1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Western Hemisphere map

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - General Discussions' started by dalgo, Oct 25, 2008.

  1. dalgo

    dalgo Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    I am currently playing a game on the Western Hemisphere (huge) map and am very impressed. It seems to be at least double the size of the huge custom maps and much closer to the size of the maps in the original game. It has taken me 150 turns to explore it.

    This game I settled in Brazil but next time I'd like to try somewhere different. Where have others settled on this map? I like the look of the Seattle/Vancouver area. There are good rivers there and plenty of fur, tobacco, cotton and ore availabe, possibly silver too. Your trading colony would only be one turn away from the sea lanes to Europe. You could get there in 20 turns by putting down your first colony at Panama. The main hassle I guess would be that every time you bought a new ship it would arrive off Brazil! I wonder if the King's men land there too. :)
     
  2. Raion

    Raion Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    78
    It takes two more turns to get to Europe from the left side of the map (two turns extra) than the right side of the map. One thing you will find out, is that it is a very very huge map. I think too huge, as I rather play the Standard Size map for that Scenario. Perhaps a large map will be added to that Scenario, with may seem better then at least to me.
     
  3. Bloink

    Bloink Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Could you post a link to the map please?
     
  4. dalgo

    dalgo Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    It comes installed with the game. Select 'Play a Scenario' from the Main Menu.
     
  5. dalgo

    dalgo Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    If you select Cabral he cuts the time in half so it's not too bad. I agree that it is a 'very very huge map' - which is just what I prefer.
     
  6. Refar

    Refar Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,608
    The map plays a lot better with Dales Patchmod ( not sure, maybe just patch is enought... Lost track what is where, since he split it up ). Otherwise you will allways start in Barzil and you will never be able to colonize anything else than Brazil, because the Europe zone will be 10 turns away from your coast.
     
  7. dalgo

    dalgo Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Thats why I was looking at the West Coast. It is only one turn to the sea lanes there.
     
  8. benfp

    benfp Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Paris
    You also can settle 12 turns by only moving your caravel NW. There is a nice Food rich location there (2 corns, 1 clams). You will be 12 turns away, but if you play Marathon, 12 turns is not that much.

    And North America provides prime quality Lumber w/ Forests unlike the ersatz provided by Jungle, that is.

    Also, the speed at which you develop your economy is affected by
    the speed at which you harvest & transform which is affected by
    the speed at which your harvest which is affected by
    the number of tile-working specialist you own which is affected by
    the number of colonists you can get
    HENCE
    One should first settle the food rich areas
    SO
    he will generate more colonists which in turn
    will generate more specialists by indian teaching which in turn
    will yield more raw products which together with city specialists
    will produce more transformed goods which when traded
    will produce more money which
    will let you buy more specialists & guns.
     
  9. Greybriar

    Greybriar Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    418
    I thought a few settlements in the Pacific Nortwest would be an interesting undertaking. So using the huge Western Hemisphere map and the Snoopy/Dale PatchMod I moved my caravel to the California coast and then set sail for Europe, where I picked up two immigrants to found my new colony.

    Unfortunately when my caravel returned to the New World, it arrived off the Atlantic coast instead. :confused:
     
  10. Refar

    Refar Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,608
    In some version of Dales there was a bug with the Sail East/Sail West functionality.
    I think it's fixed by now, so if you arent using the latest version, maybe you need to update.
     
  11. Greybriar

    Greybriar Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    418
    Thanks, Refar. It's good to know they fixed the problem.
     
  12. dalgo

    dalgo Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    I had a look where you said and yes that is a great location to build your first colony and its certainly not too far to travel (12 turns in a caravel is only 9 for the Dutch). However it is a very long way from the sea lanes to Europe and I prefer a quicker trip, preferably one turn.
     
  13. dalgo

    dalgo Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Ok I tried my idea of settling around the Seattle/Vancouver area (via Panama) but in the end it didn't work. In the original game if you colonised the West Coast the King's ships simply attacked from the Pacific. Unfortunately in this game they are stuck with the Atlantic (more realistic I expect, but annoying). After no action for 20 turns I went looking for them with Worldbuilder. They had landed in New England and proposed to walk across the continent. I guess I could have waited for them to arrive (and incidently continued safely trading with Europe in the meantime) but I didn't have the patience and anyway using Worldbuilder meant the game was a bust.

    However I guess this could be used as a viable strategy. Set your colonies up with the strongest defence facing inland and prepare to ambush the REF when it arrived. It would certainly be a different kind of game.

    Edit: I went back to this game and restarted it at the point I had declared independence. Now I knew where the REF would be coming from I sent out my scouts to sit on the mountain peaks to watch for them, and mobilised my pioneers to start a trans-continental highway. I also continued to trade with Europe. When the first of the REF appeared I sent out my dragoons to ambush them. The War was going well when until suddenly the King's MoW's appeared off my undefended colonies! They had navigated the NW passage. I scrambled to set up some kind of homeland defence and peeled off half my dragoons to rush home, but fortunately the ships had already offloaded their troops and contented themselves with bombarding and blockading my ports. I did win the game inside the time limit.
     
  14. Buligo

    Buligo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    OMG this is hilarious. To lose the game without firing one single shot! 500+ horny guys with guns running through the jungle and doing nothing until the timer expires :goodjob:
     
  15. scottfreitas

    scottfreitas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Dalgo: lighten up. So what if you used the Worldbuilder to confirm that the REF actually existed? Big deal. A looser criteria would enable you to have more fun. Jees, I've used Worldbuilder 100 turns into a game to add new Native villages, and other stuff like that. It's just a quick detour into God Mode to spice things up a little. Add more variety. Try letting your imagination run free more... :cowboy:

    Oh, and also: if you had all the Native tribes go to war with the REF--from the point they landed clear to where your colonies were--and all those Natives had guns and horses, you'd probably see a lot less REF make it through to you alive...
     
  16. dalgo

    dalgo Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    heh heh, point taken. I was just so annoyed I'd got my planning all wrong. I had my defences facing the pacific and they blindsided me. Next time I try that tactic I'll know that I can declare much earlier, feezing both the REF and tax rate at low levels while I continue to trade safely with Europe and build up my forces. And you are right, a defence alliance with the local tribe would make their march across the continent uncomfortable, to say the least..

    It is only early days yet and I am still learning this game.
     
  17. Buligo

    Buligo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    I would go light with inciting the Native tribes to attack my 'king'.
    In my current game (western hemisphere, normal) i settled in South America. There were 3 tribes there, of which i had to annihilate the smallest one (thew were incited by my enemy, the French to attack me rather early in the game). So, i was forced to kill the tribe AND the French, who eventually settled the Yucatan region somewhat later (that fact was discovered by my valiant Privateers preying on French shipping :D )

    Well, both MonteZuma and Sitting Bull were big fans of the English Colonies, because i traded them everything i could (darn killing taxes!), so we had like +10 relations, and, when i declared, i asked them both to join my WOI. It took them some time, but at the end, there were like 50+ 'armed braves' with guns and horses attacking the dreadded REF. Well, the REF managed to occupy for some time one of my secondary Ports, just sittig there waiting for me to deal with the main invasion force and coming to hammer them in there, in their little fenced deathtraps.But hey: the Natives gathered, attacked the King's troops, broke in the city and razed it flat. No more city! Boo. I've never seen the REF raze my city (maybe i need to play some more games to experience that), but the Natives seem to be pre-programmed to slash and burn any place they manage to conquer, which may be historically correct, but still weird :)
     

Share This Page