1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

We would have nothing to gain.

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by Outlandish, May 16, 2020.

1. Outlandish

Outlandish Chieftain

In my current game Zara will not be bribed vs Elizabeth. He will be bribed against Huayna and Ragnar. He shares a religion with none of them, is on his own island, and is not trading with her because I got an embargo in a trade deal. He is at cautious with all 3 of them.

The reason given is "We would have nothing to gain". They all would seem to have the same value in terms of being a target, and Elizabeth is by far the closest to him and he declared war against her earlier in the game. I'm assuming that the only possible reason then is military strength, and she is the point leader at the moment, but I am curious if I am missing something as I've definitely seen "We are afraid of their military might" before.

Zara built the AP for Judaism. Elizabeth founded Judaism but is running Hinduism which she also founded. She is annoyed with Zara, it seems unlikely he'd ever get her votes in the AP and she's founded 3 religions which would seem to make her the likeliest threat for a culture win so if he wants to win by culture or religion it also seems she should be a target.

2. Tobiyogi

Tobiyogi King

From my observation, nothing to gain comes either from "too far away" or "too strong". It is less of an ashaming statement than to admit "afraid of them". I would only suppose, if the ratio difference becomes too big, they might say "afraid of their strength" and if the ratio is closer, it's only "nothing to gain". The difference in military techs might also come into play.

3. Kid R

Kid R Emperor