1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

What causes global warming?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Blanchflower, Sep 22, 2009.

  1. Blanchflower

    Blanchflower Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    303
    Location:
    Singapore
    OK, I used the HTML editor, but the global warming problem still appears! When I open the XML with notepad, there are still no changes! What give????
     
  2. Powerslave

    Powerslave Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    388
    Location:
    USA
    The problem is with Vista. You're using Virtual Store, which basically causes no end of problems for innocent users who can't understand why their files aren't being saved. Virtual Store saves you from yourself by not allowing you to change any files in C:\Program Files\ or C:\Program Files (x86)\ , unless you have the appropriate security level.

    Simple solution: don't install your games in C:\Program Files\ or C:\Program Files (x86)\ . More complicated solution: learn how NT ACLs work and give yourself higher security (so that you're no longer using Virtual Store). Risky solution: give all your programs that modify files in the protected directories Administrator access. Right click the icon, select Properties, Compatibility, and check the appropriate box.

    In Vista and Windows 7, you really shouldn't be modifying any files in Program Files. Use something like C:\Users\Username\My Documents\My Games\Civilization 4\ instead. You're just begging for problems by changing files in protected directories.

    Edit: You can turn off Virtual Store entirely by turning off User Account Control.
     
  3. binhthuy71

    binhthuy71 Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,887
    Location:
    Southern California foothills
    Reason #1255 not to run Vista.:lol:
     
  4. Blanchflower

    Blanchflower Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    303
    Location:
    Singapore
    Well, I started a new game but the global warming presence still appears! I edited using HTML and the changes are reflected but when I open GlobalDefines with notepad, the changes are not reflected! Could this be the cause of the problem? Please help! Thanks!
     
  5. Blanchflower

    Blanchflower Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    303
    Location:
    Singapore
    Well, I finally found a solution to my problem! I have to run as an admin and was able to change GlobalDefines with notepad!!! Thanks for your help guys!!
     
  6. binhthuy71

    binhthuy71 Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,887
    Location:
    Southern California foothills
    Powerslave nailed it in his post above yours: Vista isn't allowing you to change the file because it's trying to protect you from changing something important. Perhaps the easiest (And safest) way around this if you're a non-techie is to uninstall the game and then when you reinstall it choose something like C:\Firaxis Games as the install folder.
    The basic idea is to install it straight to your C: drive rather than installing it into C:\Program Files. Once you install it to C: Vista should allow your edits to stick.
    *Disclaimer: Vista is the first Windows OS since Win98ME that I flatly refuse to run so you may want to wait a bit and see if Powerslave has any objections to my suggested fix.
     
  7. binhthuy71

    binhthuy71 Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,887
    Location:
    Southern California foothills
    Cool. Certainly easier than my idea!
     
  8. mechaerik

    mechaerik Tuturuu!

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,064
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Another solution is to copy the file to the desktop, edit it there, then copy it back. Vista will throw up a bunch of "Are You Sure You Want to Do That" messages. Just click yes to all of them.
     
  9. pesgores

    pesgores Deus Vult!

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,087
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Portugal
    Half of the map's surface should be an impenetrable continent of forests only.
     
  10. Powerslave

    Powerslave Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    388
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, that's what I do. I have a folder called C:\GAMES that I use for all my games. I read about that on some other forum long ago, and it solved all my issues with Vista.

    Oh, it's a very good idea -- one that you see often in gamer forums. Given a choice, I'd certainly be running something other than Vista, but it's really not quite as bad as everyone makes it out to be. I just wish I could run all my games under Linux.
     
  11. froglegs

    froglegs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Several years ago in the old CIV III forum concerning suggestions for CIV IV I suggested that I was pro-choice. That is to say that an on-off button needed to be placed in the game set-up to turn global warming on or off. I went on to say that there is serious doubt around the world as to whether global warming is fact or fiction. This set off a firestorm! I was banished from the forum for having spoken such an opinion and had to change my screen name to get back on.

    Algore too says that the debate is over. So be it!
     
  12. TheLazyHase

    TheLazyHase King

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    867

    Admitely, playing under linux require some works, even if it work most of the time. And reconfiguring wine for somes game is tiresome.

    Still, I find funny that a lot of complaint against Vista came from long-due improvement - like this time having real protection against user errors. The real problem with vista was :
    * released too soon
    * often shipped with laptop computer unable to meet the real requirement and with a tons of ****** programs pre-installated.

    Hey, windows seven is called that because vista 2.0 would never be sold to anyone. Even since they only polished vista to make seven.
     
  13. whitelaughter

    whitelaughter Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    The thing that annoys me about global warming is that it doesn't remove ice or tundra; on a frozen map, actively encouraging global warming should be a viable strategy, but it's not. :(
     
  14. jauggy

    jauggy Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    240
    When I edit the xml file do I put it in the custom assets/xml folder? Or overwrite the original one?
     
  15. NihilZero

    NihilZero WHEOOHRNY

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    It's also annoying that even if the human player favours lumbermills and builds a nice NP city with a dozen forest preserves, the AI still chops all its forest and causes global warming. So no matter what you do you will get global warming, making it a somewhat flawed feature imo as you can do nothing to influence it.
     
  16. binhthuy71

    binhthuy71 Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,887
    Location:
    Southern California foothills
    You edit the original. Be sure to make a backup copy before you do.
     
  17. Blanchflower

    Blanchflower Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    303
    Location:
    Singapore
    This is clearly a design flaw in the game! Why did the developers include global warming to this game!??? It only makes playing the game irritating! What were they thinking!!???

    :mad::mad:
     
  18. TheLazyHase

    TheLazyHase King

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    867
    Let's take an alternate earth were global warming is sure to arrive. In it, even if a country try really, really hard to protect against it, it would not work, because other country will simply ignore the claims and counter all yours effort simply by polluting more.

    So, a realistic design flaw. It does not work in civ4 for the same reason it would not work in real life : beacuase there no way to convince all country to slow down, it's just too costly.
     
  19. mariogreymist

    mariogreymist Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,201
    Which is quite absurd...let's see...how much CO2 and methane do Nuclear plants put out? Zero. Any other GHGs? Nope. Oh, the designers must have drunk the anti-nuclear kool-aid.
     
  20. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Well, it was a little diferent when ONLY nuke plants meltdowns ( nuke plants don't cause GW in Civ IV ever ... atleast while functioning properly ) and nuclear blasts caused GW in game....

    My idea is that the original thought of the developers about GW was to make a prisioner dilemma thing with nukes... the issue is that :

    -They never taught the AI that there is GW in game. That makes that only one player is aware of the problem. That by itself was enough to unbalance things to the wrong side, since if you know that the oponent has no issue with GW and that you will get it anyway, why try to be a nice guy?

    -The game has not 2 players most of the time. That also decreases the value of cooperation vs GW .

    -The change they made in 3.13 in certain aspect made things worse. Atleast when it was just nukes and meltdowns, it was more controlable. Now that it checks things like global unhealthiness production ( note: production, not net unhealthiness... Envorimentalism, reciclying... no influence whatsoever ... and knowing how the AI cares for unhealthiness .... ) and forest cover ( we all know that the AI was coded to be a lumberjack until there are no forests in sight ... ), combined with the fact you can't plant forests ( I know this has some game play reasons, but even then... ) makes the GW a certaintly in every game as long as no one wins earlier....
     

Share This Page