1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Welcome New Members

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by ainwood, Oct 14, 2005.

  1. Badhands

    Badhands Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Darwin, N.T, Australia
    I called myself Badhands because thanks to my cerebral palsy quadriplegia I have hands that don’t work very well and feet and legs that are even less accommodating. My carer does the typing for me. I can only type with one finger so you can understand why my carer has to do all the dirty work regarding posting and anything else needed on sites.

    I joined CF site to learn from others how to create really good Civ Mods. And also to find out if there is anyway of putting all of my Civ games onto my hard drive. I would have all the games I play committed to hard drive, if I could. This would remove the need to have someone else put the disks in and out which increases the risk of the disks getting scratched. Or even if someone reassured me that my disk wouldn’t over heat if I kept it in my laptop indefinitely.

    I am thinking of getting a game consol so as to play Civ on that, but if I can get it onto my hard drive I wouldn’t need to. I’m thinking of getting a game consol to give my LP an extended rest. I am not sure if the games are making my LP run slower as computers are not designed specifically for games.

    I originally came in contact with Civilization on Play Station. I am 35, and have been playing Civ II for about six years. Civ IV came into my life about six months ago and have fallen in love with the graphics and have been playing it ever since.

    I tried to play Civ III, but Civ III has had a lot of problems on my computer, I keep getting the usual message of “Civ III has encountered a problem and needs to close”. Since I know nothing about computers I don’t know how to send the reports. Plus I access the internet through my carer’s laptop, but play on my own system. I am not into multiplayer games of any sort. With games like this I only like beating the computer. And the fact that I have never gotten pass the first level without using a cheat would suggest I am a pretty poor player. And that is regarding any version of Civilization.

    Look forward to hanging around the site and learning.
    Badhands.
    20-02-08
     
  2. Andraeson

    Andraeson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    I have been playing CIV 2 for some time and upon replacing a hard drive I now find that when I try to install the game I am told that I need indieo drivers and offers a web site. They want aproximately $18.00. Where oh where did the drivers go? Any suggestions short of ponying up the cash. The program works on my other computers can I copy drivers from there? Thanks!
     
  3. Aabraxan

    Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,106
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Welcome to CFC, one and all!

    Andraeson, there's a Civ 2 - Technical Support forum for questions like yours. Try nosing around there.
     
  4. sqcomp

    sqcomp Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Portland
    Dropping in to say hello. I've finally purchased a laptop...I'm wincing at the prospect of having Civ IV run correctly on it. I'll nose around to see where I might inquire as to the performance of my laptop and the reqs for the game.
     
  5. munam

    munam Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    nice to be finally in:goodjob:
     
  6. spidermikespick

    spidermikespick Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    i just made an acount a 10:44p.m. 2-21-08
     
  7. Sonic_boom

    Sonic_boom Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Singapore
    This is a great forum and i am proud to be part of it !
     
  8. AlexKing

    AlexKing Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Walsall, UK
    I hereby, on behalf of myself, welcome me to these forums.
    Thank you, me.
    Anyway, nice to see you all. I joined this forum because I absolutely love the Civ games (Civ 4 rocks!) and love talking, at great length, about things I like - like Civ (shock horror). And I have seen some of the mods, and they look 100% COOL.
    Oh, and I absolutely love Navy SEALS.
     
  9. Loki130

    Loki130 I remember when...

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    899
    Location:
    Over Here
    Hi all peoples! I own civ3conquests and have been downloading stuff for a while here-found a lot of good stuff. My interest is mostly in 20-21st century scenarios, so if you have a good one, inform me.
     
  10. os2fan2

    os2fan2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi

    I am a civ player from version 1 to 3, although i have civ4 on a diskette somewhere.

    W
     
  11. Ceredig

    Ceredig Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Been lurking and picking up tips here since Civ II, so today I decided to join!
     
  12. Gaius Ceaser

    Gaius Ceaser Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Hi, I'm Gaius Ceaser and I'm pretty new to the fourm
     
  13. haida1068

    haida1068 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Well been playing CIV since CIV 1 been loving every version. Look forward to hearing from folks
     
  14. fuhrer 1

    fuhrer 1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Welcome to CFC everyone
     
  15. QHRA

    QHRA Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I just joined. I joined because I have a question about CIV III. I want to know that 'conditions' or 'switches' need to be met to have pollution effect the world. Make land change to lesser usable land -- etc... I have a mod I developed that is a world that has been destroyed and is totally polluted. But, it does not know it is until way into the game. If I could find out the conditions the program wants to meet I could have the world meet these conditions at the beginning of the game.
     
  16. ilovestrategy

    ilovestrategy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Hi everyone!
    I started playing CIV II when it first came out and have been playing since.
    Boy is CIV IV different! I'm having a hard time getting used to it!
     
  17. Sir Matzee

    Sir Matzee Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    146
    hi
    how can i use a personal image for my avatar?
     
  18. Catharsis

    Catharsis catch u on the flip scythe

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    5,025
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Clinging onto underside of forum
    Sir Matzee: you have to have at least 30 posts, and you have to have been here for at least 30 days.
     
  19. Sir Matzee

    Sir Matzee Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    146
    thanks comrade
     
  20. WhiteEagle22

    WhiteEagle22 Avatar of Justice

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    899
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Welcome all of you to the forums!
     

Share This Page