1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

What a Long Strange Trip It's Been (Nostlgia)

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Brota, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. Johnny Be

    Johnny Be Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Lisbon - Portugal
    You kids... ;)

    My Civ1 pc was a 286 @ 12.5 mhz, 1mb mem, 20 mb Hd. 1x 3.5 floppy & 1x5.25 floppy
     
  2. gunter

    gunter King

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    790
    Civ 1, the best one, ....... and pretty much all the titles except Colonization. Pretty much each SID title since '80.

    I also appreciated Alpha Centauri.
     
  3. yanner39

    yanner39 Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    I'm a Civ newbie. I just found out about Civ maybe a year and a half ago. So me, it's:

    Civ 4 Vanilla
    Civ 4 BTS
    Civ 4 Col.

    I have some mixed emotions with Civ 5 coming out as I feel I didn't master Civ 4 the way I wanted to. I pretty much dominate Monarch level.

    I will switch to Civ 5 and try and master the game, although I will play a few Civ 4 games as well.
     
  4. Robovski

    Robovski Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Scotland
    Geez, I would have been playing it on my C64 if it would have run, I was still playing Pools of Radiance on it. It was a rougher time - we do well with our gripes about digital distribution nowadays. At least I'm not wasting 30 minutes loading a tape only to find something didn't load right or typing in pages of code you can't save anymore or having to swap between 5.25 disks (I think Darklands had 14 disks, but that was PC). Me and my 300 baud modem and a massive phone bill and a C64, that was my 80s teendom before Civ.
    I played Civ1 at a friends house until 5am and only left when he gave me a set of disks with the (dos version) game. Spies could flip cities with cash and was my favorite way to win the game, glitching rails across the sea.
     
  5. gunter

    gunter King

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    790
    Am I wrong or this thread is plenty of grannies :lol:
     
  6. TylerD

    TylerD Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    U.K.
    Civ I on the Amiga. Fast forward about 12 years, a burst of nostalgia hit and I downloaded Civ III. Haven't looked back since then.

    So:

    Civ I
    Civ III
    Civ IV, Warlords & BTS
     
  7. Vexus

    Vexus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Basel, Switzerland
    Eh? What was that? (adjusts hearing aid) . . . Want to say that again sonny?
     
  8. Akar

    Akar Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Civ3 + All expansions. First game ive ever played
    Civ4+ All expansions
    Civ4 Col
    Civ5 (soon)
     
  9. Robovski

    Robovski Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Scotland
    You've got one of them new-fangled hearing whatchmabobs? I still have my ear trumpet - it's a 100% fidelity lossless technology.
     
  10. gunter

    gunter King

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    790
    yeeeeep " grannies " I told you Ms. Daisy !

    We are still surfacing the wave my friends !! ...just let me adjust my catheter, I'll back within 5 mins
     
  11. Snoopy

    Snoopy Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    522
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Same as Dale, plus CivNet :p

    Which is weird because I'm not a heavy player, I seem to be more interested in the modding side of it, CivII opened that world to me. :D
     
  12. Paragon

    Paragon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Denmark
    Those are some of my greatest memories (might be sad, I don't mind hehe). Me and a buddy exploring Civilization 1 not sure what the hell we were doing, but having an absolute blast of a good time! On an A1200 though, but with the AGA version, it became even prettier :)
     
  13. bluexmas

    bluexmas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Anyone else remember playing Civ II Fantastic Worlds? I thought that was the coolest thing ever, especially the Mars and Jules Verne scenarios. I think I spent whole years of my life playing Civ II.
     
  14. Snoopy

    Snoopy Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    522
    Location:
    New Zealand
    You want to hear something stupid? On my first game (CivI), I only had one city and I mined every hill on my land - thinking I was benefiting from it, on top of that, I remained in the stone age and was defeated by tanks that came out of no where. I'll never forget that. :crazyeye:
     
  15. azatol

    azatol Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Elk Rapids, MI
    Civ 2 was my favorite, especially for the World War 2 scenario and the nuclear war scenario in CIV 2 MGE, as well as some of the other scenarios like XCOM. If they had Civ 2 on steam I would buy it tommorrow. Lost the CD for it a way back during a move.

    Civ 3, I missed the lack of options for improving your tiles. I've always liked improving my cities as much as possible, and 3 threw that away. But for massive wars, Civ 3 was cool.

    Civ 4 got me back into the Civ series, although I think Civ 2 will always be my favorite unless Civ 5 blows me away, because Civ 2 was so much fun. I think I played the WW2 scenario a thousand times.

    I also have played SMAC, enjoyed it, and tried out CtP2.
     
  16. strollen

    strollen Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    147
    Gender:
    Male
    Civ 1 on 486 DX2-66 (The 386 chip was also the first one I worked on at Intel)
    Civ Net
    Civ 2
    Civ 2 Fantastic Worlds (which I hardly played but just found the disk the other day)
    SMAC and Crossfire
    Civ 3 and expansions
    Civ 4 and expansions.
     
  17. Tarkhan

    Tarkhan King

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Civ1.
    Colonization.
    Civ2 (Fantastic Worlds)
    Call to Power (dare I even mention this?)
    Sid Meiers Alpha Centauri
    Civ3 + Conquests.
    Civ4 + BTS and Warlords.
     
  18. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,031
    Pffft. I didn't say it was my FIRST computer, just the first one I played Civ1 on.

    My first computer was an Atari 2600 circa '79. Then ended up with an Intellivision, till in '83 upgrading to the C64.
     
  19. PJyang

    PJyang Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    CivII is my first civ game. I couldn't read English then and I had to bought an dictionary to play the game..
     
  20. Lord Tirian

    Lord Tirian Erratic Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,724
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    Heh, I actually started with CivNet (and missed CivI completely; but I'm also comparatively young on the boards here) -> CivII -> CtP -> SMAC/X -> CivIII -> CivIV.

    Memories... especially of Fantastic Worlds in CivII. I missed freedom to mid/edit until I CivIV finally came. Though CtP and SMAC/X kept be busy in the meantime! :lol:

    Cheers, LT.
     

Share This Page