Westeros Base Map

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Custom maps' started by aimlessgun, Oct 18, 2010.

  1. aimlessgun

    aimlessgun King

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    782
    Hopefully many of you are familiar with A Song of Ice and Fire. If you're not, go read one of the most amazing pieces of literature in the last 10 years.

    The Map
    This is a base map of the Westeros continent. By which I mean, the resources and start locations are randomized, with the terrain/features placed by myself.

    Download/install
    Map is available via ingame mod menu, named Westeros Base Map (v3)

    Details

    Artistic license has been taken since the maps in the books are quite minimal. I have placed forest and hills lightly in some places where not indicated by GRRM's maps, in the interest of playability (wanted to avoid vast sections of land without any hammer tiles). The map is also stretched East to West a little, to allow for some more feature definition and because Westeros is incredibly tall and thin, which the map dimensions available in Worldbuilder cannot support.

    Map is 80x80, though the actual landmass fits in a rectangle 37x80. Recommend 8-12 civs.

    Some screens:

    Spoiler :


    Dorne

    Spoiler :

    Riverlands/Vale

    Spoiler :

    Some of the North


    Suggestions/improvements/disagreements welcome.
     
  2. Dark_Jedi06

    Dark_Jedi06 "Deus ex Machina."

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,399
    Gender:
    Male
    Seems I was beaten to the bunch, as I was planning on make a Westeros map myself. :D

    Is this part of a larger mod in the works (hopefully)? I'm not sure what the current dimensions are, but I think it would be possible with a huge map to add in Braavos, the Lands of the Summer Sea, etc.

    Edit: This is by far one of the best iterations of Westeros if you're interested.
     
  3. aimlessgun

    aimlessgun King

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    782
    Man that is a nice map in the link.

    I believe you could add Braavos etc. Would obviously have to unstretch Westeros. I actually don't know how (or is it possible?) to copy paste parts of maps in worldbuilder though...Anyways unless there are some official maps that I'm not aware of, it would be highly speculative right?

    I have a lot of random ideas for a ASoIaF mod, such as some serious delving into city states to convert them into bannermen, which are your main source of military etc and somehow capturing the whole feudal system, but alas I lack programming skills, so I doubt I'll have time to teach myself :/
     
  4. six blade knife

    six blade knife Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    paris, france
    I'm now playing with is map and I just find it awesome !
    thanks for the good work aimlessgun ! :goodjob:

    I read all the books of RR Martin yet available in france and it's a pleasure fighting and expanding all over westeros :woohoo:
     
  5. aimlessgun

    aimlessgun King

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    782
    Great to hear, thanks :D
     
  6. six blade knife

    six blade knife Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    paris, france
    this would be great too !
     
  7. ljofthemm

    ljofthemm Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Hello All,

    I haven't created my own mods/scenarios since Civ 2... So I have decided to bite off more than I can chew. I really want to create a Song of Ice and Fire scenario, but to make it as it deserves to be made, I will need some help from some experienced modders. If anyone is interested, send me a message either here or on steam (ljofthemm1111).
     
  8. Darkglasses

    Darkglasses Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    So I haven't been playing Civ 5 for too long and wanted to check out what available mod maps there are. I found this Westeros map and as far as I can tell I have downloaded it using the ingame mod menu. Now I can't figure out how to actually play this map.

    Can anyone help?
     
  9. gulger99

    gulger99 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Probably b/c of upgrades over the last year, the westeros map doesn't work. I found one from the song of fire and ice scenario and might take a swipe at making it work decently.
     
  10. DefoesRightBoot

    DefoesRightBoot Former Daimyo x3...

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    201
  11. Thomas Ash

    Thomas Ash Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Direct download link for Macs?
     
  12. BehindYou

    BehindYou Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    image is broken

    says "discover imageshack"

    links to page with a video about imageshack
     

Share This Page