1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

What an awesome start (goody hut pops)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Parmenion, Apr 21, 2009.

  1. Scoottr

    Scoottr Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    435
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    Playing Noble I hit 14 goody huts. I was loaded on tech and had thousands in gold. Probably still lost though...getting better at Noble now!
     
  2. littlefriend420

    littlefriend420 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Hmm. Long time lurker, first time poster.

    I searched but couldn't find anything specific so I guess I'll ask here: will automated explorers seek out goody huts on their own in Warlords?
     
  3. AfterShafter

    AfterShafter Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,057
    Location:
    World's largest lentil producer
    Probably discovered Superman's fortress of solitude...
     
  4. Willem

    Willem Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,313
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes they will. As soon as a goody hut becomes exposed, the exploring unit will make a beeline for it. They aren't so much looking for huts as responding whenever one shows up.
     
  5. 6K Man

    6K Man Bureaucrat

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,280
    Location:
    in a Gadda Da Vida
    An even better question would be - how do automated explorers determine a search pattern? Is it probability based, driven to search close to or far away from discovered AI civs, or some other approach?
     
  6. Bowsling

    Bowsling Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,000
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Just don't automate them, and move them manually. Much better results.
     
  7. Blaarg

    Blaarg Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    519
    I've popped astronomy once.
     
  8. bestbrian

    bestbrian Just this guy, ya know?

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,344
    Location:
    NYC
    I usually play with Huts disabled, but somehow my settings got goofed up and they were on in my current game. Popped BW and AH; boosted the REX speed considerably (which was good, because the map was a little tight).
     
  9. Willem

    Willem Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,313
    Location:
    Canada
    That gets pretty tedius after awhile. I'll manage them until I have a good idea where my empire is going to go, then I'll send them off on thier own. I have better things to do than micromanaging my explorer units.
     
  10. charon2112

    charon2112 King

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    990
    Location:
    Massachusetts USA
    In the game I'm playing right now, I founded a city that has 4 gem resources in reach. commerce city anyone? :)

    ** not hut related I know, but it's still cool **
     
  11. Scoottr

    Scoottr Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    435
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    Had a huge map marathon game where I had 14 goody huts hit. I had over 7,000 gold and a bunch of techs. I was just laughing everytime one hit.
     
  12. 6K Man

    6K Man Bureaucrat

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,280
    Location:
    in a Gadda Da Vida

    That's 500+ gold per hit! What settings were you using?
     

Share This Page