1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Want an easy way to play Civ V online? Say hello to Giant Multiplayer Robot!

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Multiplayer' started by m4stermel, Mar 5, 2012.

  1. Rillithain

    Rillithain Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Public games there are always people leaving.. and you are right, it is very annoying. Even on private games though some people leave when they feel they can't win; however, I do not invite those people back! There are sometimes technical reasons why someone cannot continue as well though. I've learned to never join a game that has people with 0 points... those are typically the first to leave because often they are only allowed 2 games, so they bail to go join a different game.
     
  2. EEE_BOY

    EEE_BOY Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3,148
    Location:
    NZ
    GMR server is currently down?
     
  3. avl8

    avl8 Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    I'm getting a message "Unable to contact GMR server:..." tonight... :(
     
  4. avl8

    avl8 Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Luckily now its up and running!
     
  5. reddishrecue

    reddishrecue Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,239
    How do you use the gmr service? I have downloaded the program for gmr and still couldn't use it.
     
  6. Foffaren

    Foffaren King

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    Sweden
    There is a walkthrough on the main page. It's a little dated, but should still help you set it up so you can use it.
     
  7. tb3

    tb3 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Australia
    An extremely helpful improvement to GMR would be the ability to simply rate the sportsmanship of people you have played with.
    I.e. How much did you enjoy playing this game with XXX? I did / I didn't / Who?

    I've played in a fair few leagues over the years and the ones that thrive promote community and sportsmanship. Winning is it's own reward, it doesn't take anything to promote that, but having some other way of having accountability and establishing reputations for good or other play is fantastic.

    I would love to see this. GMR is a fantastic way of playing Civ 5 and I think it has the potential to encourage a supportive community around the game even more than it already does.
     
  8. EEE_BOY

    EEE_BOY Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3,148
    Location:
    NZ
    Hi Rillithain, is it possible to take a GMR save offline, play it in SP mode for one turn, then upload the save again to keep it going as MP game?

    http://www.multiplayerrobot.com/Game/Details/1697

    The above game needs a religion mechanics called reformation, which enabled by researching a technology. But similar to Conquest of New World, the religion effect won't kick in for MP mode. Only SP mode will enable the religion effect.

    Thank you very much for helping, GMR rocks!
     
  9. Rillithain

    Rillithain Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    I'm not entirely sure how it was done by NullMaster.. I'll ask him. I'm not sure if just uploading a single player game would work correctly..
     
  10. Rillithain

    Rillithain Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    NullMaster replied..

    "Yeah, I just created the scenario as a regular Single Player game, then played two turns (or until the AI picked religions), and then I saved on my turn and uploaded that save file when creating a new "Scenario" game here on GMR. GMR then takes care of converting it to a HotSeat game for normal play."
     
  11. EEE_BOY

    EEE_BOY Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3,148
    Location:
    NZ
    Thank you Rillithain, that was for a fresh start game. In this case, the game has been played several turns by human players, could it be taken offline and play a SP mode then back to MP mode? Sounds very complicated:crazyeye:
     
  12. Rillithain

    Rillithain Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    I don't see why not.. once a game is uploaded, as long as it fits into the slots of when each person's turn is. It would mean though that while in single player mode the AIs would play the other players turns

    edit - sorry for slow response.. i forget to check this thread often
     
  13. RStark

    RStark Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    504
    @Rillithain
    I don't think that one turn played by AI will make considerable harm to the gameplay. Whenever emerging Reformation religion will make the game more interesting with some twisted plot :)
     
  14. PsYchO_Ape

    PsYchO_Ape Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    so i'am currently playing a few GMR games but never ever let the AI take a turn for me due to skipping or vacation mode (i'm really afraid of the stupid AI decisions)

    But since i will go to vacations eventually i'm really curious what will happen when the AI takes control.
    If i manage my City working tiles manually and force them to all tiles i want, will the AI change that?
    If i queue up some buildings/units in my citys will the AI also just switch to whatever building/unit it pleases?
    Same goes for beeline a specific Tech. Is there a way to remain in controll or will the AI just change everything it wants?
     
  15. EEE_BOY

    EEE_BOY Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3,148
    Location:
    NZ
    Mostly yes to all your questions.
     
  16. PsYchO_Ape

    PsYchO_Ape Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    damn it :cry:

    thanks anyways ^^
     
  17. consentient

    consentient Domination!

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    3,330
    Anyone know of a Mac equivalent?

    And please, no stupid comments about how I should not play Civ 5 on a Mac.
     
  18. Foffaren

    Foffaren King

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    963
    Location:
    Sweden
    I think they've said something about the desktop app not working on a mac, but you can still download and upload the files manually via the site.
     
  19. Tabarnak

    Tabarnak R.I.P.

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,954
    Location:
    Québec
    Sometimes i can't connect the gmr application and sometimes he doesn't work at all. It usually lasts a couple of hours and i don't really mind about this. But this time it has been almost 2 days without being able to play my turns :(

    Is it only me?
     
  20. EEE_BOY

    EEE_BOY Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3,148
    Location:
    NZ
    I can play no problem. Maybe you need an app update?
     

Share This Page