1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

What does "attack" mean for an air unit

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by bnj.s, Jul 25, 2008.

1. bnj.s

bnj.s Chieftain

Hello,

I do not fully understand how air units work. I am currently playing the americans, so I think it is important to understand it. What does "attack/defend" mean for an air unit? Can an air unit make a combat against a land unit (against a cavalry, for example?). How can I make an air unit attack another unit? I guess that if I understand that, I will also understand why Jet Fighters are supposed to be better than bombers.

Besides, I have a question about bombardment. What does the level of bombardment mean (for example, Jet Fighter has 3 while the F-15 has 6). Is it something similar to "attack"? Does it mean I have greater chances to reach my target when I do a bombardment?

And what is the Firing rate? With my bombers, I can usually bomb only once, not three times.

Thank you in advance for your answers or for pointing me to a page where all this is clearly explained. I could not find any.

2. Taras Bulba

Taras Bulba gone

no, air units cannot make combat with land units because they are immobile. if you were to go into the editor and make it so they could roam the terrain, they could attack units, but not capture cities (or any units in cities)

I'm not 100% sure of this myself, but I'm pretty sure the attack/defense for air units is the power they have when intercepting other enemy aircraft. the higher the defense, the more likely it is to win if defending a city. The higher the attack, the more likely it will win when it is attacking (bombarding)