1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

We need artillery

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Tomoyo, May 24, 2004.

  1. Tomoyo

    Tomoyo Fate

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    9,698
    Location:
    Boston, Mass
    You know how the Military advisor says "We can support a larger military. Let's build Paratrooper?"

    I think that is based on what kind of units you are lacking.

    However, in a recent game, my military consisted of mostly workers, artillery, planes, and ships. When I went to the military advisor, he said that I should build more artillery!!! When I had only three defensive troops! :eek:
    Anyone else see this happen? The Military Advisor kinda got smart! :crazyeye:
     
  2. rychan

    rychan CS geek

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Never had him suggest that. Is this linked to the default city production item that you have to switch from every time your city builds something (unless you instruct the governer otherwise). Because after flight is discovered, they always want to build flak/mobile sam. But I've never had the military advisor tell me to build mobile Sam.
     
  3. Tomoyo

    Tomoyo Fate

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    9,698
    Location:
    Boston, Mass
    I have "Always produce previously produced unit" on, and most of my cities are producing planes.
     
  4. Binnor

    Binnor High Prince

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Great Southern Land
    The worst advice I've ever got from the military advisor was that 'the best unit the english have is the worker' (this was in the middle of the industrial age when the english had tanks running around on my border).
     
  5. toh6wy

    toh6wy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,403
    Location:
    Omnipresent
    First of all, what the guy says is "The best unit the English have - that we know of - is the Worker." Therefore, what he's telling you is that you have seen no English unit more powerful than a worker.
    Second of all, it's the foreign advisor that says this, not the military advisor. :p
     
  6. binyo66

    binyo66 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    820
    Location:
    Indonesia
    I never get that, and I always play "Always produce previously produced unit" on. But it might be because advace flight (?) barely search by me.
     
  7. Shirastro

    Shirastro The ruler of the Gnomes

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    499
    Same for me.
    My military advisor always tells me to build more *put your best offensive unit here*
    Even if ihave zilions of modern armors (wich never happend ;) ) he will tell me to build more.
     
  8. Tomoyo

    Tomoyo Fate

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    9,698
    Location:
    Boston, Mass
    He didn't actually say to build paratrooper. He wanted artillery.
     
  9. KaNick

    KaNick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2002
    Messages:
    2,704
    Location:
    Kapolei, HI
    The military advisor allways tells me to build the strongest attacker at the time. Maybe this is because I always have a habit of making a lot of deffenders.
     
  10. WackenOpenAir

    WackenOpenAir Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,155
    Location:
    Eindhoven, the Netherlands
    I think you should not pay attention to the advisor :)
     

Share This Page