Water Mod 2.0

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by Nitram15, Aug 31, 2011.

  1. Nitram15

    Nitram15 Pro Libertate!

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,855
    Location:
    Hungary
    Hello back! I know I promised that long ago, so here it is
    Water Mod 2.0!

    Now, the water graphics are completely redone again, I also redone the color of the rivers, and the coastline. Also, the waves' texture changed.

    But let my work tell more than me:


    Isle of Man as first example:


    And the good ol' Great Britain:


    The Carpathian Basin (river texture example):



    And you can download it here:
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=17560

    Also, a member here called AFS altered my graphics a bit, if you feel you need it, you can download it here:
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=326760&d=1342820705


    Enjoy, as always!:)
     
  2. AFS

    AFS Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Chile
    I already tested it, works fine. The ocean looks AWESOME.

    Good job.


    EDIT:

    After playing around I've noticed something. Some textures don't show up when the grid is off. Check the screenshots.

    Spoiler :




    The "beach" textures are missing, as well as the ocean ones. I don't know if it happens just to me . Can you please check if it happens to you as well?

    Anyway, I insist that it looks AWESOME, like in Colonization. Thanks :goodjob:
     
  3. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Would it be possible to add another variant for those who use the deep sea mod by Kathy? It adds a deep ocean in addition to the usual coast and ocean terrains.
     
  4. Nitram15

    Nitram15 Pro Libertate!

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,855
    Location:
    Hungary
    @AFS: I was tired, and maybe I missed them. I'll check that out. Thanks for testing&playing it! I'll upload the new immediately after done.

    @Dancing Hoskuld: I can't really get what are you speaking about. Sure, I can make it I think, but can you bring me a link to that deep sea mod? If I know what are you speaking about, I can help. ;)
     
  5. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Link to Kathy's deep see mod.
     
  6. AFS

    AFS Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Chile
    Thanks. I'm really looking forward to it.

    I usually play with the grid off, so it's very ankward that both the coastal and ocean tiles look the same. No biggie, though, still looks awesome :lol:
     
  7. Nitram15

    Nitram15 Pro Libertate!

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,855
    Location:
    Hungary
    I'll make a them a 'bit' different, so you can see if it is ocean or coastal tile, but I have no time to this right now. In weekend I may able to finish this. :)
     
  8. Cybah

    Cybah Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,481
    any news on this?
     
  9. Nitram15

    Nitram15 Pro Libertate!

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,855
    Location:
    Hungary
    Ah, not yet. I don't think there will be any more news, but if so, I'll post it here. ;)
     
  10. Cybah

    Cybah Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,481
    And what about AFS's problem?
     
  11. Nitram15

    Nitram15 Pro Libertate!

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,855
    Location:
    Hungary
    I worked on that for many days, but I forgot that after a while.
     
  12. tesb

    tesb Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,593
    you might also want to use actual dtx compression. currently you use 32bit dds texture, i.e. next to no compression at all. i suggest you to use dxt5 if you have an alpha layer and dxt1 for textures without.
     
  13. AFS

    AFS Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Chile
    Wait, so I'm not the only one with the texture problem?

    I would try to help solve it, but I don't know anything about modding. :sad:

    The only thing that comes to my mind is to replace the grid texture (if there is any) with a blank texture, and then activate the invisible grid in-game to see the missing textures. I don't know how that would work, though.
     
  14. Nitram15

    Nitram15 Pro Libertate!

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,855
    Location:
    Hungary
    Interesting idea, i'll take a look at that. :)
     
  15. AFS

    AFS Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Chile
    Thanks :).

    I insist, though: it's not a big deal. Besides, I bet that most players play with the grid on: I don't think that expending much time trying to fix it would worth it, so don't bother. I won't die for playing with the grid :lol:
     
  16. Nitram15

    Nitram15 Pro Libertate!

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,855
    Location:
    Hungary
    I always play without grid, so this can be the problem why i always forget that.
     
  17. AFS

    AFS Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Chile
    Wow, 9 months have passed. Time flies.

    Anyway, finally I have some free time (I have been busy with college) and after getting used to some modding tools, I think I fixed the grid problem.

    I'm too lazy to post screenshots. Anyway, I attached the "fixed" file. (As usual, paste it on My Documents folder).

    Now the "beach" textures and the ocean textures can be seen with or without the grid (see screenshots above) as it should have been. However, there's a little detail: with the grid off, the ocean looks with a dark green tone, but with the grid on, it looks with a dark blue tone. I think I know how to fix it, but that requires image editing and I suck at that. Besides, I don't know which tone is the "correct" one, so I decided to leave that thing alone.

    Many thanks again for the mod, the ocean looks very sexy. Now I have a reason to explore the seas with my carabel manually instead of just using auto explore :goodjob:

    Cheers!
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Nitram15

    Nitram15 Pro Libertate!

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,855
    Location:
    Hungary
    Wow, that's great! I've abandoned this for a long time now, and I won't participate in any future improvements (I didn't stop modding, I just mod for myself though). However, since your fix seems to be good, I'll mention it in the first post, so it could be find more easily.
     
  19. AFS

    AFS Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Chile
    That was a quick fix, though, because the ocean still changes colors when the grid is off/on.

    I am making a more blue version of your mod, just for personal uses, but I may post it only if you don't mind. That way there will be two different colors (or maybe more in a future) for people to choose. What do you say?

    Some screenshots for comparison:

    Spoiler :
     
  20. Nitram15

    Nitram15 Pro Libertate!

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,855
    Location:
    Hungary
    Yes, it seems less greenish, which makes it more natural, i guess.
     

Share This Page