1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

What if civs spawned gradually?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by AnotherPacifist, Nov 13, 2011.

  1. AnotherPacifist

    AnotherPacifist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,878
    Everybody knows that there was no "American" civ that magically spawned in 1776.

    Arabia spawned more like in 630 (after the conquests).

    What if civs started with just military units, and only at certain key moments in history (like 1776) do cities flip or settlers appear?

    Just a thought.
     
  2. Tlönitte

    Tlönitte Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Or until the 1st city was captured? This could lead to failing civs that rise up, can't capture cities and disappear, letting you fit in more civs
     
  3. El Bogus

    El Bogus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Leipzig, Germany
    Isn't this, what Leoreth is already doing, e.g. Turkey?
     
  4. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,053
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Turkey only spawns without settlers in DoC (the addition of Byzantium made their core quite densely settled already), but also immediately flips all of its core.

    I don't think that's what AP means (although I'm not completely sure how he intends that to work either).
     
  5. AnotherPacifist

    AnotherPacifist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,878
    Let's say there's a "nascent" period circa 1740...like colonists before there were "Americans." Random troops and workers (within certain pre-defined rules) would appear on the eastern American seaboard, and will be at peace with whoever owns that land. Of course if the player/AI decides to declare war early that's fine too. But the player/AI is free to go conquer native cities.

    (For a 3000 BC example, one can use France/Spain vs the Roman empire.)

    Then in 1776 all core areas flip, and settlers appear in flipped cities.
     
  6. DylanAraki

    DylanAraki Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Canada
    That would mean Washington would never be the capital though.
     
  7. AnotherPacifist

    AnotherPacifist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,878
    That's fine with me. Philly or New York would make much better capitals. :D
     
  8. corovanrobber

    corovanrobber Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Germany
    That would be even more humiliating when you're having that kind of super extra high stability and still have to gradually watch how your territories abandon you anyway and even declare war on you to bring nothing but misery to both sides. Yay for being semantical over the top.
     

Share This Page