1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Wat bug fix seems to have backfired hilariously

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Bug Reports' started by Alzadar, Sep 8, 2013.

  1. Alzadar

    Alzadar Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    As many know there was a bug before where Siam could buy Universities with Jesuit Education, allowing them to have Wats and Universities.

    This was supposedly fixed in the previous patch, but it seems they took an interesting route to balancing this...:lol:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Glassmage

    Glassmage The Desert Flame

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,633
    Location:
    USA
    lol...... must be an intern
     
  3. ToodleElNoodos

    ToodleElNoodos Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    187
    Whoa...wait...WAT?!?!?
     
  4. parts

    parts Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    97
    I... don't get it. Is it that you're Poland, and thus shouldn't have wats at all? So BNW allows everyone to buy a wat? I don't often play with Jesuit Education, but I'm preeeeeetty sure that's not the case in my game, could be a bug maybe?

    Were you able to buy it in the end?
     
  5. blackcatatonic

    blackcatatonic Queen of Meme

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,423
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    UK
    Oooh, I must try this before it gets fixed (again) :lol:
     
  6. Gabriel Pyyrhic

    Gabriel Pyyrhic Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Australia
    Yes I am interested to know that too, my suspicion is no.

    @OP
    The WAT was greyed out, (I realise you lacked the faith) so it might just be listed but not actually available. I would be interested to have you confirm if you can buy this or not ?

    If you can confirm I might have a troll through the code and find the problem.

    Thanks in advance if you take the time to do it.
     
  7. kamex

    kamex Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    UK
    Wow, Firaxis must have an amazing QA department
     
  8. Gabriel Pyyrhic

    Gabriel Pyyrhic Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Australia
    Either that or the OP is playing cut n paste shenanigans.
     
  9. Meiz

    Meiz Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,172
    Location:
    Finland
    No, this bug definitely exists :)
     
  10. Jarlnian

    Jarlnian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    May I suggest that it may be due to the presence of Positive Test Cases (i.e. check that Siam can't buy Univerisites with faith) but lack of Negative ones (i.e. check any other civ does not have access to Wat).

    It does not have to be due to an "amazing" QA department but due to time restrictions. It's not uncommon in QA to be short in time and decisions have to be made about the coverage.

    Anyhow, back on OP. It seems like a nice bug I wouldn't mind to check for an early SV. Pacal, perhaps...
     
  11. Magma_Dragoon

    Magma_Dragoon Reploid

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,354
    QA did a fine job, humans almost never takes piety, so they thought we'd never see it :p
     
  12. Gabriel Pyyrhic

    Gabriel Pyyrhic Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Australia
    100% Agree. Emergent problems are a pain to find.
     
  13. Alzadar

    Alzadar Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    This is not an emergent problem, it's an obvious edge case. Siam needs to be able to buy Wats (and not Universities), and everyone else needs to be able to buy Universities (and not Wats). Two things to make sure of.

    In the end I was indeed able to buy the Wat:

    Spoiler :
     
  14. dennisdc

    dennisdc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    I witnessed the same in my recent game as Byzantium.. ask me if my science beakers were off the charts :D
     
  15. homegrown

    homegrown Missionary of Sorenism

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    203
    Location:
    Houston TX
    So we're marking this one "not fixed" ?
     
  16. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,641
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    The game is defenitly wrongfully handling the following code

    Code:
    	<Belief_BuildingClassFaithPurchase>
    		<Row>
    			<BeliefType>BELIEF_CATHEDRALS</BeliefType>
    			<BuildingClassType>BUILDINGCLASS_CATHEDRAL</BuildingClassType>
    		</Row>
    		<Row>
    			<BeliefType>BELIEF_MOSQUES</BeliefType>
    			<BuildingClassType>BUILDINGCLASS_MOSQUE</BuildingClassType>
    		</Row>
    		<Row>
    			<BeliefType>BELIEF_PAGODAS</BeliefType>
    			<BuildingClassType>BUILDINGCLASS_PAGODA</BuildingClassType>
    		</Row>
    		<Row>
    			<BeliefType>BELIEF_MONASTERIES</BeliefType>
    			<BuildingClassType>BUILDINGCLASS_MONASTERY</BuildingClassType>
    		</Row>
    		<Row>
    			<BeliefType>BELIEF_JESUIT_EDUCATION</BeliefType>
    			<BuildingClassType>BUILDINGCLASS_UNIVERSITY</BuildingClassType>
    		</Row>
    		<Row>
    			<BeliefType>BELIEF_JESUIT_EDUCATION</BeliefType>
    			<BuildingClassType>BUILDINGCLASS_PUBLIC_SCHOOL</BuildingClassType>
    		</Row>
    		<Row>
    			<BeliefType>BELIEF_JESUIT_EDUCATION</BeliefType>
    			<BuildingClassType>BUILDINGCLASS_LABORATORY</BuildingClassType>
    		</Row>
    	</Belief_BuildingClassFaithPurchase>
    
    This is defeniately hilarious, I can't wait to see the Fall patch's fix for this and what they'll say in the patch notes for this.
     
  17. dshirk

    dshirk Firaxian

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    879
    Would love a save to send over to Ed if you have one handy. :)
     
  18. Gabriel Pyyrhic

    Gabriel Pyyrhic Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Australia
    I used the term incorrectly here, I actually meant problems that are only found by QA by exploring deep into the game (and using a very specific part of the game).

    I had just come from a different thread where I was talking about an emergent AI problem and my brain must have decided it could not be bothered to find the correct term :)

    So MY FAULT, should have characterised the situation better.

    Thankyou for letting me know, I will have a look through the code now and try and find the offending bit. Apologies if you drew any offense from my suggestion of "cut n paste", but unfortunately people can an do claim anything on forums.

    Anyway good pickup, thanks for the info.
     
  19. Gabriel Pyyrhic

    Gabriel Pyyrhic Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Australia
    That's only the XML and it does not imply anything about the code really. Unless I am missing something fundamental here ? Why does this XML actually imply code that is working improperly ?

    Not trying to be contentious, just trying to understand you point.

    NOTE : These list building class's. Not 100% sure but a WAT may well be a member of the Building Class University ?
     
  20. Kennan

    Kennan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Sweden
    Is this as abusive as it sounds?
    Can you field a total 6 scientists?
    Do you get +4 beakers from jungle with both Uni and Wat?
    Do you get the % extra beakers from both buildings?
    Does both buildings get buffed by Free Thought?

    I can imagine angry comments about this in MP...
     

Share This Page