1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

War in America! 2005

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Scenarios' started by sourboy, Jan 29, 2005.

  1. Warman17

    Warman17 NES Grandpa

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,107
    Location:
    America

    not important, it's a game. ^_^
     
  2. Corvex

    Corvex Emperor of Canada

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Location:
    The Holy City of Winnipeg
    This scenario looks interesting enough, but there is not enough oil! For example, Northern Alberta has something like the second largest proven oil reserves on Earth, but those are nowhere to be found. The Maritimes should also have oil.
     
  3. tarpoon

    tarpoon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    He got a good point.
    Maybe instead of looking where a Civ was, or could be in real life you should take a map of your last presidential election and choose thereby which side the city joined.
    After that you can still create some neutral states or make two californian civs who are in locked alliances with the side they support
     
  4. Morfos

    Morfos Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    California
    I got the map; I updated it to hopefully make it more fun and interesting. If it works out I could upload it.
     
  5. The Omega

    The Omega Completely Insane

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3,033
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Why not? Every once in a while, we hold an election to see if we should leave the U.S., but most people want to stay as part of a superpower. If the U.S. fell apart, I wouldnt' be surprised if Texas left as soon as possible.
     
  6. Lord_Iggy

    Lord_Iggy Tsesk'ihe

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    24,564
    Location:
    Yukon
    Corvex is right. Alberta has the largest oil sands reserve in the world!
    I look forward to playing this.
     
  7. Lord_Iggy

    Lord_Iggy Tsesk'ihe

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    24,564
    Location:
    Yukon
    2 things. First, just a little deal, Whitehorse has a hydro plant in real life. It doesn't in the game.
    Second, I'm having the same problem as ferr from a while earlier. I can't play the game, and the same error message pops up. I have a good computer, so that isn't a problem.
     
  8. twansalem

    twansalem Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    276
    I don't know why it happens, but I have the same problem.
     
  9. superjdawg_2

    superjdawg_2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    I have download this scenarios but what do i need to do to make it playable cant find it in the game.
     
  10. Traitorfish

    Traitorfish The Tighnahulish Kid

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    32,569
    Location:
    Scotland
    Actually, California and Texas were origianally independant before joing the union, after breaking away from Mexico.
    They still have remenants of that nationalism in Texas, though not so much in California.

    I think California should be ruled by Zack de la Rocha, vocalist from Rage Against the Machine. That would be cool...
     
  11. rainbowmage

    rainbowmage Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    sunrays crown thy pineclad hills
    hey, there

    this seems to be very interesting indeed but theres just one problem... the game crashes after i have chosen my civ. it dosn't say anything about mising files it just crashes and the micros0ft send error report? thing appears. any idea as to why?

    note: i extracted the biq to the conquests/scenario folder and those other files to the same place.
     
  12. civcom12

    civcom12 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Rome GA
    WEEEEEEE ATLANTA CAN KILL MIcHIGAN WOOOOOT
    (sorry! great job by the way!)
     
  13. Cheezy the Wiz

    Cheezy the Wiz Socialist In A Hurry

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,238
    Location:
    Freedonia
    i dont see why the south left. Arent thay republican? I think the NE states leaving is more realistic, along with like Cali and stuff. Hey, that's a good idea. Why not make the secessors the states who were democrats in the 2004 election? IT kinda fits in with the whole idea of the liberals bein mad and stuff. I know you made it this way for gameplay, but a lttiel correlation with history, as it is an alterative history, is always good, and it makes more sense and gives the players more of a want and reason to kick butt.
     
  14. Serutan

    Serutan Eatibus Anythingibus

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,541
    Location:
    Baja Arizona
    Wouldn't be holding my breath on that suggestion; the creator hasn't posted here in a year...
     
  15. William GBTW

    William GBTW 73h 1337 H4x0rz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    In your bases
    Texas should have oil if it doesn't. I wrote a book at war in America; similer story except it was as far out as the people who elected Bush break apart; it was the Communist causing a Revolution and the Secretary of Education (who is in my story not the real one but a new one and a Communist) takes over and good. I'm downloading and playing as Texas. Texas shouldn't be in the Southern culture group since Texas isn't quite like the 'old' South (I would know, I'm a Texan). I'll give more feedback after I look at the map. Make sure it shows the Guadalupe River. I'll add a Communist plot to make the Bush states spilt; the Union would be broken though because of Bush; he did win the election and carry most states. Also you merged Texas and Oklahoma; which are dramaticly differnt. It would be stupid to make Dallas the Capitol of Texas; San Antonio would be okay but Dallas? Get Real. San Antonio is huge; it should be big as if not bigger than Austin; Also Seguin should be added as it is a National Guard Armory and it SE of Austin and NW of San Antonio. Seguin also has Randolph Air Forces Base just 30 miles away; Texas would have inherited a large AF and Space Program. Also Texas WOULD NOT be in Anarchy for too long but since the others are Texas shall be in Anarchy as well. Texas should be:
    Militaristic, Commercial, Industrious, Ag, Scientific. I'm a little exacting over Texas since I live there and know it so well; I hope I haven't over critiqued you; you did GREAT. Also the favorite Government of Texas would be Democrocy and NO INCOME TAX OR YANKESS. :) The AI won't build anything because thier Govoner is set to manage Production. I'm fixin' that on my download. Why can't Texas build a Destroyer or Submarine? If Mexico can so could Texas!
     
  16. William GBTW

    William GBTW 73h 1337 H4x0rz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    In your bases
    The game crashes after i have chosen my civ. it dosn't say anything about mising files it just crashes and the micros0ft send error report? Thing appears. Any idea as to why?

    Also why isn't Texas irrigated and the Imperial Valley? Also Texas should have UU that would be Texas Ranger.

    How about we say Kerry one so Texas left.

    I'll update it once it gets working and take your suggestions and incorporate them; just I need to get it working.
     
  17. griff09

    griff09 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    I downloaded it and extracted the files into the correct places, but it won't let me actually play the game, it stops loading at the "o" in scenario and then just stops working.... I REALLY wanna play...please help...
     
  18. Funky2882

    Funky2882 Still Surfing the Net

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    150
    Location:
    South Pole
    I'm sorry i don't know if sour boy still exists and I just reinstalled Civ3 so i don't even have this on my computer. but what is the problem?
     
  19. Emerentius

    Emerentius Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    148
    hi griff09
    you just have to wait.
    the map is huge so it takes some time for the scenario to load.
    on the other handthe turns are fast so have a cup of coffee and you'll see.
    good luck.
     
  20. Zachar

    Zachar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    William GBTW:
    I don't know if you've realized it but the cold war has been over for almost 2 decades. Stick to playing scenarios. :lol: Your future as a writer is bleak, I would be surprised if two copies are sold (excluding you and a significant other) :mischief:
     

Share This Page