yet at all. Maybe we could do a less restrictive variant and try a harder level. Its not that big a deal though, as I still would play as is currently...
     
  9. sozopol

    sozopol Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Brooklyn!
    If you guys can tolerate an SG noob, I'd love to play. This sounds like a lot of fun... lots of city placement discussion, and lots of telling the other civs to PISS OFF because this [insert resource here] is ours! GET YOUR OWN if you want some!
     
  10. oldbustedjorn

    oldbustedjorn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    353
    LOL, thats what we thought but in our current game (VQ02) we have restricted city placement and we're going for a cultural win - I would have never guessed.

    I'm sure we can find a spot, one of us can take an alternate slot...
     
  11. Maquis

    Maquis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    @sozopol: We'd be happy to have you join. Don't worry about being a noob, we were all just SG noobs a game ago! We can have one of the "regulars" be an alternate, or even run with 6 people.

    @OBJ: I was thinking of stepping up to monarch in the next SG (VQ04), wasn't sure I was ready for monarch yet. I think my a$$ is still sore from getting spanked so hard in GOTM3! :lol:

    I don't think this game is going to be as restrictive as VQ02... we can go wherever we want (instead of being so tightly packed). That and that crazy map just hurt so much... plains ann cows everywhere....

    I looked it up and there are 33 resources (26 we can see from the start) availalble in the game. I think we'll have plenty of spots to settle, and we don't have to go razing every single AI city...
     
  12. oldbustedjorn

    oldbustedjorn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    353
    I see your point, and I would employ an expansive strategy early with an expansive leader. I wouldn't want to see us boxed in by the AI, but with the only unique resources on the other side of the map...
     
  13. chriseay

    chriseay The Master Trader

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Location:
    State College, PA
    Lurker Comment:
    I don't think that this variant will be that restrictive at all. Most players tend to not settle cities that have no resources, at least not until the end settlement phase to fill in the holes. I know for me resources are ususally the first thing I look at when looking for a new city site. The only difficulty you might run into is if you get stuck in a jungle with all the resources there, but then have to go clear to the north of the map to find some silver or furs in the tundra.

    A question about the variant. If you see an AI has a resource you do not, can you delay attacking to attain it in order to explore and see if you can settle a new city to gain it peacefully? If so this could be a very fun game of colonial empire.
     
  14. Maquis

    Maquis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    We can delay attcking if we want, and gain the resource peacefully. However, we can't attack an AI unless they have a resource we want. Once we are at war, we can do however much damage we would like, but we can only keep cities that contain reources that we desire.
     
  15. oldbustedjorn

    oldbustedjorn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    353
    Definitely an expansive leader, eh?

    This is actually starting to sound fun....
     
  16. chriseay

    chriseay The Master Trader

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Location:
    State College, PA
    Wow! That is a restriction I hadn't realized was in place. What happens if you get to the point where you need to attack someone, but they have no resources you don't? Interesting to say the least! :goodjob:
     
  17. bobrath

    bobrath Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,238
    I can switch back to alternate if it makes room. np at all
     
  18. sozopol

    sozopol Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Brooklyn!
    Cool. I'll try not to screw stuff up.

    Yes. Also, we might end up with a relatively dispersed/far-flung group of cities, so the organized trait might be very helpful. Creative possibly too, to help expansion in the early game (blocking off territory and stuff)...

    Variant question: if we learn that an opponent has a resource via diplomacy, is that enough to make us go after it, even if we haven't physically located it? We also will see resources in AI territory if we share a religion...

    In any case, we might want to take to the seas ASAP, so starting with fishing might help.

    Possibilities:
    Caesar (Exp, Org, Fishing)
    Cyrus (Exp, Cre)

    (Just my $0.02, feel free to ignore the noob of course)
     
  19. Maquis

    Maquis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    Ok, so I think we have the roster about set:



    player 1: Maquis ---
    player 2: Greyfox ---
    player 3: oldbustedjorn ---
    player 4: eektor ---
    player 5: sozopol ---

    Alternate - (will join in when needed):

    bobrath


    Also, I am leaning toward going with Cyrus for our leader. Expansive, Creative would be a good set of traits. (Since we are playing rome in VQ02, don't want to pick Ceasar again)
     
  20. GreyFox

    GreyFox Make it so ...

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,553
    Location:
    Where No One Has Gone Before
    Great to see VQ03 getting up to speed ... I should change my sig ... I was so bored this few days ... :)

    No problem with going with Cyrus. SO are we playing on terra? Might want to re-consider that ... we might not be able to find the "excuse" to settle in the New World ... which leads me to the next question:

    how do we deal with barb city? Must we autoraze if it does not have new resources? Or we can attack and capture barb city at will?


    @chriseay: It is quite restrictive ... the keyword is "new". Cannot found new city unless it gain us new resources we don't currently have. Cannot declare war on AI unless the CIV control comenew resources we don't currently have. But its not as restrictive as VQ02 ... that is a relief :) We were hand-tied there by our own variant. :)

    -
     

Share This Page