1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

What do you miss from Civ and other 4X games?

Discussion in 'Old World' started by rlw33, Jul 20, 2021.

1. rlw33

rlw33 Warlord

I don't really miss industrial and modern units, which I thought I would.

The only thing from Civ I really find myself missing is the visually impressive natural world wonders. The OW landmarks seem a little lacklustre by comparison.
    On the bright side, this would be a great add-in for the first expansion.

2. nolegskitten

nolegskitten Chieftain

Hey, interesting question !

I started playing OW with the same expectation as you, that I would miss the grandiose scope of all history. In the end I didn't either. I really like OW as a whole, a lot is different from my previous 4Xs experience but it also puts it apart.

I don't think landmarks are intended as natural wonders (I never thought of it that way), but it's true, maybe some unique landmarks, could bring a bit more uniqueness to maps. There are a few that could fit in the geographical area. I'm not too sure the fantastical effects they have in cv6 would suit OW, but some of that feeling of unique discovery could probably be created ?

I have played thousands of hours of civ 4 and 6, and I don't really find things I miss, some of the best ideas from these games already found their place in OW (such as improving your cities by placing things on the map : you could make a parallel between urban improvement in OW and district in civ 6).

Maybe one minor thing (more might come later) : I wish I could set up some trades with other nations in a more open fashion, more similar to civ and other empire building games. The main trade I sometime wish I could do would be luxury resource for luxury resource.

3. Ita Bear