Water Mill problem

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by kurnis, Aug 9, 2021.

  1. kurnis

    kurnis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    I have a water mill, and when I go to build a farm on Maize it says I'll get +2 food on the tile...

    But then I build the farm and the tile went from 2 food to 3 food. And it is on the river.

    What gives???

    thanks
     
  2. Aurelesk

    Aurelesk Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2017
    Messages:
    446
    Gender:
    Male
    The wording of the Water Mill is weird. It says: "Bonus resources improved by Farms gain +1 Food each." But you need to read it as: "Farmable resources gain +1 Food" and not "Farmable resources improved by Farms gain +1 Food"

    In short: your Maize is already enjoying the +1 Food from the Water Mill. I assume you have a flat Plain Maize, which is 1 Food, 1 Production and 2 Gold. With the Water Mill: 2 Food, 1 Production and 2 Gold. And with the Farm: 3 Food, 1 Production and 2 Gold.

    Contrary to Rice and Wheat, Maize yields 2 Gold instead of 1 Food (and the harvest gives Gold instead of Food). That's why you will feel a little short on Food even if you do have a lot of Farmed Maize.
     
    Vargas1, nzcamel, Kjimmet and 4 others like this.
  3. aieeegrunt

    aieeegrunt King

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    Messages:
    780
    Gender:
    Male
    Wait what?

    Golden ears of corn are not literally gold.
     
    kurnis likes this.
  4. pokiehl

    pokiehl Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1,525
    Maize giving Food would be stupid from a gameplay perspective. There’s already Rice and Wheat that do that. Maize has spawning overlap with them so it makes perfect sense for it to give Gold.
     
  5. PSG

    PSG Warlord

    Joined:
    May 6, 2021
    Messages:
    102
    Gender:
    Male
    Access to fish should give bonus production to maize.
     
    kurnis likes this.
  6. Boris Gudenuf

    Boris Gudenuf Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4,322
    Location:
    north of Steilacoom, WA
    It's not that specific: the use of 'trash fish' as fertilizer for all kinds of crops was known in coastal Europe long before the New England natives supposedly showed it to anybody.

    What Maize should give is a bonus to Cattle, Sheep or Horses because of its widespread use as Domestic Animal Feed. Later, in fthe Post-Industrial Eras Corn Oil and corn sugars have become a major Production raw material and one of the several vegetable raw materials for Biofuels.
    BUT the game making it less of a Food source than Wheat or Rice is simply wrong. It is estimated that the maize-based 'Three Sisters' agriculture system of the Iroquois produced up to 6 Times the caloric value per acre of the European colonists' fields planted in wheat.
    But in this case, gameplay trumps realism: the game didn't need another Food source on the same types of tiles . . .
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2021
  7. kurnis

    kurnis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    THANK YOU for explaining that. I thought I was taking crazy pills! <3
     
  8. UWHabs

    UWHabs Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4,807
    Location:
    Toronto
    The other part of this is more or less a bug as well, where the builder action preview ends up counting what's on the tile from other sources, not just what you actually build. So if you have a desert hill in a city with Petra, it will say that the mine gives "+2 food, +3 production, +2 gold" for example, despite you already seeing most of that on the tile and the mine actually only gives a couple production. So that's why the builder will show "+2 food" on the preview for the farm, because +1 of that has already been applied to the tile from the water mill.
     
    Scrum Lord, evahappy, Kjimmet and 3 others like this.
  9. nzcamel

    nzcamel Nahtanoj the Magnificent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,119
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    This does my head in :hammer2:
     
    PiR likes this.
  10. PiR

    PiR Emperor Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,197
    Gender:
    Male
    not intuitive indeed!
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  11. Vargas1

    Vargas1 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Messages:
    420
    Gender:
    Male
    I have comfortably over 1000 hours in this game, and yet I literally did not realize until this post that water mills gave a bonus to all resources, not just ones with farms on them already. Not sure it makes a dramatic difference to my gameplay (I usually build water mills everywhere I can anyway), but very nice to know!
     
    Kjimmet, nzcamel and PiR like this.
  12. HiRezAudio

    HiRezAudio Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    444
    Er, no it doesn't.
    Maize is (how shall I put this?) food, not money.
    I have long wondered why we do not have Gold as a resource in Civ6.........
     
  13. pokiehl

    pokiehl Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1,525
    Other food-based resources give gold as a yield, so there’s no need for you to be snarky with me (Cocoa, Truffles).

    …The yields, like nearly everything else in the game, are abstractions. Game balance is far more paramount than being as literal as possible with everything.
     
    Tech Osen, nzcamel and PiR like this.
  14. PiR

    PiR Emperor Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,197
    Gender:
    Male
    Plus that was more than food for some people who even called themselves "Maya" after it and used it sometimes as a currency, iirc.
     
    pokiehl likes this.
  15. nzcamel

    nzcamel Nahtanoj the Magnificent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,119
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    I think for the simple reason that gold is the currency of the game. Civ 6 has been more willing to confuse people in inconsequential things like the introductions you see to some leaders, who lay claim to lands not directly associated with their Civ, at least in the minds of your average gamer, with their empire. But even with that, the currency is more consequential, and so I think they have gone for KISS (keep it simple stupid), and run with gold only being one thing in the game, not two things.
     
    PiR likes this.
  16. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,672
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    Actually, Gold was a common resource in previous game interations, technically speaking, there is "gold", if you have Australia DLC, as the Scenario uses a Gold Resoucre.
     
    PiR likes this.
  17. nzcamel

    nzcamel Nahtanoj the Magnificent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,119
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Ummm ackshully :mischief: I am aware that gold has been a resource in previous versions of the game, and I am also aware that the Australian DLC scenario has it as a resource. Neither of which negate my reasoning for why I think they have it only as currency in the main game.
     
    PiR likes this.

Share This Page