[We the People] Bug reporting

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - We The People' started by Nightinggale, Sep 24, 2018.

  1. StMikael

    StMikael Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Prussia
    Hmm ... I encounter a recurrent crash on the same turn in my current game. It happens every time I end the turn, right before my next turn starts. I made a dump file. Including both files here.

    NB! I had to exhange the file name from DMP to TXT, otherwise I couldn't upload it.

    I'm using WTP 3.0.1, btw. No modmods.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. devolution

    devolution Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    516
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    Will have a look at it when I get the opportunity
     
  3. devolution

    devolution Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    516
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    Yet another instance of the divide by 0 bug (CvUnitAI::AI_unloadWhereNeeded). See https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/we-the-people-bug-reporting.636760/page-57#post-16215321

    Already fixed in 3.0.2
     
    StMikael likes this.
  4. StMikael

    StMikael Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Prussia
  5. sandro ritter

    sandro ritter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    hi could you explain that to me in detail please? i have no clue what i need to download there and what it means to "compile a new DLL"

    a play arround and managed to get the whole code of it, now i need to make it to a dll right? i installed visual studio but dont know how to use it properly :(

    damn i hope they release 3.0.2 soon, cause 3.0.1 is unplayable with this CTD, all games end with this annoying problem
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2022
  6. devolution

    devolution Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    516
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    I've attached a build from the Release_candidate_3.0.2 branch (commit eb78a58 which is the last commit to the branch from about a week ago)

    Please try it and see if it works. The issue is that there *may* have been other changes to the xml as well , if this is the case then it will not be enough to distribute only the dll. (we'd have to provide all the changed data files as well)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 19, 2022
    Kendon and StMikael like this.
  7. StMikael

    StMikael Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Prussia
    I'm happy to report that it fixed the CTD. I've so far encountered one bug, though. The names of the citizens on the city screen are incorrect. See the attached screenshot.
    Spoiler :

    Col - No citizen name.png
     
  8. sandro ritter

    sandro ritter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Hi, thank you for that.. so far it fixed the CTD issue, will undergo long time test.. but like stated above, inside citíes, the profession description is missing, out of city all fine with that.

    Unbenannt.jpg

    i can live with that instead of breaking CTDs ;)
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2022
  9. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8,505
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    @devolution:
    That already happened before when just the DLL of 3.02 was shipped without according XMLs.
    (In Plains everything is correct and in Release 3.02 it should be as well once it is shipped with all XMLs.)

    @sandro ritter
    Once the full Release 3.02 will be published this issue should not exist anymore.
    Since you have an incomplete release with files missing there is absolutely no point in reporting text bugs.
    So please have a bit of patience with such minor issues until the Release 3.02 is finally published.

    --------

    Summary:
    This is nothing to fix in the mod. It is just a matter of properly publishing a complete consistent release.
    (It is definitely correct in "Plains" and should also be already correct in Release 3.02 itself.)

    Edit:
    If you want to fix this minor bug yourself and do not want to wait, simply copy these 2 entries into CIV4GameText_WTP_utf8.xml.
    (For all other text bugs that may occur please have a bit of patience until the release.)

    Spoiler :

    Code:
        <TEXT>
            <Tag>TXT_KEY_CITIZEN_HELP_PROFESSION_NAME_DISPLAY</Tag>
            <English>[COLOR_UNIT_TEXT]%s1_Profession_Name[COLOR_REVERT]</English>
            <German>[COLOR_UNIT_TEXT]%s1_Profession_Name[COLOR_REVERT]</German>
        </TEXT>
        <TEXT>
            <Tag>TXT_KEY_CITIZEN_HELP_UNIT_NAME_DISPLAY</Tag>
            <English>[COLOR_UNIT_TEXT]%s1_Unit_Name[COLOR_REVERT]</English>
            <German>[COLOR_UNIT_TEXT]%s1_Unit_Name[COLOR_REVERT]</German>
        </TEXT>
    
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2022
    StMikael likes this.
  10. Derek Brown

    Derek Brown Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2020
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Maui, Hawaii
    Hello devolution, I just tried the new dll by replacing it in place of the old one in mods/WeThePeople-3.0.1/Assets folder. Still hangs up unfortunately. I runs through the native and other AI turns fine but once the REF unloads and attacks my town guard, it hangs up. Very minor note, but probably confirms what was stated above about the xml files needing to also change if I'm using the 3.0.2 dll, see the pop up window on this city screen.

    Also I noticed the bug thread now. So can delete my original post on this bug - I'll post any future ones on the pinned thread instead of starting new ones. I'll re-upload the savegame file here to close that separate discussion.

    Here's one thing that did allow me to get to the next turn, if this helps diagnose what happened. I moved the town guard out of the city, so no protection. The AI was able to invade my city without opposition and the AI turn went all the way through, allowing me now to play the next turn. I'll post any additional anomalies if they happen during the WOI.

    Very much appreciate the work the team does! :thumbsup:
     

    Attached Files:

  11. devolution

    devolution Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    516
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
    I'm not able to reproduce this issue from the attached save. Perhaps someone else could volunteer to try it out with the Release_candidate_3.0.2 build ?
     
  12. Kendon

    Kendon Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    Rocky Mountains
    I'm using CvGameCoreDLL.zip from your message on Sunday. I'm now continuing with two games that previously crashed in the mid-1600s. Your improvements have worked for me. Thank you very much.
     
    raystuttgart and devolution like this.

Share This Page