1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

What does, "Regular Game" mean for achievements?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by MarkJohnson, Nov 5, 2016.

  1. MarkJohnson

    MarkJohnson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    605
    I just glanced through the achievements to try to get some basic ones and I see a ton of, Win a regular game ... with a lot of different combinations.

    But what does Regular Game mean?

    I tried Google and searching the forums, but I couldn't seen to get a straight answer.
     
  2. kampori

    kampori Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    UAE
    Just a normal single player game against the AI. That's all I've played and that's what all my achievements say.

    I'm guessing the only difference between normal and not, is if it's multiplayer? I haven't tried MP yet so can't confirm.
     
  3. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,316
    I'd say definitely
    -no mods/scenarios

    Possibly
    -single player only?
    -no "advanced setup" options?
     
  4. Haphaz

    Haphaz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    London, UK
    Well, the aztecs are a mod and needed for the aztecs achievements, not mods are not necessarily a problem - if at all. On the advanced setups, absolutely fine to choose any of them - it's a lot easier to do many of them without barbarians.
     
  5. MadDjinn

    MadDjinn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,554
    probably scenarios are the only ones not included for those.
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  6. MarkJohnson

    MarkJohnson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    605
    Okay, I just finished my custom game and got 6 different win a regular game achievements.

    at settler difficulty or harder
    at chieftain difficulty or harder
    with a domination victory on any difficulty with any leader
    as Trajan
    on a huge map
    on the pangaea map

    In total I got 14 achievements. and a 104.7 hours!!! Although two-thirds of that was sitting idle as I left the PC running when I was AFK as it takes 5 minutes or more from power on to game start.

    Edit:

    I also played on the largest map and slowest game speed. The gamed ended about turn 1,150 which was around the 1980's A.D.
     
  7. Lord Katana

    Lord Katana Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    You can get achievements in multi... confirmed that myself with friends....
    Regular just means the regular you see on top when you open the advanced options at the start. Currently there are no other options there....

    So every singleplayer or multiplayer game without extra mods (aztecs count als dlc and that's ok) which is not a scenario you can get achievements.
     
  8. MarkJohnson

    MarkJohnson Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    605
    Regular game must mean no Workshop at all as everything else seems fine.

    FYI, Aztec are paid DLC and count as vanilla in game as there is an achievement for them:

    Montezuma's Revenge
    Win a regular game as Montezuma
     
  9. ales_

    ales_ Heir

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toulouse, France
    The Tutorial, for example, doesn't count as a regular game.
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  10. Mustakrakish

    Mustakrakish In 'Node' We Trust

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,520
    Location:
    Grainvillage, Finland
    Don't know about mods, but you can get achievements by playing multiplayer. You can get a Deity win achievement easily with your buddy in a private game. AI is not actually "Deity" there.
     
  11. Kougar7

    Kougar7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    153
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Texas
    What everyone else already said. Aztecs are not a mod, that's DLC. Achievements can be earned in multiplayer. Doesn't matter if you use the advanced setup to configure a game.

    Basically, all it means is don't use a modded game, such as mods downloaded from the Civ workshop.
     
  12. Yzman

    Yzman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,692
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    No the Aztecs are DLC, which is Okay. Mods are not.
     
  13. LukeXR6

    LukeXR6 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    I have won achievements with mods on.
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  14. nzcamel

    nzcamel Nahtanoj the Magnificent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,684
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    These ^^^ aren't standard games imo.

    I'm with Luke. I have quite a few mods on (none which would advantage me in getting achievements FTR), and I still get them.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2018
  15. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    4,740
    Location:
    Lucerne
    In short, as long as under game rule set it says "standard" or "R&F", you'll get achievements, whatever else you do, install, or choose as setup.
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  16. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    10,970
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Basically no scenarios like the ones that come with the Australia DLC.

    A couple of the achievements are certainly easier this way.
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  17. Naeshar

    Naeshar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    168
    Gender:
    Male
    a standard game is without mods and not a scenario, possibly multiplayer.
    Thanks for necroing two years old threads, @LukeXR6 ! :scan:
     
  18. WillowBrook

    WillowBrook Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,021
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Uh, no. In Civ VI, you can use mods, as long as the rule set is standard or R&F. I've gotten most of my achievements in games with mods.
     
    nzcamel and Naeshar like this.
  19. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    10,970
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    ha, I got burned. Who knows, maybe the thread originator is still out there, somewhere, waiting for the answer to his/her question.
     
  20. nzcamel

    nzcamel Nahtanoj the Magnificent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,684
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Given this:

    ...was the last answer before Luke chimed in, it's good he did imho; old or not.
     

Share This Page