1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Wardlord to Noble

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Bailz, Jun 16, 2006.

  1. Bailz

    Bailz Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Scotland
    I've recently made the jump from Warlord to Noble. Is there a large learning curve between these two difficulties?

    I either get war declared on me and end up completely anhilated or fall really far behind the other civs tech-wise (middle of the table area).

    Can anyone offer hints and tips for playing on this level?
     
  2. salty mud

    salty mud Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4,944
    Location:
    die Schweiz
    I have recently done the same thing. I also have the same problems :lol:
     
  3. Bailz

    Bailz Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Scotland
    Haha, glad to know I'm not the only one! ;)
     
  4. civ freak

    civ freak Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Ha! same here too. Im always behind so i make alliances with my neighbors and attack a civilzation thats weak like me! :lol:
     
  5. Bailz

    Bailz Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Scotland
    I'm attempting what I assume to be 'chop-rushing' at the moment.

    My last idea was to get a few cities between AI cities and concentrate on Culture...going for revolts. It didn't work too good :lol:
     
  6. homeyg

    homeyg Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,618
    Well I don't know if I can offer any tips for making that jump because I was able to beat Noble easily from the beginning (must be from being really good at CivIII).
     
  7. Bailz

    Bailz Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Scotland
    Feel free to try :)
     
  8. homeyg

    homeyg Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,618
    Well are you expanding too quickly? That's the only thing I can think of right now that could get you behind in tech..

    As for the other part, just build more units to deter the others from declaring war.
     
  9. Bailz

    Bailz Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Scotland
    What you consider too quickly?

    I'm expanding quick enough to have around 4/5 cities by the time there's no more land to be had.

    I think not producing enough units could be causing the anhihilation :)
     
  10. necrolyte

    necrolyte Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    227
    The game gets really *****y at Monarch.
     
  11. Bailz

    Bailz Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Scotland
    I'll look forward to it :lol:
     
  12. Dagoril

    Dagoril Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    I think anytime you make that first jump to a new difficulty level, you are going to be out of your element and struggling.

    Try concentrating a little more on you military. Start a war with a nearby civ early (certainly before 1 AD, preferably earlier). Don't worry about wonders or buildings so much, just make sure you have a Granary and Barracks in your first few cities, and crank out an invasion force. A mix of Axemen and Swordsmen will do ok. Put a priority to researching Construction and getting catapults....though if you attack early enough you can take down a first rival civ without them.

    Make sure your workers are building plenty of Cottage improvements along with some farms. Cottages are what produce your commerce; commerce is what gets pumped through your science/gold slider to produce your research. A citizen must work the Cottage tile to get the benefit from it. The more it is worked, the bigger it grows, eventually into a Town, which will give you a LOT of extra commerce. A city surrounded by Towns that are all being worked will generate a huge amount of commerce for you (and therefore a huge amount of science research if your slider is set appropriately).
     
  13. saleg37

    saleg37 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    134
    I played maybe two warlord games before jumping to noble so not sure how much help I'd be but... Are you using cottages? Are you specializing a few citizens? Are you trying to start and early religion? I've found that every time I tried to start buddism or hinduism, I miss out AND fall way behing in techs. You don't need to go cottage crazy on noble, but you do need a lot of em. And citizen specialization can get you some pretty little people that do great things. This can really help your economy. I'd also suggest trying to get bronze working quick (not first tech but soon after). I'd say Pottery is real important to set up early.

    If anyone more experianced then me wishes to take over, go ahead.

    I'm recently trying to switch from noble to prince myself, so I'm having similar difficulties. The best advice I think I could give would be to check a few strategy articles, and keep on trying. The more games you get under your belt, the easier it will get. At least that helped me a little (I still suck on prince, but I'm getting better). Don't get too frustrated. And good luck.
     
  14. Bailz

    Bailz Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Scotland
    Should I be controlling my workers or is it still ok to be automating them?
     
  15. kristopherb

    kristopherb Protective/Charismatic

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,210
    Location:
    British Empire Soul:Tesco
    :) :) cool thead ive started on the one after noble im england eliz i have continent to myself im buiding redcoats for an overseas invadesoin 1 problem
    25% of my continent is covered i grow to slow please help


    i went on world builder and
    wiped out the mali bad idea
    i gave me 3 caravels
     
  16. Bailz

    Bailz Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Scotland
    My war against Persia was going well until Genghis Kahn decided to be a **** and start a war against me. It's all gone to pot again.
     
  17. homeyg

    homeyg Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,618
    It is never okay to automate workers! This is most likely the problem.

    Learn how to use the workers.
     
  18. Bailz

    Bailz Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Scotland
    I'll go sit in the corner :(



    :p
     
  19. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    Check the beginners' guide in my sig. It all still applies to Noble.
     
  20. BCLG100

    BCLG100 Music Master

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Messages:
    16,650
    Location:
    Lahndan

    it is ok to automate them when all they have to be doing is railroading, just make sure you check the 'leave forests' and 'dont detroy old improvements' option, mine are all automated if i reach the industrial age, with maybe 4/5 around for odd jobs.
     

Share This Page