1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Ways to check historical settlement?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by notger, Aug 17, 2007.

  1. notger

    notger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    I am wondering if there is a way to check out wether a certain area in RFC is seen as your historical expansion, or not.

    1. How is the penalty on settling in the wrong places working?
    2. How are wrong places designated in-game?
    3. Where can I get info (map/code-file) on the definition of the "historical areas" in-game?

    I know about the historical expansion of most of the european empires, but I want to know how realistically this is reflected in RFC. Can anyone please enlighten me?
     
  2. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,561
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    The aim of this mod is to make you resume your history books from school and check all maps and infos there. If you sold them, well too bad, you'll never win RFC !
     
  3. notger

    notger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Thank you for your very constructive post. As I wrote in the original post, I do not want to know about the historical borders, because that is easy and I already know them (paragraph).

    My question is about understanding the mechanics of the game. And it is not about winning, either. Could it be that you are a little upset because of my reply to your post in the other thread?

    Actually, I am just interested in the answers to my questions (confer original post).
     
  4. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,561
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    nope, I didn't even notice it was. I was just joking since I have no idea how to answer your question, although I would enjoy an answer myself. Sorry about my joke, I didn't consider the sense of humor when I wrote it.
     
  5. notger

    notger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Ah, ok. Maybe I had too much coffee. Coffee makes paranoid.

    And still, there is no one around who can/will answer that? I mean, the guide says I should confine to historical expansion and yet no one is able to tell me how I know wether it is historical, or not. Strange.
     
  6. LuKo

    LuKo The Royal Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,500
    Location:
    Poland
    It's one of Rhyes secrets :p
     
  7. notger

    notger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    And it is even so secret that Rhye does not tell me this? ;)

    Thanks for your answer. At least, now I can stop looking for the answer on this forum and settle at will near the historical areas. Sometimes a "no one knows" also counts as an answer. :)
     
  8. Vishaing

    Vishaing The Son

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    347
    "He who wishes to keep a secret must keep it a secret that he hath the secret to keep."
    -Francis Bacon

    On a more constructive note, I'm going to vote for Proposal C: "No One Knows"
     
  9. Subliminal_One

    Subliminal_One Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    this is a good check i think... if the name of the city you found or conquer is (or switches to) a historic name in your given civilization's language you're probably good to go... however, paris will stay paris if you conquer it as the germans...
     
  10. Rex rgis of Ter

    Rex rgis of Ter Me I'm a Creator

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,331
    Location:
    Erebus
     
  11. Whitefire

    Whitefire Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,178
    Yup. I was going to make a bunch of spiffy maps outlining the areas, but Rhye told me that I was not allowed to. Your best bet is to pull out an atlas.
     
  12. notger

    notger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Oh, now I see. Strange ways are the ways of the modders.
     
  13. Lord Apolon

    Lord Apolon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Check the Atlas thread. The dynamic maps in there have some of what you want, I think.
     
  14. Whitefire

    Whitefire Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,178
    Those are out of date.
     

Share This Page