1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Welcome to Rise of Mankind

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rise of Mankind' started by zappara, Sep 13, 2007.

  1. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    RoM doesn't work because it uses a custom DLL, which Aspyr did not provide support for with Mac's. Without access to Aspyr's code, you are SOL.
     
  2. Aldernablou

    Aldernablou Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    France
    Hi Chums !
    I know RoM is not playable on Mac-Computers ...So , I readed the settings options of RoM propose a choice of number UpT (unit per tile) : Can you explain how it's made , is it a specific programation , files modified ..? did you think it's an option realizable on Mac machines without install RoM ? Well , which is your secrecy ?
    Thanks a lot
    a Frenchyciveur
     
  3. shadowdrummer46

    shadowdrummer46 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Took a few days, but I finally was able to pry myself away from your mod.

    Simply Amazing.

    Thats the only way to put it. You compiled and created a list of mods that make Civ IV, an amazing game, into probably the best game I've ever played. I can't even start to describe how the mods improve the gameplay.

    Thank you for the time and effort putting this together and keep up the great work!

    (Sorry to gush so much.)
     
  4. tahu

    tahu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Ninove, Belgium
    Hello Zappara, I didn't know where else to post this so I posted it here.

    I wanted to ask you if you need a voice actor for the commentary lines when you have reached a new technology.
    I can can do that for you :)

    Tahu
     
  5. Arakhor

    Arakhor Dremora Courtier Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    31,306
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    I have a sexy, posh British voice (allegedly), so I can always help out too :)
     
  6. knight996

    knight996 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    :lol:I too have played Civ since the original and this MOD is fantastic!!!! I wonder if the Confederate States MOD was going to be added along with some of the other civ mods that were created for civilization 4. I have tried to add it myself but agree with the early posts that it would be easier to start over. Thanks even if not you are a true fan and I appreciate all the hard work you done! Thanks Again:king:
     
  7. AJealousGuy

    AJealousGuy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    I just downloaded RoM with AND and it is amazing! I'm wondering if I can add new leaders or civilizations. :confused:

    Sorry if this is in the wrong place.
     
  8. generalstaff

    generalstaff Steadfast

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,095
    Location:
    California
    Go to the Modmod's Subforum. There will be a sticky thread which lists various modules. In that thread should be a links to my Leaderhead Pack and strategyonly's added civilizations (he has an thread of his own if there is no link). The only incompatibility to date is that my Leaderhead Pack has Geronimo, who is also included in strategyonly's Apache civ; the simple solution is to delete the Geronimo I added.

    I also know that there is an AND module called "Clash of Civilizations," which I think adds new civilizations, but I have not seen its author in a while. I also do not know its compatibilities. I think its thread is in the AND subforum

    Finally, Zappara added a Mega Civ Pack, which is still somewhat playable, although it has yet to be updated, which mainly results in graphics issues. It has a thread in the Modmod's subforum, and I think a link in the above mentioned thread which contains a list of modules.
     
  9. fox456

    fox456 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Does anyone know if any thought has been given to a final update for the Mega Civ Pack to be compatible with RoM 3.0?
     
  10. zappara

    zappara Mod Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    Finland
    Yes, I intend to update it for v3.0
     
  11. fox456

    fox456 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Great! Thank you, zappara.
     
  12. Matoso

    Matoso Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Please, can anybody tell me how I can change the food consumption per population from 3 to 2 in Rise of Mankind: A new dawn, version 1.75b???
     
  13. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Assets\GlobalDefines look for Food per Pop define about 2/3rds to 3/4 or the way down the file. Change the 3 to a 2.

    Already answered this in Modpack forum. And 1.75b has a Patch C available.

    JosEPh
     
  14. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Sorry but no you didn't. You walked away.

    JosEPh
     
  15. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    I wish I had the skill set to do a v3.0. But it would be Without REV in it. Religions expanded with Limited and Choose Religions removed also. And so much more.

    But this is mostly a pipe dream of an old player. :old:

    JosEPh <sigh>
     
  16. dbkblk

    dbkblk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,781
    Location:
    France
    What do you miss exactly from A New Dawn? There are options that can be disabled, if I remember!?
     
  17. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    It's not A New Dawn that I miss. It's the Rise Of Mankind Mod, without A New Dawn modmod, that doesn't have the REV Option added in. Yes I know 2.92 and the earlier versions back to 2.0 all had the REV Option. But I don't/didn't use that Option and never will. Rise of Mankind with out REV was a very Good and Fun mod to play. There was not the tedium of the early game that still plagues AND (even in it current version, impo). Seemed balance was good and you could get to mid to late game with many AI still intact and giving you a run for your money.

    That is why I had Afforess add in Jungle Camps and Butchery to RoM 1.03 and still have my dropbox acct with it still available to anyone who wants to remember or taste what early Rise of Mankind was like.

    I even had a project started with Jtanner 28 and Isabelxxx that took RoM1.03 and added Karadoc's K-Mod v1.35 to make a hybrid called KROME. It made it to v0.85 with a patch but I don't have the skill set to continue it.

    I had a vision of a REV less RoM that was Fun to play and not ruled over and shaped by Deity plus players who ruin many a mod for the less "able" players. And REV ruins mods that make it the backbone of any mod. REV is an AI killer and a spammer of AI that are sick and weakened by it. Making them no real opponent anymore. But enough about REV.

    Base RoM is still an excellent and Fun mod to play, as long as you disable REV.

    JosEPh
     
  18. dbkblk

    dbkblk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,781
    Location:
    France
    But Revs is optional in AND! Don't worry, we will improve the AI!
     
  19. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    I know that! And this is the forum for Rise of Mankind, not for Rise of Mankind - A New Dawn.

    @dbkblk,
    I have been here since Rise of Mankind was introduced to BtS at v0.84. I've followed and contributed thru testing and feedback on Every version of RoM. I had at one time All of Afforess' A New Dawn Modmod versions that could be added to RoM. I even tested and gave feedback on them up till v1.74 (iirc) where I had a major disagreement over AND's goal. At that time I went to Strategyonly and started testing his RoM version that became the basis for Caveman2Cosmos. I've spent the last 5 + years with them and also came back to AND when Jtanner28 and then 45*38'N took over it. 45* asked me to become part of the AND team and I accepted back then in 2012/13. Up until April of 2013 I was very active with AND. But when I proposed and started a discussion over changing the Civics I got shot down and I became less active. I had stopped active testing and support for the mod last year and only recently have posted in the forum at all. I have a full and active history with both Rise of Mankind (Zappara's Mod) And A New Dawn (Afforess' modmod turned standalone Mod) as well as Caveman2Cosmos. I know what is going on in all of them, besides several other Mods on these CFC forums.

    I said all this just so you would know.

    JosEPh ;)
     
  20. dbkblk

    dbkblk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,781
    Location:
    France
    Ok. Thanks for the history lesson :) I knew that you had contributed to the mod, but didn't know that you had a disagreement.
     

Share This Page