1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Want an easy way to play Civ V online? Say hello to Giant Multiplayer Robot!

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Multiplayer' started by m4stermel, Mar 5, 2012.

  1. LostKnight

    LostKnight A wandering knight

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    493
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    The main problem arise when we play hotseat game that are NOT GMR. I usually have at least one ongoing game with a few buddies, and we save often(just in case of crash, power surge and whatnot) and the GMR do close civ even tough it was not a GMR game. I had to disable this feature.

    And good ol' Alt-F4 work wonder anyway :)
     
  2. m4stermel

    m4stermel Giant Multiplayer Robot

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    496
    Location:
    Utah, USA
    Yep, that makes sense. For those playing an actual hotseat game, deciding when the game closes yourself is the only way to go :)
     
  3. wuTz

    wuTz Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    160
    oy yeah right, i didn't think of this
     
  4. New Weird Order

    New Weird Order Schlitzie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    U.S.S.A.
    Looking for beginner(ish) MP GMR Ladder games, feel free to send invites on GMR. Would like a duel or two, or an epic adventure. I played very little Civ 4, 1500 hours of SP Civ 5- new to MP entirely. Casually serious player. Can play multiple turns per day. Have G&K and ALL DLC. Send that invite.
     
  5. Slvynn

    Slvynn Duke Vector fon Pixel

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,073
    Found some problem with game Chillout 2
    Player Lightspear (banned from my games from now) left game after 2nd turn, and our game become messed : after i reverted tuns before i've got this :
    I was playing as Japan, and now at games list i appear as random, and cant enter game itself

    also - question: If there any possibility to kick player as host?
    Thank you.
     
  6. species.zero

    species.zero Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks for reporting this Slvynn! We've fixed the bug and your game should be functional again.

    EDIT: There still may have been another issue. I had to revert one more turn to be sure it would work right.
     
  7. Slvynn

    Slvynn Duke Vector fon Pixel

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,073
    Hello, thank you for helping with old one
    New problem
    Now i cant enter my new games named "Last Stand" and "Exterminate"
    http://multiplayerrobot.com/Game/Details/937

    Spoiler :
     
  8. species.zero

    species.zero Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Alright, give it a shot now
     
  9. m4stermel

    m4stermel Giant Multiplayer Robot

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    496
    Location:
    Utah, USA
    Hey Slvynn, give it a shot now :)

    edit: Sorry, didn't refresh the page for awhile there so I missed species response. lol :)
     
  10. Slvynn

    Slvynn Duke Vector fon Pixel

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,073
    cant do now, i'll check in 20 mins from my pc
     
  11. Slvynn

    Slvynn Duke Vector fon Pixel

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,073
    thank you, its working :)
     
  12. Onan

    Onan Dad

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,404
    Wacky idea: is there any way you could do a team game where each player could control two civs?
     
  13. m4stermel

    m4stermel Giant Multiplayer Robot

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    496
    Location:
    Utah, USA
    That's a fascinating idea! Currently we don't allow the same player to join a game more than once, which is something that would be required. But perhaps we could find a good way to change that. Perhaps it could be a preference the host sets when setting up the game :)
     
  14. pedroantonio

    pedroantonio Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    ¿Is there any problem with the login trough steam? Suddenly i'ts giving me the error below when I try to login to see my gmr profile.


    Uh-oh.

    If you're seeing this page, then that means something went wrong with the Steam login. Sometimes it goes down, so if you try again in a bit, it might work.
    In case you're interested, here's the error:
    Web request to 'https://steamcommunity.com/openid/login' failed.


    And sometimes a 404 error:

    Server Error
    404 - File or directory not found.
    The resource you are looking for might have been removed, had its name changed, or is temporarily unavailable.


    The only unusual thing that I did today with steam was linking it to facebook. ¿Could be related?
     
  15. species.zero

    species.zero Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Don't worry - Facebook is a completely separated thing and can't affect login. The current problems are probably because of the Steam Summer Sale: an unfortunate side-effect of the Steam Summer Sale is that their servers are under extremely heavy load. It appears that their OpenID provider, which allows us to authenticate through them, is currently down.
     
  16. species.zero

    species.zero Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Logging in appears to have just come back up - but be advised that it will probably go down a couple more times during the Steam Summer Sale.
     
  17. DeeBo

    DeeBo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Same problem here. Haven't been able to get on for a couple hours now.
     
  18. species.zero

    species.zero Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Yes, the Steam OpenID provider is down again. As this issue is entirely on Steam's end, there's unfortunately nothing we can do but wait for it to come back up. I'll place an advisory on the login error page.
     
  19. Muscu

    Muscu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Problem is back, it seems.
    I was uploading a save when it crashed and now I can't log in.
     
  20. m4stermel

    m4stermel Giant Multiplayer Robot

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    496
    Location:
    Utah, USA
    Yep, sorry about that. We just made some changes to the site that took it offline for a minute. Any operations during that brief time would fail. If you're still experiencing problems close and restart the GMR desktop app.
     

Share This Page