1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Wars before WoI

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - General Discussions' started by Captain Pugwash, Oct 11, 2008.

  1. Captain Pugwash

    Captain Pugwash Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2001
    Messages:
    241
    Location:
    England
    I'm playing as Spanish. Those freaking English have built a city too close to mine and their borders are encroaching into my workable tiles. I'm getting mad now :mad:

    Anyone tried an early war against local deviants before the War of Independence ?
     
  2. Rockstone

    Rockstone Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Nijmegen, NL
    Yes, playing Dutch I defeated three English colonies. Worked out great, after a few turns of local dismay, it turns out that Jamestown (renamed to Jansdorp :) ) was in a great location - in fact my best town of all.

    Of course the English get a new colonist and refounded Jamestown (which is appearantly possible when you rename). The war is still ongoing obviously but a peace settlement is not that hard. Though watch out for the Incas (and perhaps a few others), they don't much like anyone growing fast too quickly (unless you can defent yourself adequately, this can become problematic).
     
  3. comtedemeighan

    comtedemeighan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    The other European AI's don't usually defend there cities so I usually just ruin one of them at least every game just to get them away from me. I usually send two soldier units and take all there cities and burn them to the ground. Im sure the patch will fix this...
     
  4. Refar

    Refar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,608
    Sure. How are you supposed to train your troops for the WoI, if you dont squash a few fellow colonists first ?
    Get a few Veteran Soldiers (they got Leadership promo) and a Cannon or two.
    If you got the one spanish giving 50% cheaper promotion (I think it's San Martin, keep mising them up) you can get some really nicely promoted Soldiers out of this.
    Avoid taking promotions that will be granted for free by FF - if you plan on getting these FF.
     
  5. historix69

    historix69 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,241
    Military Experience before you declare Independence is quite helpfull to get promoted soldiers and eventually a Great General (-> Medic III) which will make start of WOI a lot easier for you ...

    Negative effect of war with european neighbours is that they may no longer be willing to trade with you ... so you may lose a market for goods which are under boycott in Europe.

    Historically seen this is wrongly implemented since all wars before declaration of independence are the wars of your King's Empire against the other European Empires, not your own wars ... the more wars before DoI, the more the european neighbours should try to help you to win independence to weaken your warlike motherland.
     
  6. Gliese 581

    Gliese 581 Your average civ junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,503
    Location:
    Sweden
    Use your inital soldier and carve out an empire with him. Works on any level.
     
  7. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    And in any speed and map size.
     
  8. player1 fanatic

    player1 fanatic Fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,637
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Also, you will have higher population, after conquering a few towns. Which means a bigger REF later.
     
  9. Refar

    Refar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,608
    It starts to annoy me how every thread here ultimately boils down to the size of the REF :vomit:

    Edit: No offense meant @Player1. Your remark is of course correct.
    I just dislike how apparently the whole game only has a single noteworthy feature. It's kind of waste of the huge potential. And boring too.
     
  10. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Refar, every thread resumes to REF size because the only way to win the game is to beat the REF ( ok you can win by time too if you enable it and disable Europe victory ;) ) :p .

    But I agree with you that as it is , it makes the game very unidirectional ( just not to call it a turn-based shoot-em-down ) and ultimately makes all the other features of the game ( I like the economical part a lot ) a waste of programming efforts.
     
  11. Refar

    Refar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,608
    Exactly. Beating the REF is needed to win the game. Might even be fun. The problem is it beeing tied to every game mechanic, making everything you do penalize you right away - ultimately reducing the available and usefull strategic options to a short list of cheesy exploits :(
     
  12. Gliese 581

    Gliese 581 Your average civ junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,503
    Location:
    Sweden
    Yes, this and the poor AI makes the game currently unplayable for me. Until it's either patched or modded so that REF is completely or almost completely independent of your actions and based mostly on difficulty level, opponents, map size game speed and such variables and so that the AI can defend itself.
    I think the game could be great if this is done carefully.
     

Share This Page